Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


Generation 2009:
Searching for Identity in Innovative Formats

This year a new team, Maryanne Redpath and her representative Florian Weghorn, took over responsibilities for the selection of films in the children’s and youth section Generation. Redpath and Weghorn have added new touches to the Kplus and 14plus programmes without sacrificing any of the tried-and-true qualities that make this section so popular with Berlinale audiences of all ages.

You have taken on the direction of Generation after having already spent many years in leadership positions in this section. What’s different for you this year and what innovations can we expect under your direction?

MR: It was not our stated goal to introduce changes, but a new management always brings with it a certain shift in emphasis—new ideas, a new atmosphere, new subjects. Many changes also follow invariably from the films we select.

FW: Last year, for example, we started programming documentaries in the 14plus competition, and we’re continuing that this year with Teenage Response in 14plus and, with Los herederos, for the first time in Kplus. A change like this began with the lucky find of a wonderful documentary we just couldn’t pass up. And since the response from the audience was also enthusiastic, this one selection led to a firmly established part of the section in the following year.

In the Kplus programme: Los Herederos by Eugenio Polgovsky

You’ve both always been interested in realistic subject matter and have picked films that successfully treat the most diverse – and not always easy – subjects in the feature film format. Why have you chosen now to foreground documentary storytelling even more in the area of children’s and youth film? Does this form have certain advantages over the feature film?

MR: You have to look at this issue more broadly. Many of the films we show have essential documentary qualities, such as the Turkish contribution Mommo by Atalay Taşdiken or Niloofar by Sabine El Gemayel in this year’s programme. Formally speaking these are both feature films, but the largely non-professional actors for the most part appear as themselves rather than playing their roles in a conventional sense. Along with the authentic locations, this gives viewers revealing insights into actual everyday lives as they follow the story. Fiction and non-fiction overlap.

FW: And the reverse is also true, since the documentary films we select also always pack a cinematic punch. Los herederos has a tremendous impact on screen, which allows its documentary aspects to be shown to the fullest advantage. If we have the same expectations of documentaries as we do of feature films, we end up with films that communicate their content in a far more complex way than conventional documentary formats like we are accustomed to from television.

MR: In this context I absolutely have to mention the Georgian feature The Other Bank. In the film, a boy who once fled from Abkhazia with his mother returns there in order to look for his father. We follow the boy from place to place – some of them quite dangerous – in a kind of road movie through Georgia. The film is extraordinarily political, precisely because it casts real-life conditions in poetic form.

Familiar Points of View, New Perspectives

Germany is represented this year with, among others, Lars Büchel’s literary adaptation Lippel’s Dream. Several of the other projects in the programme were co-produced in Germany. The adaptation of a successful book was for a long time almost considered the only possible way to make a German children’s film. What is the situation of the German children’s film today?

FW: Being based on a book does not necessarily guarantee the success of a film in Germany, but experience shows that adaptations tend to reach a larger audience. My guess is that this factor will benefit the adaptation of Paul Maar’s book Lippel’s Dream, which we are showing as our opening film. But Lars Büchel’s adaptation is also a successful and exceptional work in its own right. It expertly unfolds its quite complex dramatic structure and the young actors together with the top-notch cast surrounding Moritz Bleibtreu and Anke Engelke deliver outstanding performances.

Armagan Ballantyne's The Strength of Water

Are international co-productions with German participation becoming a trend?

FW: The Eagle Hunter's Son by René Bo Hansen is a good example of the interest on the part of German producers to use international co-productions to bring new, unconventional, and – in this case – original material to the screen. The Eagle Hunter's Son is a German-Swedish co-production with a Danish director and a Mongolian setting. Bringing together the right people is extremely important and national borders are increasingly being crossed in order to do so.

MR: The Strength of Water by Armagan Ballantyne is a Germany-New Zealand co-production—you can’t get much more far-flung than that. The story is very much based in New Zealand, a modern Maori tale deeply grounded in tradition. Co-producer Karl Baumgartner from Pandora Film is known for his skill in sniffing out authentic material. We’ve recommended the film for the ages twelve and up and are showing it in English with German subtitles – without German voice-over, in other words. This is something we introduced in Kplus last year. It is very important to us that the older children not only see the films in the original, but also hear them in the original, as is common practice almost everywhere else in the world. It’s also a good preparation for 14plus and the rest of the festival where films are shown with English subtitles.

When I was twelve I always wanted to see what the sixteen-year-olds were allowed to see. Are kids still like that today?

MR: Of course they are. And we don’t forbid it, but we do think carefully about our age recommendations. 14plus isn’t called 14plus for nothing, after all, and most of the audience members respect that. Sometimes we recommend a film for an older age group not because of its content, but for entirely practical reasons, such as in the case of difficult to understand accents like Scottish or Irish.

FW: We also encourage older 14plus audience members to go see certain Kplus films with German voice-over or subtitles. Many of the young people attending the festival are interested in Kplus films even if the characters in these films are sometimes a few years younger than they are.

MR: This issue is also very interesting in terms of subject matter. What films do I identify with? Where is my place in the world? When am I no longer a child? There are many children today who have to take on responsibility for themselves and their environment at a very early age.

Looking for One’s Place in the World

The search for identity is actually a subject relevant to all age groups. It is perhaps particularly acute when we’re young, but adults certainly have to deal with it too. Or do you disagree?

FW: The search for identity is a very popular topic right now, and crops up in films for all age groups and in all sections of the Berlinale. Youth provides a wonderful dramatic conflict that can allow filmmakers to address all kinds of painful subjects. No one engages with problems more intensely than a young person who is forced to confront his or her own traditions or culture and rub up against them.

Wang Jishuai in Lala's Gun

MR: A good example of this is the Chinese contribution Lala’s Gun by Ning Jingwu. Among the Hmong people, a minority in China, there is a tradition of fathers giving their sons a gun as an initiation rite. But the main character in this film grew up without his father, so he sets out in search of him in order to continue an old tradition and make it his own. It’s a real coming of age story, only set in an exotic cultural milieu.

Which is interesting not only for young people, but for adults too.

FW: Cinema should be an entertaining experience for everyone and not a school lesson about the search for identity aimed at particular target groups. Still, subject matter that directly relates to the lived reality of young people is especially intense and gripping for the 14plus audience members, who are roughly in the same age group. And that of course is the kind of thing we specifically set out to find.

Several of the Generation films this year explicitly address the – also not always easy – living conditions and problems in affluent Western societies, such as drugs in Afterschool and Cherrybomb or suicidal thoughts in My Suicide. The growing rate of poverty in many countries around the world might lead us to assume the opposite. Or is this kind of comparison not very helpful?

MR: I think you can put it that way, although we do try to avoid dividing the world into different problem areas. Many young people in Western societies don’t have to worry about their survival; their problems have more to do with emotional poverty—which is no less difficult. They often lack traditions and social as well as societal points of reference for developing their own philosophy of life. This is the case in all three of the films you mentioned—on the surface it doesn’t seem like these young people have anything they could or need to rebel against, but they still rebel. And of course they ask themselves why they act the way they do.

Do you choose films with the intent of sparking discussions?

FW: We just choose the best films we can get. Our audience’s thematic and formal preferences are extremely diverse, which generates a tremendous amount of energy every year. So you can count on there always being a number of good discussions at our screenings.

Classical Subjects Revamped

Do young people today have an increased interest in unusual forms of media and film, or are they at least more open to them than previous generations were? Does this year’s programme also take up the mediatization of society by means of computer games and the Internet like last year’s did with Ben X?

MR: It certainly does. In My Suicide by David Lee Miller a young man announces that he is going to stage his own suicide on video. This film uses multi-media in the true sense of the word, ranging from Internet clips to CCTV recordings to found footage from other films. The main character brings together all these forms of media in his home studio and uses them to construct his own version of the world. Incidentally, this film has its viral origins in a youth project that also maintains a website for youth at risk of suicide.

Afterschool by Antonio Campos

FW: You hear again and again that young people only want to see films where no shot lasts longer than a few seconds. For one thing this just isn’t true; Afterschool with its very unique and gentle visual language is evidence to the contrary. For another, simply employing an MTV or YouTube aesthetic isn’t enough to make a good youth film. My Suicide explores a highly relevant issue and grounds its multimedia stream of consciousness in an otherwise quite classical three-act dramatic structure.

Legends and fairy-tales are also featured in Kplus, in Brendan and the Secret of Kells for instance or Who is Afraid of the Wolf. Is this the kind of material that is familiar territory for Generation? What is unique about this year’s offerings?

MR: Traditional fairy-tales are woven into the stories of these films, such as Little Red Riding Hood in Who is Afraid of the Wolf by Maria Procházková. But there are also many other levels on which one can view these films and engage with them. Literal adaptations of traditional fairy-tales don’t work as well today as they used to, in my opinion.

FW: It is the proximity of fantasy and reality that makes these films so powerful. Who is Afraid of the Wolf is about a girl’s imaginary escape into the forest in response to her parents’ impending separation. The real fears of the girl are conveyed in a palpably intense way on the psychological level of the fairy-tale.

MR: In Brendan and the Secret of Kells by Tomm Moore and Nora Twomey, an Irish folk fairy-tale from the Middle Ages is given a new life on screen. The story in the film surrounds the “Book of Kells,” which is very arresting even just on a visual level. The film turns it into a kaleidoscope of multidimensional images that brings tears to your eyes. You can see the craftsmanship and experience of the associated animation studios in every image. Truly a unique film that will take your breath away whether you’re a child or an adult.

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


Generation 2009:
Identitätssuche im Ausnahmeformat

Als neues Leitungsteam zeichnen in diesem Jahr Maryanne Redpath und ihr Stellvertreter Florian Weghorn für die Filmauswahl der Kinder- und Jugendsektion Generation verantwortlich. Die Programme Kplus und 14plus weisen dabei sowohl neue Akzente als auch altbewährte Qualitäten auf, die nicht nur das junge Berlinale-Publikum gespannt erwarten darf.

Ihr bildet seit diesem Jahr die neue Leitung von Generation, obwohl ihr schon lange mit am Ruder der Sektion sitzt. Was hat sich für euch verändert beziehungsweise was für Neuerungen bringt der Wechsel mit sich?

MR: Wir haben uns nicht explizit vorgenommen, Änderungen einzuführen, aber neue Konstellationen bringen ja immer ein paar Akzentuierungen mit sich. Neue Ideen, neue Atmosphäre, neue Themen. Viele Veränderungen ergeben sich außerdem automatisch mit den Filmen, die wir auswählen.

FW: Letztes Jahr haben wir zum Beispiel in 14plus mit der Programmierung von Dokumentarfilmen im Wettbewerb begonnen; und dieses Jahr setzt sich das mit Teenage Response in 14plus und mit Los herederos erstmals auch in Kplus fort. Eine Veränderung wie diese beginnt mit dem Glücksfall, dass man einen schönen Dokumentarfilm findet, an dem kein Weg vorbei führt. Und weil auch das Publikum begeistert reagiert hat, wird aus einer Idee im nächsten Jahr ein fester Bestandteil der Sektion.

Los Herederos von Eugenio Polgovsky läuft im Kplus-Programm

Ein Interesse an realitätsnahen Stoffen gibt es ja schon seit Langem bei Euch und die verschiedensten – nicht immer einfachen - Themen wurden bisher ja auch sehr erfolgreich im Spielfilmformat verarbeitet. Wie kommt es zu dieser Aufwertung des dokumentarischen Erzählens im Kinder- und Jugendfilmbereich? Worin bestehen vielleicht Vorteile dieser Form gegenüber dem Spielfilm?

MR: Ich denke, man sollte das ein bisschen weiter fassen: Viele Filme, die bei uns laufen, haben von Grund auf dokumentarische Qualitäten, in diesem Jahr zum Beispiel der türkische Beitrag Mommo von Atalay Taşdiken oder Niloofar von Sabine El Gemayel. Rein formal betrachtet sind es zwar Spielfilme, aber die Darsteller – meist Laien – füllen ihre schauspielerischen Rollen nicht im herkömmlichen Sinn aus, sondern spielen zu einem guten Anteil sich selbst. Zusammen mit authentischen Schauplätzen verschafft das den Zuschauern quasi nebenbei vielsagende Eindrücke eines wirklichen Alltagslebens. Fiction und Non-fiction überlappen sich.

FW: Und andersherum ist es genauso, denn die Dokumentarfilme, die wir auswählen, besitzen immer auch eine kinematografische Kraft. Los herederos hat eine enorme Leinwandpräsenz, wodurch seine dokumentarischen Aspekte erst richtig zur Geltung kommen. Wenn wir die Ansprüche, die wir an Spielfilme stellen, auch auf Dokumentarfilme anwenden, landen wir bei Filmen, die ihre Aussage weit vielschichtiger vermitteln als konventionelle dokumentarische Formate, wie man sie vom Fernsehen gewöhnt ist.

MR: In dem Zusammenhang muss man unbedingt auch den georgischen Spielfilm The Other Bank erwähnen. Ein Junge, der einst mit seiner Mutter aus Abchasien geflüchtet ist, kehrt dorthin zurück, um seinen Vater zu suchen. Man sieht ihn auf einer Art Roadmovie durch Georgien mit vielen Stationen, die oft auch sehr gefährlich sind. Der Film entwickelt eine unglaubliche politische Aussagekraft, und das gerade, weil lebenswirkliche Hintergründe in poetischer Form inszeniert werden.

Gewohnte Sichtweisen und neue Perspektiven

Deutschland ist in diesem Jahr unter anderem mit Lars Büchels Literaturverfilmung Lippels Traum vertreten. Bei der Umsetzung anderer Projekte ist Deutschland als Koproduzent beteiligt. Die Verfilmung erfolgreicher Buchvorlagen galt ja lange als Garant und fast schon notwendige Voraussetzung für deutsche Kinderfilmprojekte. Wo steht der deutsche Kinderfilm heute?

FW: Die Buchvorlage ist in Deutschland zwar nicht unbedingt der Garant für einen Kinoerfolg, aber sie verbessert erfahrungsgemäß die Aussichten, ein größeres Publikum zu erreichen. Man kann vermuten, dass dieser Faktor auch der Verfilmung von Paul Maars Buch Lippels Traum, den wir als Eröffnungsfilm zeigen, zugute kommen wird. Aber nicht nur das, die Verfilmung durch Lars Büchel ist auch für sich genommen ein gelungenes Ausnahmewerk, weil sie eine ziemlich komplexe dramaturgische Struktur souverän entfaltet und die jungen Darsteller zusammen mit der hochkarätigen Besetzung um Moritz Bleibtreu und Anke Engelke noch dazu hervorragend mitmachen.

Armagan Ballantynes The Strength of Water

Deuten internationale Koproduktionen mit deutscher Beteiligung auf einen Trend hin?

FW: Die Stimme des Adlers von René Bo Hansen ist ein gutes Beispiel für das Interesse deutscher Produzenten, sich an internationalen Koproduktionen zu beteiligen und auf diesem Weg auch neue, unkonventionelle und in diesem Fall originäre Stoffe umzusetzen. Der Film ist eine deutsch-schwedische Koproduktion mit einem dänischen Regisseur und einer Geschichte, die in der Mongolei spielt. Die richtigen Leute zusammenzubringen ist extrem wichtig, die nationalen Grenzen werden dazu heutzutage immer öfter überschritten.

MR: The Strength of Water von Armagan Ballantyne ist eine deutsch-neuseeländische Kooperation - weiter entfernt geht’s fast nicht. Der Stoff ist tatsächlich sehr neuseeländisch, eine modern erzählte Maorigeschichte, tief in der Tradition verwurzelt. Co-Produzent Karl Baumgartner von der Pandora-Film ist ja bekannt für seinen guten Riecher bei authentischen Stoffen. Der Film empfehlen wir ab zwölf Jahren, und wir zeigen ihn auf Englisch mit deutschen Untertiteln, also ohne deutsche Einsprache. Das ist eine Neuerung in Kplus, mit der wir letztes Jahr begonnen haben. Es liegt uns am Herzen, dass die älteren Kinder Filme nicht nur im Original sehen, sondern auch im Original hören, so wie es fast auf der ganzen Welt üblich ist. Außerdem ist es eine gute Vorbereitung für 14plus und den Rest des Festivals, wo Filme ja dann mit englischen Untertiteln gezeigt werden.

Als ich zwölf war, wollte ich immer das sehen, was die 16-Jährigen sehen durften. Ist das heute auch noch so?

MR: Ja klar wollen sie das. Wir verbieten das auch nicht, aber wir sprechen ganz bewusst Altersempfehlungen aus. 14plus heißt also nicht ohne Grund 14plus, und die meisten unserer Zuschauer respektieren das auch. Die Empfehlung für eine höhere Altersgruppe muss nicht unbedingt nur mit den Inhalten der Filme zusammenhängen, sondern kann auch ganz praktische Ursachen haben, zum Beispiel schwer zu verstehende Akzente wie etwa im Schottischen oder Irischen.

FW: Wir empfehlen übrigens auch älteren 14plus-Zuschauern, in bestimmte Filme aus Kplus zu gehen, die deutsch eingesprochen oder untertitelt sind. Viele der jugendlichen Zuschauer interessieren sich für Kplus-Filme, selbst wenn die Protagonisten vielleicht manchmal ein paar Jahre jünger sind als sie selbst.

MR: Diese Fragen sind auch in thematischer Hinsicht spannend. In welchen Filmen finde ich mich wieder, wo ist mein Platz in der Welt? Ab wann ist man kein Kind mehr? Es gibt heutzutage viele Kinder, die sehr früh Verantwortung übernehmen müssen für sich selbst und ihre Umgebung.

Die Suche nach dem Platz in der Welt

Die Suche nach der eigenen Identität ist ja im Grunde ein generationsübergreifendes Thema. Vielleicht im jungen Alter besonders stark ausgeprägt, aber auch für Erwachsene durchaus relevant. Oder seht ihr das anders?

FW: Thematisch gesehen hat die Identitätssuche absolut Konjunktur – und zwar in Filmen für alle Altersgruppen und auch quer durch alle Sektionen der Berlinale. Der jugendliche Konflikt eignet sich dramaturgisch wunderbar, um den Finger in die Wunden der Welt zu legen. Niemand kommt intensiver mit Problemen in Berührung als ein junger Mensch, der sich fundamental mit seinen Traditionen oder seiner Kultur auseinandersetzen und an ihnen reiben muss.

Wang Jishuai in Lala's Gun

MR: Ein gutes Beispiel ist der chinesische Beitrag Lala’s Gun von Ning Jingwu. In der chinesischen Minderheit der Miao ist es Tradition, dass Jungen zur Initiation von ihrem Vater ein Gewehr bekommen. Unser Protagonist ist aber ohne seinen Vater aufgewachsen und macht sich nun auf die Suche nach ihm, um eine alte Tradition fortsetzen und für sich gewinnen zu können. Eine echte Coming-of-age-Geschichte, nur eben in einem exotischen Kulturkreis.

Und das interessiert dann nicht nur Jugendliche, sondern auch Erwachsene!

FW: Kino soll ein unterhaltsames Erlebnis für alle sein und nicht die Grammatikstunde der Identitätssuche für Zielgruppen. Trotzdem sind Stoffe, die einen Bezug zur Lebensrealität Jugendlicher haben, besonders intensiv und berührend für die ungefähr gleichaltrigen 14plus-Gänger. Und danach spüren wir natürlich auch ganz gezielt.

In mehreren Filmen bei Generation wird ganz explizit auf die – ebenfalls nicht immer einfachen – Lebensbedingungen und Probleme wohlsituierter westlicher Gesellschaften eingegangen, zum Beispiel Drogen in Afterschool und Cherrybomb oder Selbstmordgedanken in My Suicide. Bei dem wachsenden Armutsanteil vieler Gesellschaften weltweit könnte man ja eigentlich eher das Gegenteil vermuten. Oder bringt einen diese Form der Gegenüberstellung nicht weiter?

MR: Ich denke schon, dass man das so sagen kann, obgleich wir versuchen, die Unterteilung der Welt in Problemzonen zu vermeiden. Viele Jugendliche in westlichen Gesellschaften haben keine existentiellen Sorgen, ihre Probleme sind durch eine emotionale Armut bedingt – was nicht weniger schlimm ist. Häufig fehlen Traditionen und soziale wie gesellschaftliche Anknüpfungspunkte für das eigene Lebenskonzept. Das findet man in allen drei von dir genannten Filmen: Oberflächlich gesehen haben diese Jugendlichen nichts, wogegen sie rebellieren könnten oder müssten, trotzdem tun sie es. Natürlich fragen sie sich, warum sie so handeln, wie sie handeln.

Wählt Ihr Eure Filme mit dem Ziel aus, Diskussionen auszulösen?

FW: Wir wählen einfach die besten Filme aus, die wir bekommen können. Die thematischen und formalen Vorlieben unseres Publikums sind extrem unterschiedlich, und es erwächst jedes Jahr eine ernorme Energie daraus. Man kann also sicher sein, dass es wieder einige gute Diskussionen in den Kinos geben wird.

Klassische Themen in neuem Gewand

Haben die Jugendlichen heute ein gesteigertes Interesse an ungewöhnlichen medialen und filmischen Formen oder zumindest eine größere Offenheit dafür, als das bei früheren Generationen der Fall war? Wird auch dieses Jahr, wie letztes Jahr in Ben X, die Mediatisierung der Gesellschaft durch Computerspiele und Internet direkt in den Filmen aufgegriffen?

MR: Allerdings. In My Suicide von David Lee Miller kündigt ein junger Mann an, seinen eigenen Selbstmord als Video zu inszenieren. Die Sprache dieses Filmes ist multimedial im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes. Das geht von Internet-Clips über Aufnahmen von Überwachungskameras bis hin zu Found Footage aus anderen Filmen. All diese Medien sammelt der Protagonist bei sich zu Hause in einem Studio und montiert daraus seine Version der Welt. Ursprünglich ist dieser Film einmal sehr viral aus einem Jugendprojekt entstanden, das auch eine Website für suizidgefährdete Jugendliche betreibt.

Afterschool von Antonio Campos

FW: Man hört immer wieder: Jugendliche wollen nur Filme sehen, in denen keine Einstellung länger als ein paar Sekunden dauern darf. Zum einen stimmt das nicht, Afterschool darf mit seiner sehr eigenen, behutsamen Bildsprache das Gegenteil beweisen. Zum anderen reicht eine MTV- und You-Tube-Ästhetik alleine eben nicht aus, um einen guten Jugendfilm zu machen. My Suicide erforscht ein hochrelevantes Thema und erdet seinen multimedialen Bewusstseinsstrom mit einer ansonsten dramaturgisch ganz klassischen Dreiaktstruktur.

Sagen- und märchenhafte Stoffe kommen in Kplus auch zur Geltung, zum Beispiel in Brendan and the Secret of Kells oder Who is Afraid of the Wolf. Sind das Stoffe, die bei Generation immer wieder auftauchen? Welche besonderen Merkmale finden sich in den diesjährigen Umsetzungen?

MR: In die Geschichten dieser Filme sind traditionelle Märchenstoffe eingewoben, Rotkäppchen im Fall von Who is Afraid of the Wolf von Maria Procházková. Sie bieten aber auch viele andere Ebenen des Zugangs und der Auseinandersetzung. Eine 1:1-Adaption von traditionellen Märchen funktioniert meiner Meinung nach heute nicht mehr so gut wie früher.

FW: Gerade der Schulterschluss zwischen Gedankenwelt und Wirklichkeit macht diese Filme so stark. Who is Afraid of the Wolf behandelt die bevorstehende Trennung der Eltern, vor der die Tochter gedanklich in den Wald flüchtet. Die realen Ängste des Mädchens werden auf der psychologischen Ebene des Märchens sehr intensiv spürbar gemacht.

MR: In Brendan and the Secret of Kells von Tomm Moore und Nora Twomey erlebt eine irische Nationalsage aus dem Mittelalter ihre Wiedergeburt auf der Leinwand. Das „Book of Kells“, um das sich die Geschichte des Filmes rankt, ist alleine schon grafisch sehr beeindruckend. Im Film wurde daraus ein Kaleidoskop an vieldimensionalen Bildern, das einem die Tränen in die Augen treibt. Man erkennt in jedem Bild die Kunstfertigkeit und die Erfahrung der beteiligten Animationsfilmstudios. Wirklich einmalig und schlicht atemberaubend für Kinder und Erwachsene!