Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Berlinale Special

Night Will Fall

(work in progress)

Panel discussion in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele with director André Singer, the historian Professor Rainer Schulze, Producer Sally Angel, the Croatian film producer and actor Branko Lustig, who survived Auschwitz and Bergen-Belsen, as well as Dr. Toby Haggith from the London Imperial War Museum. Moderation: Knut Elstermann.

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##
On 15 April 1945, British troops liberated Bergen-Belsen concentration camp on the Lüneburg Heath. A camera crew filmed images of piles of corpses and emaciated inmates which provided shocking evidence of the crimes committed by the Nazi regime. London-based producer Sidney Bernstein planned to use this material alongside other allied footage to make a film that would prove the scale of the Nazi’s extermination policy and thus provide support for the allies’ psychological offensive against Germany. Alfred Hitchcock was asked to edit the film. But after the war ended, the occupying forces changed their policy: instead of confronting the Germans with their guilt it was considered more important to instil new confidence to meet the challenges of post-was reconstruction. And so these authentic scenes of unspeakable horror were consigned to the archives ...
Night Will Fall retraces the story of this unfinished film which for decades was known as ‘the missing Hitchcock’. Parallel to the screening of this documentary, the Forum section will present the premiere of the film which has been reconstructed by the Imperial War Museum in London in accordance with Hitchcock’s intentions.

United Kingdom / USA / Israel 2014, 80 min


André Singer

World Sales

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special

Night Will Fall

(work in progress)

Podiumsdiskussion im Haus der Berliner Festspiele mit Regisseur André Singer, dem Historiker Professor Rainer Schulze, Produzentin Sally Angel, dem kroatischen Filmproduzenten und Schauspieler Branko Lustig, der Auschwitz und Bergen-Belsen überlebt hat, sowie Dr. Toby Haggith vom Londoner Imperial War Museum. Moderation: Knut Elstermann.

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##
Am 15. April 1945 befreiten britische Truppen das Konzentrationslager Bergen-Belsen in der Lüneburger Heide. Ein Kamerateam machte Bilder von Leichenbergen und ausgemergelten Häftlingen, schockierende Beweise für die Verbrechen des NS-Regimes. Der Londoner Produzent Sidney Bernstein plante aus diesem Material sowie weiteren Aufnahmen der Alliierten einen Film zusammenzustellen, der die Größenordnung der NS-Vernichtungspolitik belegen und so den Kampf gegen Deutschland auch psychologisch unterstützen sollte. Alfred Hitchcock wurde gebeten, den Film zu montieren. Doch nach dem Ende des Krieges änderte sich die Politik der Besatzungsmächte: Statt die Deutschen mit ihrer Schuld zu konfrontieren, galt es angesichts der Anforderungen des Wiederaufbaus, neue Zuversicht zu verbreiten. Die authentischen Szenen unsagbaren Grauens wurden den Archiven übergeben ...
Night Will Fall rekonstruiert die Geschichte des unvollendeten Films, der über Jahrzehnte als „missing Hitchcock“ gehandelt wurde. Parallel zur Dokumentation zeigt das Berlinale-Forum erstmals die vom Londoner Imperial War Museum hergestellte, nach Hitchcocks Intentionen rekonstruierte Fassung.

Großbritannien / USA / Israel 2014, 80 Min

von

André Singer

Weltvertrieb

Cinephil