Berlinale: How to Berlinale


How to Berlinale
A short guide to film submission

Sections and Programmes

Glamorous, controversial, committed: the Competition is the centrepiece of the Berlinale and the festival’s calling card. It screens star-studded cinema and discovers new directors for the big arena of international filmmaking. Contact:

Glamour and popular films in the Gala Premieres, in-depth debates at the panel discussions, a spotlight on current topics, unusual formats and the honouring of extraordinary film personalities – Berlinale Special is one of the festival’s most versatile programmes. Contact: . Berlinale Series offers audiences an exclusive first look on the big screen at the most exciting new series productions and the latest developments in serial storytelling from around the world. Contact: . The Berlinale Special programmes are upon invitation only and do not receive submissions.

Sexy, edgy, daring. Panorama is part of the official Berlinale programme and has its own audience award. Press, industry and the audience share their cinematic experience in all Panorama screenings. Contact:

The Forum and Forum Expanded are independent Berlinale programmes curated and organised by the Arsenal - Institute for Film and Video Art. They are a reflection of the medium of film, social and artistic discourse and aesthetic obstinacy. The Forum’s main programme concentrates on contemporary international productions without differentiating between features and documentaries. Presenting shorts and full-length films, a group exhibition and various event formats, Forum Expanded provides a platform for filmic positions from a wider artistic environment. Forum Expanded does not accept submissions. Contact:

Generation Kplus and Generation 14plus, two competition programmes screening state-of-the-art international cinema for young audiences – and for everyone else. Epic narratives and fleeting moments, flights of fantasy and bitter realities. Coming-of-age stories: awesome, wild and angry, heartfelt and headstrong. Contact:

With its selection of radically distinctive styles, the Berlinale Shorts competition sets the trends for the art house cinema of tomorrow. The short form is the wild heartbeat alongside the feature-length film competition. Contact:

Perspektive Deutsches Kino (Perspectives on German Cinema): the name says it all. The section opens up various perspectives on the German film landscape. The journey into the future of filmmaking begins here, for directors and producers as well as for all the other film disciplines.
Contact:

The Culinary Cinema offers food for thought with films about the pleasures but also the dark sides of food. It is a special programme upon invitation only. Contact:

NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema is dedicated to the cinematic storytelling of Indigenous peoples from around the world with a focus on a different region every two years. It is a special series upon invitation only. Contact:

Requirements valid for all submissions

  • Submission:
    available from early September only via www.berlinale.de
  • Deadline for submission:
    October 31, 2018 for feature-length films / November 15, 2018 for short films
  • Processing fee:
    € 175 feature-length films / € 75 short films
  • Date of completion:
    within the 12 months prior to festival
  • Premiere Status:
    World or International premieres are given priority, however, the sections have different requirements. German films need to be world premieres, except those submitted to Perspektive Deutsches Kino.
  • Accepted formats for selection:
    File upload or DCP (technical specifications)
  • Documentation for submission:
    Duly completed entry form, full contact details of production companies, synopsis, director’s filmo- / biography, cast and crew list

Please check our General Guidelines for Submission and Participation as well as specific terms and conditions for each section..
The festival does not present industry films or commercials.
Film submission for the European Film Market at www.efm-berlinale.de

„How to Berlinale"-Download

The "How to Berlinale" short guide including a table of the submission requirements for each section can be downloaded here:


How to Berlinale, PDF  (139 KB)

Contact

Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
Programme Organisation
Potsdamer Platz 11
10785 Berlin
Germany
phone +49 30 25920-444
fax +49 30 25920-499

Berlinale: How to Berlinale


How to Berlinale
Ein kurzer Leitfaden zur Filmanmeldung

Die Anmeldefristen für die Berlinale 2019 sind am 31.10.2018 (Langfilme) sowie am 15.11.2018 (Kurzfilme) verstrichen.
Die Filmanmeldung für das Festival ist nicht mehr aktiv.


Die Benachrichtigungen über die Ergebnisse des Auswahlprozesses erfolgen so schnell wie möglich, spätestens zum Jahresbeginn 2019.

Sektionen und Sonderreihen

Glamourös, umstritten, engagiert: Der Wettbewerb ist das Herzstück der Berlinale und die Visitenkarte des Festivals. Er zeigt Starkino und entdeckt Regisseur*innen für die große Bühne des internationalen Kinoschaffens. Kontakt:

Glamour und populäre Filme in den Gala-Premieren, intensive Auseinandersetzungen in den Podiumsdiskussionen, die Beleuchtung aktueller Themen, außergewöhnliche Formate und die Würdigung besonderer Filmpersönlichkeiten - das Programm des Berlinale Special ist eines der facettenreichsten des Festivals. Kontakt: . Berlinale Series bietet dem Publikum auf der großen Leinwand einen exklusiven ersten Blick auf die spannendsten neuen Serienproduktionen und die jüngsten Entwicklungen im seriellen Erzählen aus aller Welt. Kontakt: . Eine Einreichung ist für diese Programme nicht möglich.

Sexy, mutig, anders. Das Panorama ist Teil des offiziellen Berlinale-Programms und hat seinen eigenen Publikumspreis. Treffpunkt von Presse, Industrie und Filmschaffenden. Kontakt:

Forum und Forum Expanded sind vom Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst kuratierte und organisierte unabhängige Programme im Rahmen der Berlinale. Sie stehen für Reflexion des filmischen Mediums, gesellschaftlich-künstlerischen Diskurs und ästhetischen Eigensinn. Das Hauptprogramm des Forum konzentriert sich auf zeitgenössische internationale Kinoproduktionen und verzichtet dabei auf herkömmliche Unterscheidungen wie die zwischen Spiel- und Dokumentarfilm. Forum Expanded bietet mit Kurz- und Langfilmen, einer Gruppenausstellung und variierenden Veranstaltungsformaten eine Plattform für filmische Positionen aus einem erweiterten künstlerischen Umfeld. Eine Einreichung für Forum Expanded ist nicht möglich. Kontakt:

Generation Kplus und Generation 14plus: zwei Wettbewerbe, die internationales Kino am Puls der Zeit präsentieren. Für ein junges Publikum und für alle anderen. Epische Erzählungen und Momentaufnahmen, Sehnsüchte, Fantasien und bittere Realitäten. Geschichten vom Erwachsenwerden: wundervoll, wild und wütend, emotional und eigensinnig. Kontakt:

Der Wettbewerb der Berlinale Shorts mit einer Auswahl an radikalen Handschriften ist zukunftsweisend für das Arthouse-Kino von morgen. Die kurze Form ist der wilde Pulsschlag neben dem Langfilmwettbewerb. Kontakt:

Perspektive Deutsches Kino: Der Name ist Programm. Die Sektion eröffnet unterschiedliche Perspektiven auf die deutsche Filmlandschaft. Hier beginnt der Weg in die Zukunft des Filmschaffens, das gilt sowohl für Regisseur*innen und Produzent*innen als auch für alle anderen Gewerke. Kontakt:

Das Kulinarische Kino bietet Food for Thought mit Filmen über die angenehmen, aber auch die dunklen Seiten des Essens. Kontakt: . Eine Einreichung ist für dieses Programm nicht möglich.

Die Sonderreihe NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema widmet sich den filmischen Erzählungen indigener Völker auf der ganzen Welt. Alle zwei Jahre rückt eine andere Region in den Fokus. Kontakt: . Eine Einreichung ist für dieses Programm nicht möglich.

Einreichbedingungen:

  • Anmeldung:
    ab Anfang September ausschließlich unter www.berlinale.de
  • Einsendeschluss:
    31. Oktober 2018 für Langfilme  /  15. November 2018 für Kurzfilme
  • Bearbeitungsgebühr:
    € 175 Langfilme  /  € 75 Kurzfilme
  • Datum der Fertigstellung:
    innerhalb der 12 Monate vor Festivalbeginn
  • Premierenstatus:
    Weltpremieren oder internationale Premieren haben Priorität, jedoch variieren die Bedingungen der einzelnen Sektionen. Bei deutschen Filmen muss es sich um die Weltpremiere handeln, außer bei Einreichungen für Perspektive Deutsches Kino.
  • Zugelassene Formate für Sichtungsmedien:
    Datei-Upload oder DCP (Technische Spezifikationen)
  • Dokumentation:
    vollständig ausgefüllte Anmeldung, vollständige Kontaktdaten der Produktionsfirmen, Inhaltsangabe des Films, Filmo-/ Biographie des / der Regisseur*in, Darsteller*innen- und Stabliste

Bitte beachten Sie die Allgemeinen Anmelde- und Teilnahmerichtlinien sowie die detaillierten speziellen Richtlinien der jeweiligen Sektion.
Das Festival präsentiert keine Industrie- oder Werbefilme.
Anmeldungen zum European Film Market unter: www.efm-berlinale.de

„How to Berlinale"-Download

Der „How to Berlinale"-Leitfaden inklusive einer Übersichtstabelle mit den Einreichvoraussetzungen der einzelnen Sektionen steht Ihnen hier als Download zur Verfügung:


How to Berlinale, PDF  (130 KB)

Kontakt

Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
Programmorganisation
Potsdamer Platz 11
10785 Berlin
Deutschland
Tel. +49 30 25920-444
Fax +49 30 25920-499