Berlinale: Forum


Forum & Forum Expanded

The Forum and Forum Expanded stand for reflections on the medium of film, socio-artistic discourse and a particular sense for the aesthetic.

The programmes of the Forum and Forum Expanded aim to expand the understanding of what film is, to test the boundaries of convention and open up fresh perspectives to help grasp cinema and how it relates to the world in new ways. The programmes can include anything that serves these ends: contemporary and historical, analogue and digital film, installation art, performance and music.

The Forum and Forum Expanded are programmes independently curated and organised by Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art as part of the Berlinale.

What fits into the programme is defined by the filmmakers’ stance towards their medium rather than the question of what commercial potential a film may have. The cinematic form is never subordinate to the content. Both selection committees see their selections as a laboratory and a workshop.

The annual selection of around 40 films for the Forum focuses on contemporary international cinema productions and eschews conventional distinctions, such as that between fiction film and documentary. With around 30 short and feature-length films, a group exhibition, stage and panel events, Forum Expanded provides an open platform for film formats from a broader range of disciplines, including visual art, theatre, performance, music and the media. In combination with the impetus given by politics and society, these works create a discursive framework of a deliberately international character which has the potential to grasp cinema anew and change it in lasting ways.

Daniel Hendrickson and Vaginal Davis during the performance Rising Stars, Falling Stars – Sweet 16mm Never Been Kissed in 2017

A key feature of the Forum and Forum Expanded are their close affiliation with Arsenal and its year-round cinema programme, distribution arm and in-house archive (the Living Archive). Arsenal’s curatorial work provides impulses for the festival programme which can in turn be expanded on and explored in greater depth in the work carried out at the cinema. The Arsenal’s daily film programme and the numerous guests involved in them enable co-operations to be forged with all branches of culture, science and society. By including some of the films from the festival in its range, Arsenal’s distribution arm equally fosters long-term collaboration with filmmakers and artists. The presentation of selected digitisation and restoration projects at the Forum and Forum Expanded also places them within a contemporary cinema context.

The heated public discussions which defined the early years of the Forum, when it stood “between the barricades and the ivory tower”, as the title of a book published for its 30th anniversary put it, still play an important role in the film culture and cinematic discourse nurtured by the Forum and Forum Expanded to this day. The filmmakers and artists participate in wide-ranging discussions with the audience after every screening. At the lab cinema at the silent green Kulturquartier, where the entire Forum Expanded programme as well as a selection of the Forum programme are presented, post-screening discussions are conducted with those involved in the films themselves as well as additional guests, the idea being to move beyond the individual works and establish broader connections.

Ever since its foundation in 1971, the Forum has published detailed supplementary information on the works shown in its programme. The loose-leaved “Forumsblätter” (“Forum Film Sheets”) issued in its early years are legendary. Today, these texts can be found on the Arsenal website where PDF files of each year’s texts are also archived.

The Forum and Forum Expanded also publish a comprehensive brochure comprising information on all the films and works in the programme as well as further in-depth reading and background information. The types of texts included to this end are as heterogeneous as the films in the programmes, ranging from essays, analyses and poetry all the way to illustrations and commentaries.

The Forum also has a website of its own: www.arsenal-berlin.de/forum.

A selection of filmmakers who were discovered by the Forum or have regularly shown their work here include James Benning, Jonas Mekas, Ulrike Ottinger, Heinz Emigholz, Nuri Bilge Ceylan, Jia Zhang-ke, Sion Sono, Thomas Arslan, Christoph Hochhäusler, Angela Schanelec, Valeska Grisebach, Ruth Beckermann, Aki Kaurismäki, Avi Mograbi, Ulrich Köhler, Jem Cohen, David Gordon Green, Jeff Nichols, Salome Lamas, Sharon Lockhart, Johnnie To, Michael Snow, Corneliu Porumboiu, Bence Fliegauf, Lav Diaz, Claire Simon, Laura Poitras, Philip Scheffner, Guy Maddin, Tatjana Turanskyj, Matt Porterfield, Josephine Decker, Yang Yonghi. Forum Expanded: Isabella Rossellini, Ken Jacobs, Jack Smith, Barbara Hammer, Tony Conrad, Birgit Hein, Morgan Fisher, Clemens von Wedemeyer, Yael Bartana, Judith Hopf, Angela Melitopoulos, Constanze Ruhm, Marie Losier, Basma Alsharif, James T. Hong, Jasmina Metwaly, Joe Namy.

In 2010 awarded with the Berlinale Camera: Ulrich und Erika Gregor

The first International Forum of New Cinema took place in 1971 in reaction to the political turbulence of the previous years, which even led to the Berlinale being called off the previous year. It was organised by the Friends of the German Film Archive (now Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art) founded by Ulrich and Erika Gregor who led the Forum until 2001 and shaped its identity considerably.

The Friends had already organised a separate event in parallel to the Berlinale in 1969 and 1970. Now they received an official invitation to take over responsibility for an independent programme to be shown as part of the festival and be on an equal footing with it. The International Forum of New Cinema sought to challenge its audiences, showed previously unknown or underrepresented cinematic forms and documented, as Ulrich Gregor once put it, “the multiplicity and complexity of new film styles between avant-garde cinema, narrative film and documentary”.

Since then, the Forum has gone on to write film history. Numerous directors who later gained large-scale international recognition were given a platform for their debut films here. Jacques Rivette, Chantal Akerman, Theo Angelopoulos, Jim Jarmusch, Béla Tarr, Aki Kaurismäki, Ken Loach, Nagisa Oshima, Yilmaz Güney, Atom Egoyan, Michael Snow, Manoel de Oliveira, Yvonne Rainer, Andrei Tarkovsky, Derek Jarman, Raúl Ruiz, Ousmane Sembène, Wong Kar-wai, Helke Sander, Margarethe von Trotta, Peter Greenaway, Avi Mograbi, Claire Denis, the Dardenne brothers and many more showed their early works at the Forum.

The Forum introduced something new to the Berlinale, a discursive cinema culture characterised by intensive audience discussions and comprehensive accompanying publications in place of glamour and the red carpet. From the very beginning, when films were shown at the Forum, this has also included the subtitling of film prints or files, copies of which have then regularly been kept by Arsenal and added to its distribution range after the festival has ended. This has led to the creation of a living archive of 10,000 films from around the world which redefines perceptions of film history.

In 2000, the Friends moved with the Berlinale to Potsdamer Platz. Film critic Christoph Terhechte took over the leadership of the Forum in 2002 supported by Anna Hoffmann. He consolidated the selection, preserved the programme’s appetite for risk-taking and consistently provided the section with fresh momentum in the face of a rapidly changing festival landscape.

The names also changed in the meantime. In 2008 the Friends, led from 2004 by Milena Gregor, Birgit Kohler and Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, became Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art; the International Forum of New Cinema became simply the Forum. The close connection between the work of the Arsenal cinema and the festival – the Kino Arsenal was opened back in 1970 in Welserstraße in Berlin Schöneberg – continues today to be the defining characteristic of both the Arsenal as an institution and the Forum and Forum Expanded section.

2006: the first Forum Expanded in the KW – Institute for Contemporary Art

The noughties were marked by an expansion of moving images into the public realm. Digitisation, phone cameras and dissemination on the Internet, as well as the medium of film establishing itself in other art forms, opened the borders of cinema. Inspiration for new narrative formats, together with documentary forms and strategies, also increasingly emerged from visual art, performance, music, political activism and science. To incorporate such approaches into a reinterpretation of cinema and further advancement of film as a medium, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus and Anselm Franke created Forum Expanded as an expansion of the Forum in 2006. The shared idea of both programmes has always been to invite works that question the self-conception of the Berlinale as an institution – because everything that happens socially, politically, culturally or artistically in the world has the potential to have a lasting effect on the festival and its audience.

After Christoph Terhechte stepped down in the summer of 2018, the board of directors of Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art, still consisting of Milena Gregor, Birgit Kohler and Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, have taken over the interim leadership of the Forum and the responsibility for its 2019 programme, supported by Anna Hoffmann.

High-School-Terror by Macoto Tezka (1979), part of the 2016 programme „Japanese Indies from the Punk Years"

From the very beginning, the Forum has also given special attention to historical films and placed them in relationship with contemporary cinema. In the early years, this was chiefly to make Berlin audiences familiar with groundbreaking world cinema with which they had had little contact up to that point. Today, the Forum continues to shake up the sort of cinematic canon primarily interested in feature films made in Western Europe and North America. The Forum and Forum Expanded stand in direct opposition to this, being equally dedicated, for example, to cinema from African and Asian countries, documentaries and experimental films, to anti-cinema films as well as B-movies and less “reputable” forms of cinema. Their grasp of film history is thus not static: it always includes the critique of earlier reception situations and seeks to work against the Eurocentric perspective. At the same time, the Forum and Forum Expanded attach great importance to the relationship between historical and contemporary elements of the programme, consistently placing them in a related context, whether in terms of aesthetics or content.

Many films from the Forum and Forum Expanded programmes are subtitled. After the festival, they can remain in Berlin and potentially be distributed. This means that the works can equally enjoy a life beyond the festival itself, finding their way into the non-commercial cinema landscape and other festivals, biennales and exhibitions across the world. In the long term, they are also added to Arsenal’s Living Archive.

At the silent green during the Berlinale 2017

Arsenal’s concept of the archive fundamentally differs from other film archives in that its underlying principle is that they are places for participation and production. Within this context, it interprets its mission as being to seek out cinematic one-offs, preserve films, digitise them and make them accessible, always placing them within the context of contemporary artistic and curatorial practice.

The Living Archive is based at silent green Kulturquartier in Berlin Wedding. Here, researchers, artists, curators or simply anyone with a healthy curiosity can view the films at editing tables. The knowledge they bring with them is potentially a valuable resource for the work of the Arsenal. Every user of the archive is a prospective archivist.

There are film archives and collections around the world that are decaying, lying forgotten or have not yet been discovered. They deconstruct space and time and have the potential to narrate the world anew. As part of the “Think Film – Archival Constellations” panel series, topics on film archives and alternative archive projects are presented and discussed every year on the second Thursday of the Berlinale.

No official awards are presented in the Forum. In its early years, the section stood behind its conviction that it should keep some distance from the competitive character of the Competition. And yet independent juries do present the following awards in the Forum:

  • Caligari Film Prize: The € 4,000 award sponsored by the “Federal Association of Communal Film Work” and the magazine “filmdienst” is shared between the director and the distributor of a Forum film.
  • Prize of the FIPRESCI Jury: Award for the best film in the Forum by the international film critics’ association “Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique”.
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury: This award honours a director whose film shows human behavior that is in tune with the message of the Gospels, or makes viewers more receptive to spiritual, humane or social values.
  • GWFF Best First Feature Award: The award is given to a debut film from the Competition, Panorama, Forum, Pespektive Deutsches Kino or Generation sections.
  • Glashütte Original – Documentary Award: The award is given to a documentary film from the Competition, Panorama, Forum, Generation, Berlinale Special, Perspektive Deutsches Kino sections or the special series Culinary Cinema.
  • CICAE Art Cinema Award: The Confédération Internationale des Cinémas D’Art et Essai (C.I.C.A.E.), the International Association of Arthouse Cinemas sponsors two juries active at the Berlinale: one presents an award to a film in the Panorama, another to a film in the Forum.
  • TEDDY AWARD: The most important queer film award is presented during the Berlinale in the categories Best Feature, Best Documentary / Essay, and Best Short Film as well as the Special Jury Award. Films from all sections of the Berlin International Film Festival compete for the Teddy Award every year.
  • Peace Film Prize: This jury watches films from all sections. The main award is sponsored by the “Peace Film Award Initiative” in collaboration with “International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War” (IPPNW) and the Heinrich Böll Foundation. The Peace Film Award jury can also give honourable mentions.
  • Tagesspiegel Readers’ Jury Award: The readers’ jury consists of nine members selected through an application process. The Reader’s Award goes to the best film in the Forum.

Please find more information on these and other awards of the festival at Awards and Juries.

For all applications the General Guidelines for Film Submission and Participation apply.

1 – Eligibility

Eligible films for Forum are feature films and documentaries of at least 60 minutes running time which

  • have not been released in Europe other than in their country of origin.
  • have not been screened at any other German or European film festival. A presentation at national festivals / national showcases in the country of origin will be accepted.
  • have neither been broadcast nor presented on the internet / VOD other than in their country of origin.
  • are available in the formats DCP, QuickTime ProRes or 35mm (depending on the theatre). Other formats only upon request.
  • are meant to be released in film theatres.

In case of international co-productions the main country of production will be considered as country of origin.

  • World premieres are preferred.
  • German films must be world premieres (with the exception of submissions to Perspektive Deutsches Kino).

Heads of the Forum section reserve the right to settle any cases not covered by the regulations.

Forum Expanded is curated by the Forum upon invitation only and does not receive submissions.

2 – Selection and programming

Heads of the Forum select films in consensus with the selection committee.

3 – Subtitling

Films selected for the Forum are shown in their original version with English subtitles. It is recommended to also provide a German subtitled version.
The cost of subtitling is the responsibility of the filmmaker. In special cases, the Forum may grant financial support to cover the cost of subtitling into German.

4 – Shipping

Selection screeners material intended for the Forum should be sent to the address of the Berlin International Film Festival or directly to the Forum address:

Forum
Potsdamer Straße 2
10785 Berlin
Germany
Tel. + 49 30 26955200
Fax + 49 30 26955222

www.arsenal-berlin.de/forum

Contact Forum

Programme Coordination
Anna Hoffmann

phone +49 30 26955-200
fax +49 30 26955-222
 

Contact Forum Expanded

Section head
Stefanie Schulte Strathaus
phone +49 30 26955-110
fax +49 30 26955-111

Berlinale: Forum


Forum & Forum Expanded

Forum und Forum Expanded stehen für Reflexion des filmischen Mediums, gesellschaftlich-künstlerischen Diskurs und ästhetischen Eigensinn.

Die Programme von Forum und Forum Expanded zielen darauf ab, das Verständnis von Kino zu erweitern, an die Ränder des Gewohnten zu gehen und Perspektiven zu eröffnen, mit denen das Kino neu zu begreifen und in Bezug zur Welt zu setzen ist. Einbezogen wird alles, was dazu beiträgt: zeitgenössischer und historischer, analoger und digitaler Film, Installationskunst, Performance und Musik.

Forum und Forum Expanded sind vom Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst kuratierte und organisierte unabhängige Programme im Rahmen der Berlinale.

Was ins Programm passt, definiert sich durch die Haltung der Filmemacher*innen zu ihrem Medium und nicht durch die Frage nach der Kommerzialität oder Verwertbarkeit von Film. Die filmische Form tritt nie hinter den Inhalt zurück. Beide Auswahlkomitees verstehen ihre Auswahl als Labor, als Werkstatt.

Während sich das jährlich ca. 40 Filme umfassende Hauptprogramm des Forums auf zeitgenössische internationale Kinoproduktionen konzentriert und auf herkömmliche Unterscheidungen wie die zwischen Spiel- und Dokumentarfilm verzichtet, bietet Forum Expanded mit ca. 30 Kurz- und Langfilmen, einer Gruppenausstellung, Bühnen- und Diskussionsveranstaltungen eine offene Plattform für filmische Formate aus einem erweiterten Umfeld, das bildende Kunst, Theater, Performance, Musik und Medien einbezieht. In enger Verbindung mit Impulsen aus Politik und Gesellschaft schaffen sie einen international geprägten Diskursrahmen, der das Potenzial hat, das Kino neu zu begreifen und nachhaltig zu verändern.

Daniel Hendrickson und Vaginal Davis 2017 während der Performance Rising Stars, Falling Stars – Sweet 16mm Never Been Kissed

Die enge Verzahnung mit dem Arsenal, dessen ganzjährigem Kinobetrieb, Verleih und dem institutionseigenen Archiv (Living Archive) ist ein wesentliches Merkmal von Forum und Forum Expanded. Die kuratorische Arbeit des Arsenal gibt dem Festival inhaltliche Impulse, umgekehrt lässt sich das Festivalprogramm in der Kinoarbeit vertiefen und erweitern. Das tägliche Kinoprogramm des Arsenal mit zahlreichen Gästen erlaubt Kooperationen in allen Bereichen der Kultur, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft. Die Übernahme einiger Festivalfilme in den Verleih des Arsenal ermöglicht eine langfristige Zusammenarbeit mit Filmemacher*innen und Künstler*innen. Ausgewählte Digitalisierungs- und Restaurierungsprojekte werden durch Präsentationen im Forum und Forum Expanded zum Gegenwartskino in Bezug gesetzt.

Die hitzigen Publikumsgespräche, für die das Forum in seinen frühen Jahren bekannt war, als es „zwischen Barrikade und Elfenbeinturm“ stand, wie ein Buchtitel zum 30. Geburtstag es ausdrückte, prägen die im Forum und Forum Expanded gepflegte Kinokultur und Filmvermittlung nach wie vor. Filmemacher*innen und Kurator*innen diskutieren nach allen Vorführungen eingehend mit dem Publikum. Im Werkstattkino im silent green Kulturquartier, wo das gesamte Programm von Forum Expanded sowie ein Auswahlprogramm des Forums präsentiert werden, finden im Anschluss an die Vorführungen Gespräche mit den Beteiligten sowie weiteren Gästen statt, die über die Einzelwerke hinausweisen und Verbindungen herstellen.

Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1971 gibt das Forum ausführliches Begleitmaterial zu den Filmen des Programms heraus. Die in frühen Jahren lose veröffentlichten „Forumsblätter“ sind legendär. Heute werden diese Texte auf der Website des Kino Arsenal veröffentlicht, wo auch PDF-Versionen sämtlicher Jahrgänge archiviert sind.

Darüber hinaus veröffentlichen Forum und Forum Expanded eine umfassende Broschüre, die neben Informationen zu allen Filmen und Arbeiten im Programm weiterführende Texte und Hintergrundinformationen enthält. Das Format der Textbeiträge ist so heterogen wie das Filmprogramm: Neben Essays finden sich Analysen, Poetisches, Zeichnungen und Kommentare.

Das Forum hat auch eine eigene Internetseite: www.arsenal-berlin.de/forum.

Filmemacher*innen, die im Forum entdeckt wurden oder ihre Filme dort regelmäßig gezeigt haben (Auswahl): James Benning, Jonas Mekas, Ulrike Ottinger, Heinz Emigholz, Nuri Bilge Ceylan, Jia Zhang-ke, Sion Sono, Thomas Arslan, Christoph Hochhäusler, Angela Schanelec, Valeska Grisebach, Ruth Beckermann, Aki Kaurismäki, Avi Mograbi, Ulrich Köhler, Jem Cohen, David Gordon Green, Jeff Nichols, Salome Lamas, Sharon Lockhart, Johnnie To, Michael Snow, Corneliu Porumboiu, Bence Fliegauf, Lav Diaz, Claire Simon, Laura Poitras, Philip Scheffner, Guy Maddin, Tatjana Turanskyj, Matt Porterfield, Josephine Decker, Yang Yonghi. Forum Expanded: Isabella Rossellini, Ken Jacobs, Jack Smith, Barbara Hammer, Tony Conrad, Birgit Hein, Morgan Fisher, Clemens von Wedemeyer, Yael Bartana, Judith Hopf, Angela Melitopoulos, Constanze Ruhm, Marie Losier, Basma Alsharif, James T. Hong, Jasmina Metwaly, Joe Namy.

2010 mit der Berlinale Kamera ausgezeichnet: Ulrich und Erika Gregor

1971 fand das erste Internationale Forum des Jungen Films als Reaktion auf die politischen Turbulenzen der Vorjahre, die 1970 zum Abbruch der Berlinale geführt hatten, statt. Organisiert wurde es von den Freunden der Deutschen Kinemathek e.V. (heute: Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst) um Ulrich und Erika Gregor, die das Forum bis zum Jahr 2001 leiteten und maßgeblich prägten.

Bereits 1969 und 1970 hatten die Freunde in Eigenregie eine Parallelveranstaltung zur Berlinale veranstaltet. Nun erhielten sie das offizielle Angebot, ein unabhängiges, gleichberechtigtes Festivalprogramm zu verantworten. Das Internationale Forum des jungen Films forderte sein Publikum heraus, zeigte bisher unbekannte oder unterrepräsentierte Kinematografien und dokumentierte, wie es Ulrich Gregor einmal formulierte, „die Vielseitigkeit und Vielschichtigkeit neuer Filmstile zwischen Avantgardefilm, erzählendem Film und Dokumentarfilm“.

Seitdem hat das Forum Filmgeschichte geschrieben. Zahlreiche Regisseur*innen, die später große internationale Anerkennung erlangten, erhielten hier mit ihren Debütfilmen erstmals eine Plattform. Jacques Rivette, Chantal Akerman, Theo Angelopoulos, Jim Jarmusch, Béla Tarr, Aki Kaurismäki, Ken Loach, Nagisa Oshima, Yilmaz Güney, Atom Egoyan, Michael Snow, Manoel de Oliveira, Yvonne Rainer, Andrej Tarkowskij, Derek Jarman, Raúl Ruiz, Ousmane Sembène, Wong Kar-wai, Helke Sander, Margarethe von Trotta, Peter Greenaway, Avi Mograbi, Claire Denis, die Brüder Dardenne u.v.a.m. waren mit frühen Arbeiten im Forum vertreten.

Mit dem Forum hielt eine diskursive Kinokultur Einzug in die Berlinale, die eher von intensiven Publikumsgesprächen und ausführlichen Begleitpublikationen geprägt war als von Glamour und rotem Teppich. Zur Präsentation der Filme im Forum gehörte von Beginn an auch die Untertitelung von Filmkopien, die nach dem Festival häufig im Arsenal verblieben und in den dortigen Verleih kamen. Daraus ist ein lebendiges Archiv mit 10.000 Filmen aus aller Welt entstanden, das den Umgang mit Filmgeschichte neu definiert.

2000 zogen die Freunde mit der Berlinale an den Potsdamer Platz. 2002 übernahm der Filmkritiker Christoph Terhechte, unterstützt von Anna Hoffmann, die Leitung des Forums. Er konzentrierte die Auswahl, erhielt dem Programm die Risikofreude und gab der Sektion in einer sich stark verändernden Festivallandschaft immer wieder neue Impulse.

Mittlerweile haben sich die Namen geändert: Aus den Freunden wurde 2008 das Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst, das seit 2004 von Milena Gregor, Birgit Kohler und Stefanie Schulte Strathaus geleitet wird, und aus dem Internationalen Forum des jungen Films schlicht das Forum. Die enge Verzahnung der Arbeit von Kino- und Festivalbetrieb – bereits 1970 wurde das Kino Arsenal in der Welserstraße in Schöneberg eröffnet – ist bis heute das wesentliche Merkmal sowohl der Institution Arsenal wie der Sektion Forum und Forum Expanded.

Die Nullerjahre waren geprägt von einer Expansion bewegter Bilder in den öffentlichen Raum hinein. Durch Digitalisierung, Handykameras, Verbreitung im Internet, aber auch durch die Etablierung des Mediums Film innerhalb anderer Künste öffneten sich die Grenzen des Kinos. Impulse für neue Erzählformate sowie dokumentarische Formen und Strategien kamen verstärkt auch aus der bildenden Kunst, der Performance, der Musik, dem politischen Aktivismus und der Wissenschaft. Um solche Ansätze zur Erneuerung des Kinobegriffs und zur Weiterentwicklung des Mediums Film einbeziehen zu können, gründeten Stefanie Schulte Strathaus und Anselm Franke 2006 das Forum Expanded als Erweiterung des Forums. Die gemeinsame Idee beider Programme ist bis heute, Arbeiten einzuladen, die das Selbstverständnis einer Institution herausfordern. Denn alles, was gesellschaftlich, politisch, kulturell oder künstlerisch in der Welt geschieht, hat das Potenzial, das Festival und sein Publikum nachhaltig in Bewegung zu bringen.

Nach dem Weggang von Christoph Terhechte im Sommer 2018 hat der Vorstand des Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst, weiterhin bestehend aus Milena Gregor, Birgit Kohler und Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, unterstützt von Anna Hoffmann, die Interimsleitung übernommen und wird für das Forum-Programm 2019 verantwortlich sein.

Mit dem Forum hielt eine diskursive Kinokultur Einzug in die Berlinale, die eher von langen und zuweilen hitzigen Publikumsgesprächen und ausführlichen Begleitpublikationen geprägt war als von Glamour und rotem Teppich. Zur Präsentation der Filme im Forum gehörte von Beginn an auch die Untertitelung von Filmkopien, die nach dem Festival häufig im Arsenal verblieben und in den dortigen Verleih kamen. Daraus ist ein lebendiges Archiv mit 10.000 Filmen aus aller Welt entstanden, das den Umgang mit Filmgeschichte neu definiert.

2000 zogen die Freunde mit der Berlinale an den Potsdamer Platz. 2002 übernahm der Filmkritiker Christoph Terhechte, unterstützt von Anna Hoffmann, die Leitung des Forum. Er konzentrierte die Auswahl, erhielt dem Programm die Risikofreude und gab der Sektion in einer sich stark verändernden Festivallandschaft immer wieder neue Impulse.

Mittlerweile haben sich die Namen geändert, aus den Freunden wurde 2008 das Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst, das seit 2004 von Milena Gregor, Birgit Kohler und Stefanie Schulte Strathaus geleitet wird. Aus dem Internationalen Forum des jungen Films wurde schlicht das Forum. Die enge Verzahnung der Arbeit von Kino- und Festivalbetrieb – bereits 1970 wurde das Kino Arsenal in der Welserstraße in Schöneberg eröffnet – ist bis heute das wesentliche Merkmal sowohl der Institution Arsenal wie der Sektion Forum und Forum Expanded.

Das erste Forum Expanded im KW – Institute for Contemporary Art 2006

Die Nullerjahre waren geprägt von einer Expansion bewegter Bilder in den öffentlichen Raum hinein. Durch Digitalisierung, Handykameras, Verbreitung im Internet, aber auch durch die Etablierung des Mediums Film innerhalb anderer Künste öffneten sich die Grenzen des Kinos. Impulse für neue Erzählformate sowie dokumentarische Formen und Strategien kamen verstärkt auch aus der bildenden Kunst, der Performance, der Musik, dem politischen Aktivismus und der Wissenschaft. Um solche Ansätze zur Erneuerung des Kinobegriffs und zur Weiterentwicklung des Mediums Film einbeziehen zu können, gründeten Stefanie Schulte Strathaus und Anselm Franke 2006 das Forum Expanded als Erweiterung des Forum. Die gemeinsame Idee beider Programme ist bis heute, Arbeiten einzuladen, die das Selbstverständnis einer Institution herausfordern. Denn alles, was gesellschaftlich, politisch, kulturell oder künstlerisch in der Welt geschieht, hat das Potenzial, das Festival und sein Publikum nachhaltig in Bewegung zu bringen.

Nach dem Weggang von Christoph Terhechte im Sommer 2018 hat der Vorstand des Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst, weiterhin bestehend aus Milena Gregor, Birgit Kohler und Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, unterstützt von Anna Hoffmann, die Interimsleitung für das Forum 2019 übernommen.

High-School-Terror von Macoto Tezka (1979), der 2016 in der Reihe „Japanese Indies from the Punk Years" zu sehen war

Von Beginn an hat das Forum sein Augenmerk stets auch auf historische Filme gelegt und sie in Beziehung zum Gegenwartskino gesetzt. Ging es in den Anfangsjahren vor allem darum, das Berliner Publikum mit einem richtungsweisenden Weltkino vertraut zu machen, zu dem ihm bis dahin der Zugang fehlte, so rüttelt das Forum auch heute noch an einem filmischen Kanon, der sein Hauptinteresse auf in Westeuropa und Nordamerika entstandene Spielfilme richtet. In Opposition dazu widmen sich Forum und Forum Expanded z.B. dem Kino afrikanischer und asiatischer Länder, dem Dokumentar- und Experimentalfilm, dem Anti-Kino-Film sowie dem anrüchigen B-Movie und „Schmuddelkino“. Die Auffassung von Filmgeschichte ist dabei nicht statisch, sie schließt stets auch die Kritik früherer Rezeption ein und arbeitet der eurozentrischen Perspektive entgegen. Zugleich legen Forum und Forum Expanded Wert auf den Bezug von historischen zu aktuellen Programmbeiträgen, die stets in einen ästhetischen und inhaltlichen Zusammenhang gesetzt werden.

Viele Filme aus den Programmen von Forum und Forum Expanded werden untertitelt. Sie können nach dem Festival in Berlin verbleiben und gegebenenfalls in den Verleih kommen. Über die Dauer des Festivals hinaus finden sie so den Weg in die nichtkommerzielle Kinolandschaft sowie zu anderen Festivals, Biennalen und Ausstellungen weltweit. Langfristig werden sie in das Living Archive des Arsenal aufgenommen.

An silent green während der Berlinale 2017

Im grundlegenden Ansatz, ein Archiv als Ort der Partizipation und Produktion zu betrachten, in diesem Zusammenhang filmische Unikate aufzuspüren, zu sichern, zu digitalisieren und stets im Bezug zur künstlerischen und kuratorischen Praxis der Gegenwart zugänglich zu machen, unterscheidet sich das Archivkonzept des Arsenal grundlegend von anderen Filmarchiven.

Das Living Archive hat sein Zuhause im silent green Kulturquartier in Berlin-Wedding. Hier können Interessierte, Forschende, Künstler*innen und Kurator*innen die Filme an Schneidetischen sichten. Nicht selten dient ihr mitgebrachtes Wissen als wertvolle Ressource für die Arbeit im Arsenal. Jede*r Nutzer*in des Archivs ist ein*e potentielle*r Archivar*in.

Überall in der Welt gibt es Filmarchive oder Sammlungen, die zerfallen, vergessen wurden oder noch nicht entdeckt worden sind. Sie dekonstruieren Zeit und Raum und haben das Potenzial, die Welt neu zu erzählen. Im Rahmen der Panelserie „Think Film – Archival Constellations“ werden alljährlich am zweiten Donnerstag der Berlinale filmarchivarische Themen und alternative Archivprojekte präsentiert und diskutiert.

Im Forum werden keine offiziellen Preise vergeben. In den Anfangsjahren der Sektion stand dahinter die explizite Absicht, sich vom kompetitiven Charakter des Wettbewerbs abzugrenzen. Unabhängige Jurys vergeben jedoch auch im Forum Preise:

  • Caligari-Filmpreis: Die vom „Bundesverband kommunale Filmarbeit“ und der Zeitschrift „film-dienst“ gestifteten € 4.000 gehen zur einen Hälfte an den Regisseur zur anderen an den Verleih eines Forum-Films.
  • Preis der FIPRESCI Jury: Vergeben für den Besten Film des Forums vom internationalen Verband der Filmkritik „Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique“.
  • Preis der Ökumenischen Jury: Geehrt wird ein Filmschaffender, der in seinem Film ein menschliches Verhalten oder Zeugnis zum Ausdruck bringt, das mit dem Evangelium in Einklang steht, oder es schafft, die Zuschauer für spirituelle, menschliche und soziale Werte zu sensibilisieren.
  • GWFF Preis Bester Erstlingsfilm: Der Preis für den besten Erstlingsfilm wird sektionsübergreifend an einen Debütfilm aus dem Wettbewerb, dem Panorama, dem Forum, der Perspektive Deutsches Kino oder der Sektion Generation vergeben.
  • Glashütte Original – Dokumentarfilmpreis: Der Preis wird sektionsübergreifend an einen Dokumentarfilm aus den Sektionen Wettbewerb, Panorama, Forum, Perspektive Deutsches Kino, Berlinale Special, Generation oder der Sonderreihe Kulinarisches Kino vergeben.
  • CICAE Art Cinema Award: Für die Confédération Internationale des Cinémas D’Art et Essai (C.I.C.A.E.), den Internationalen Verband der Filmkunsttheater, sind zwei Jurys auf der Berlinale tätig: eine vergibt einen Preis an einen Film des Panoramas, eine kürt einen Film des Forums.
  • TEDDY AWARD: Der Teddy Award, der bedeutendste queere Filmpreis der Welt. Der Preis wird im Rahmen der Berlinale in den Kategorien bester Spielfilm, bester Dokumentar-/Essayfilm und bester Kurzfilm sowie als Special Jury Award vergeben. Filme aus allen Sektionen der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin konkurrieren jedes Jahr um die Teddy Awards.
  • Friedensfilmpreis: Die Jury sichtet Filme aus allen Sektionen. Der Hauptpreis wird von der „Initiative Friedensfilmpreis“ in Verbindung mit den „Ärzten zur Verhütung des Atomkriegs“ (IPPNW) und der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung gestiftet. Darüber hinaus kann die Friedensfilmpreis-Jury lobende Erwähnungen aussprechen.
  • Preis der Leserjury des Tagesspiegel: Die Leserjury besteht aus neun Mitgliedern, die in einem Ausschreibungsverfahren ermittelt werden. Der Leserpreis geht an den besten Film des Forums.

Weitere Informationen zu diesen und anderen Preisen des Festivals finden Sie unter Preise und Jurys.

Für alle Filmanmeldungen gelten die Allgemeinen Anmelde- und Teilnahmerichtlinien.

1 – Zugelassene Filme

Für das Forum zugelassen sind Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme ab 60 Minuten Laufzeit, die

  • außerhalb ihrer Ursprungsländer in Europa noch nicht kommerziell ausgewertet wurden.
  • noch auf keinem anderen deutschen oder europäischen Festival gezeigt wurden; die Teilnahme an nationalen Festivals bzw. nationalen Reihen im Ursprungsland ist jedoch erlaubt.
  • außerhalb ihres Ursprungslandes weder im Fernsehen noch im Internet / VOD gezeigt wurden.
  • in den Formaten DCP, QuickTime ProRes oder 35mm (kinoabhängig) vorliegen. Andere Formate nur nach Rücksprache.
  • falls es sich um Fernsehproduktionen handelt, für eine Kinoauswertung vorgesehen sind.

Im Falle internationaler Koproduktionen gilt das Hauptproduktionsland als Ursprungsland.

  • Weltpremieren werden bevorzugt.
  • Deutsche Filme müssen (mit Ausnahme der Anmeldungen für die Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino) eine Weltpremiere sein.

Die Leitung der Sektion Forum hat das Recht, alle in den Richtlinien nicht vorgesehenen Fälle zu regeln.

Eine Einreichung für das kuratierte Programm Forum Expanded ist nicht möglich.

2 – Auswahl und Programmierung

Die Auswahl der Filme erfolgt durch die Leitung des Forums in Abstimmung mit dem Auswahlkomitee.

3 – Fassung und Untertitel

Die für das Forum ausgewählten Filme sollen in ihrer Originalfassung mit englischen Untertiteln gezeigt werden. Es wird außerdem empfohlen, dem Festival auch eine deutsche Untertitelversion zur Verfügung zu stellen.
Die Untertitelung erfolgt auf Kosten der Produktion. In besonderen Fällen kann das Forum einen Zuschuss zu den Kosten der deutschen Untertitelung gewähren.

4 – Versand

Auswahlmedien für das Forum sind einzusenden an die Adresse der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin oder direkt an die Adresse des Forums:

Forum
Potsdamer Straße 2
10785 Berlin
Deutschland
Tel. +49 30 26955200
Fax +49 30 26955222

www.arsenal-berlin.de/forum