Berlinale: Best First Feature Award

Best First Feature Award, endowed with € 50,000, funded by GWFF

The Berlinale has been even more committed to supporting the next generation of film makers since 2006, when it introduced the Best First Feature Award. The award is endowed with 50,000 Euros, funded by GWFF (Gesellschaft zur Wahrnehmung von Film- und Fernsehrecht), a society dedicated to safeguarding film and television rights. The prize money is to be split between the producer and the director of the winning film. Additionally, the director is awarded with a high-quality viewfinder as both a useful instrument and memorable trophy that should accompany them on their future road to success. Debut feature films from the sections Competition, Panorama, Forum, Generation or Perspektive Deutsches Kino compete for the award.


Producer Moisés Zonana, Director Gabriel Ripstein and Producer Michel Franco

600 Millas
by Gabriel Ripstein

The Jury 2015

Fernando Eimbcke (Mexico)

Fernando Eimbcke studied at the UNAM Film Institute in Mexico. He was invited to the Berlinale Talent Campus in 2003 and celebrated his feature film debut with Temporada de Patos in 2004. Following its world premiere at the festival in Guadalajara, he was invited to "Semaine de la critique" in Cannes as well as numerous other international festivals. He took part in Competition of the Berlinale in 2008 with Lake Tahoe, winning the Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize and the FIPRESCI Award. He contributed to the episode film Revolucion, which screened in Berlinale Special in 2010. In 2013, he received awards in San Sebastián and Turin for Club Sandwich.

Joshua Oppenheimer (USA)

American documentary director Joshua Oppenheimer has been making militias, death squads and their victims the focus of his work. His harrowing debut feature-length film The Act of Killing won several international awards all over the world including the Panorama Audience Award, the BAFTA award and a European Film Award. It was also nominated for an Academy Award for best documentary and has been released in more than 31 countries. The Look of Silence celebrated its premiere at the 2014 Venice Film Festival, receiving the Grand Jury Prize and the FIPRESCI Award, followed by the prestigious Danish Arts Council Award.

Olga Kurylenko (Ukraine)

International actress Olga Kurylenko had her breakthrough alongside Daniel Craig's James Bond in A Quantum of Solace. Appearances in films by directors such as multi award-winning Terrence Malick (To the Wonder), Martin McDonagh (Seven Psychopaths) and the hit American series Magic City followed, as well as a lead role alongside Tom Cruise in Oblivion. Most recently she worked with Academy Award winner Russell Crowe in his directorial debut The Water Diviner, and completed filming for the drama A Perfect Day with Benicio Del Toro and Tim Robbins.

Competition (2)

Ixcanul (Ixcanul Volcano) – Guatemala / France
By Jayro Bustamante
With María Mercedes Coroy, María Telón, Manuel Antún, Justo Lorenzo, Marvin Coroy

Vergine giurata (Sworn Virgin) – Italy / Swiss / Germany
By Laura Bispuri
With Alba Rohrwacher, Lars Eidinger, Flonja Kodheli, Luan Jaha, Emily Ferratello

Panorama (5)

Al-Hob wa Al-Sariqa wa Mashakel Ukhra (Love, Theft and Other Entanglements) – Palestinian Territories
By Muayad Alayan
With Sami Metwasi, Maya Abu Alhayyat, Riyad Sliman, Ramzi Maqdisi, Kamel Elbasha

600 Millas (600 Miles) – Mexico
By Gabriel Ripstein
With Tim Roth, Kristyan Ferrer, Harrison Thomas, Noé Hernández, Armando Hernández

Paridan az Ertefa Kam (A Minor Leap Down) – Iran / France
By Hamed Rajabi
With Negar Javaherian, Rambod Javan

Pionery-geroi (Pioneer Heroes) – Russian Federation
By Natalia Kudryashova
With Natalia Kudryashova, Daria Moroz, Aleksei Mitin, Aleksandr Userdin

Petting Zoo – Germany / Greece / USA
By Micah Magee
With Devon Keller, Austin Reed, Deztiny Gonzales, Kiowa Tucker

Forum (5)

Der Geldkomplex (The Money Complex) – Spain
By Juan Rodrigáñez
With Lola Rubio, Gianfranco Poddighe, Rafael Lamata, Jorge Dutor, Katrin Memmer

Nefesim kesilene kadar (Until I Lose My Breath) – Turkey / Germany
By Emine Emel Balcı
With Esme Madra, Rıza Akın, Gizem Denizci, Uğur Uzunel, Sema Keçik

Koza – Slovakia / Czech Republic
By Ivan Ostrochovský
With Peter Baláž, Zvonko Lakčevič, Ján Franek, Stanislava Bongilajová, Nikola Bongilajová

Beira-Mar (Seashore) – Brazil
By Filipe Matzembacher und Marcio Reolon
With Mateus Almada, Maurício José Barcellos, Elisa Brites, Francisco Gick, Irene Brietzke

Chaiki (The Gulls) – Russian Federation
By Ella Manzheeva
With Evgenia Manzhieva, Sergey Adianov, Evgeniy Sangadzhiev, Lyubov Ubushieva

Generation (4)

Mina Walking – Canada / Afghanistan
By Yosef Baraki
With Farzana Nawabi, Hashmatullah Fanaie, Qadir Aryaie

Prins (Prince) – Netherlands
By Sam de Jong
With Ayoub Elasri, Jorik Scholten, Achraf Meziani, Sigrid Ten Napel

Golden Kingdom – USA
By Brian Perkins
With Shine Htet Zaw, Ko Yin Saw Ri, Ko Yin Than Maung, Ko Yin Maung Sein

You're Ugly, Too – Ireland
By Mark Noonan
With Aidan Gillen, Lauren Kinsella, Erika Sainte

Perspektive Deutsches Kino (2)

Im Sommer wohnt er unten (Summers Downstairs) - Germany / France
By Tom Sommerlatte
With Sebastian Fräsdorf, Alice Pehlivanyan, Karin Hanczewski, Godehard Giese, William Peiro

Wanja – Germany
By Carolina Hellsgård
With Anne Ratte-Polle, Nele Trebs, Robert Viktor Minich