Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Berlinale Shorts

Imfura

## ## ## ## ##

‘My mum left me when I was a baby, she never saw a celebration, and she’ll never see one. Oh generation of god.’ In Kinyarwanda ‘Imfura’ means first-born, the noble one, gentleman. Gisa, a young man, travels to his mother’s village. He never got to know her, since she disappeared in the genocide. Gisa wants to comprehend, to remember, so he meets those who remain. Much has changed. Various chants and rituals guide him in his search. The memory is inside him, the midwife says, has always been with him. He is not alone. He is alone however when he is suddenly forced to choose a position in a fight over an inheritance, a shell of a house. The ruins represent the visible remains of the genocide.
The film’s hybrid form, its fusion of documentary and staged material, gives it a great sense of immediacy. Imfura is the first Rwandan production to be included in the competition of Berlinale Shorts.
Maike Mia Höhne

by
Samuel Ishimwe

Switzerland / Rwanda 2017

Kinyarwanda

36 min · Colour

With

Moses Mwizerwa (Gisa)
Kijyana Yves (Gahigi)
Nyirababikira Hadidja (Seraphina)

Crew

Written and directed by
Samuel Ishimwe
Director of Photography
Samuel Ishimwe
Editor
Samuel Ishimwe
Sound Design
Samuel Ishimwe
Sound
Eugène Safali
Sound Mixer
Phillipe Ciompi
Producers
Daniel Schweizer, Jean Perret
Co-production
Imitana Productions, Kigali, Ruanda

Biography

Samuel Ishimwe

Born in Rwanda in 1991, after finishing high school he worked as a journalist and photographer and attended several film workshops. His short films have screened at various festivals including Durban International Film Festival in South Africa. In June 2017 he completed a film degree at the Geneva School of Art and Design (HEAD).

Filmography

2017 Crossing Lines · Imfura

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Haute école d’art et de design (HEAD) – Genève
head.hesge.ch/cinema/

World sales

Haute école d’art et de design (HEAD) – Genève
head.hesge.ch/cinema/

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Shorts

Imfura

## ## ## ## ##

„My mum left me when I was a baby, she never saw a celebration, and she’ll never see one. Oh generation of god.“ „Imfura“ bedeutet auf Kinyarwanda der Erstgeborene, der Edle, der Gentleman. Ein junger Mann, Gisa, fährt in das Dorf seiner Mutter. Seine Mutter hat er nie kennengelernt, weil sie im Genozid verschwunden ist. Gisa will verstehen, sich erinnern und trifft sich mit denen, die geblieben sind. Vieles hat sich verändert. Verschiedenste Gesänge und Rituale leiten ihn bei seiner Suche. Die Erinnerung, sagt ihm die Hebamme, ist in ihm, schon immer mit ihm. Er ist nicht alleine. Alleine ist er, wenn es auf einmal darum geht im Streit um das Erbe einer Hausruine, Position zu ergreifen. Die Ruine repräsentiert die sichtbaren Überreste des Genozids.
Die hybride Form des Films, die Verquickung von dokumentarischem und inszeniertem Material, macht seine Unmittelbarkeit aus. Imfura ist die erste ruandische Produktion im Wettbewerb der Berlinale Shorts.
Maike Mia Höhne

von
Samuel Ishimwe

Schweiz / Ruanda 2017

Kinyarwanda

36 Min · Farbe

Mit

Moses Mwizerwa (Gisa)
Kijyana Yves (Gahigi)
Nyirababikira Hadidja (Seraphina)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Samuel Ishimwe
Kamera
Samuel Ishimwe
Schnitt
Samuel Ishimwe
Sound Design
Samuel Ishimwe
Ton
Eugène Safali
Mischung
Phillipe Ciompi
Produzenten
Daniel Schweizer, Jean Perret
Co-Produktion
Imitana Productions, Kigali, Ruanda

Biografie

Samuel Ishimwe

Geboren 1991 in Ruanda. Nach der Highschool arbeitete er als Journalist und Fotograf und absolvierte mehrere Filmworkshops. Seine Kurzfilme wurden auf verschiedenen Festivals wie dem Durban International Film Festival in Südafrika gezeigt. Im Juni 2017 schloss er sein Filmstudium an der Haute école d’art et de design (HEAD) in Genf ab.

Filmografie

2017 Crossing Lines · Imfura

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Haute école d’art et de design (HEAD) – Genève
head.hesge.ch/cinema/

Weltvertrieb

Haute école d’art et de design (HEAD) – Genève
head.hesge.ch/cinema/