Berlinale Documentary Award

Due to the special festival format in 2021, this page is published with the proviso that it is subject to further updates.

Festival photos from previous years

For many years now, the Berlin International Film Festival has been committed to the diversity of documentary forms. A distinct award for the best documentary film was launched in 2017.

The Berlinale Documentary Award is endowed with 40,000 Euros in prize money sponsored by public broadcaster Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg (rbb). The prize money is split between the winning film’s director and producer.

Approximately 18 current documentary forms from the sections Competition, Encounters, Panorama, Forum, Generation, Berlinale Special and Perspektive Deutsches Kino are nominated for the Berlinale Documentary Award. For the 2021 Berlinale, the winner of this award will be decided by a three-person jury which is scheduled to meet during the Summer Special in June.

Download Guidelines Berlinale Documentary Award, PDF (70 KB)