Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


Berlinale Talent Campus 2012:
Changing Perspectives

New paths, fresh angles and altered perspectives: Matthijs Wouter Knol and Christine Tröstrum look ahead to the upcoming ten-year anniversary of the Berlinale Talent Campus. They discuss current focal points and the first-time inclusion of distributors, new technologies and political developments.

“Changing Perspectives” is the main theme of the upcoming tenth edition of the Campus. You encourage young talents to try out new paths. What inspired you as you were developing the concept?

Matthijs Wouter Knol (MWK): Every year at the Campus we host a lot of emerging talents as well as experts who have already had a certain education or specific practical experience in the film industry before they discovered how enriching an alternative path, a different angle or learning about other fields can be.

Christine Tröstrum (CT): The average age of Campus participants is 30 to 32. But two years ago we selected a 57-year-old filmmaker who had worked as a photographer and journalist for many years before he began to successfully write screenplays. For us he was an emerging talent and we wanted to give him an opportunity to develop his new script at the Campus.
It was always the aim of the Campus to see things in a new way and to imagine the future. Or to simply change the point of view. We don’t just ask this from our emerging talents, but also invite established filmmakers to explore different perspectives.

Michel Reilhac, executive director of ARTE France Cinéma, sharing know-how with Talents.

MWK: For experienced professionals whose films are shown at major festivals like the Berlinale and who are already invited to be experts or take part in panel discussions, the Campus is also a kind of eye-opener. They have an opportunity to meet participants one-to-one instead of speaking before an anonymous audience. In doing so they realize that the talents are by no means inexperienced students but serious filmmakers. And so this encounter opens up new perspectives for both the emerging talents and experts alike. They see that these young people have clear goals – and could be considered for future collaboration.

CT: For the first time, we invited young distributors to take part. That also means “Changing Perspectives” for us. In recent years, the Campus focused primarily on the areas of development, pre-production and production. But for us it is just as important that so-called “festival films”, following a successful festival career in various countries, really get into cinemas and reach a broader audience.

MWK: It’s not just about bringing emerging filmmakers together with established film professionals so that they can develop, produce and finance films together, but rather also about finding an audience for the films. The talents have to ask themselves the question: For whom do I want to make films? The industry is aiming at reaching audiences and also earning money by making films – we try to get that across.

The team of the Berlinale Talent Campus #10

New commercial opportunities, financial and cross-media experiments

How are distributors dealing with the changes occurring in their field?

MWK: We’d like to hear from the emerging distributors who we have invited from different parts of the world about the difficulties they are struggling with and what new distribution channels or structures have been created. The talents are supposed to exchange ideas with one another at the Campus, but also make contacts with established distributors. From experienced producers and distributors we hear how difficult it is in the industry to find suitable newcomers or people with innovative ideas. The distribution industry has been transformed from the ground up and no one really knows what direction it will take in the future.

CT: We want to reshuffle the exploitation chain of the film business, which have become diffused through Video on Demand and the influence of other digital developments. Will VoD determine the course of the business of film? Will theatrical distribution even exist in 10 years? How do producers, directors and distributors work together these days? What does a director who holds the rights himself need to know about commercialization and distribution? In just the last few years we have presented successful models created through new online commercial opportunities. At the next edition of the Campus we want to present further developments and explore the topic in greater depth.

Distribution isn’t the only field to have been transformed by the Internet. New perspectives are opening up for production, such as crowd-funding. Is online user financing of creative projects a future model that might one day be able to match private financiers or state funding bodies in Europe?

CT: It won’t be able to compete with those types of funding, but rather complement them. In the US, there are some very successful, alternatively financed projects, because there are no comparable funding structures as one finds in Europe. But also in many other countries, it’s no longer so simple to fund projects. The number of productions has multiplied to such an extent that filmmakers must find new ways of financing the production of their films. For the Campus, we’re planning future cooperation with a crowd-funding platform from the US. The talents can upload documentary and feature film projects that have been selected for the Doc & Script Station on this financing site with the aim of reaching a certain budget within a period of time. It’s going to be a very interesting experiment for us too.

Shooting of the Berlin Today Award 2012 film Five Ways to Kill a Man

The Talent Campus always paid attention to new technological trends. The digitalization of filmmaking also affects the artistic process. Does this really open up new opportunities when it comes to telling stories? Which developments will you be tapping into?

CT: Telling a good, exciting story should always be the starting point. In recent years totally new narrative forms have come to exist, thanks to digital realities and technologies. For years, we have been discussing the possibilities of cross-media with the talents. Cross-media or transmedia projects presume narrative structures in which the user – the audience – often participates as commenter or co-author; for example, when parallel live events are hosted or short films are shot. The education sector is also attractive for such projects, for children’s media or foreign language courses, for example. We believe that especially documentaries are suitable for cross-media narrative techniques that can be used to attract new audiences on various platforms. At the Campus 2012 we will present finished cross-media projects for the first time, in collaboration with the IDFA Doclab in Amsterdam. In the end, the use of new digital formats of course relates to the topic of distribution: how and where do I find new audiences for my film project?

Iranian filmmaker Rafi Pitts at the “Censored Cinema” panel 2011

Films as a political tool and mirror of society

The expression of views and the online spread of films and videos has fundamental significance for the political changes in developing countries. Which regions of the world do you find most interesting at the moment?

MWK: During the previous Berlinale there was a strong focus on Iran because of the sentencing of Jafar Panahi and Mohammad Rasoulof, and we too addressed the issue of “censorship and cinema” at the Campus. For the upcoming February, one of our aims is to show which societal changes can occur through film and how a new generation of filmmakers is continuing to play a decisive role in this process. The Arab world is a region where we are seeing an enormous amount of movement resulting in intense discourse in media throughout the world. In terms of film, it is interesting, because the moving images can more or less directly be understood as mirroring political processes. At the Talent Campus we want to look at current developments in Arab countries and beyond, but also show what has changed in other regions or countries around the world that have been swept up in social upheaval.
We would like to show how films worldwide help make these ongoing events tangible and how they contribute to making sense of the past. We will present new African and Caribbean initiatives that aim to bundle the strengths of the local film industry providing mutual support and a way to attract the attention of the outside world more effectively.

The “Dine & Shine Talents Rendezvous” makes Talents meet Berlinale guests and experts.

Looking back at 10 years of the Talent Campus and advice for the future

The Talent Campus celebrates its tenth anniversary in 2012. What trends can you identify, when you look back at the past ten years?

CT: Our role has become more tangible. The concept of the global village applies to the Campus in a positive sense. We have, for example, supported international co-productions, whether through funding awards, which we initiated with partners or through our short film competition, the Berlin Today Award. We have awakened an interest in international newcomer talents in the film industry and promoted targeted collaborations, also amongst the emerging filmmakers themselves, naturally. We don’t just invite established filmmakers to the Campus so that participants can profit from their experiences, but conversely hope to show that the younger generation has a lot to say and contribute. I can still remember well how difficult it used to be for industry newcomers to contact established filmmakers. There was a certain arrogance, which we are trying to counter with a kind of democratization. Four years ago, for example, we developed the Dine & Shine format, a dinner for 430 guests at which we bring together Berlinale guests with the emerging talents. Now we start getting enquiries about the Dine & Shine event from established producers, financiers and distributors as early as the summer.
Just ten years ago the word “networking” had a totally different meaning. Similar to developments in the virtual space, comparably flattened hierarchies and communities have formed in the real world – thanks to online business portals and, most recently, social networks.

MWK: Beyond that, the Campus has presented itself more and more as a platform for project development. Of course a six-day programme is too short to sufficiently work on film projects. But since the Campus offered a very dense atmosphere at the beginning of the year, a place where everyone is open to new impulses and fresh ideas, many emerging filmmakers see the Campus as a place for orientation and decision-making. The Campus aims to maintain this approach in the future: we don’t just want to bring together up-and-coming and established film professionals, but we want to help talents benefit from the encounter in terms of content and take a decisive step with their projects.

The opening event is called after this year’s Campus theme, “Changing Perspectives.” These days, no one’s professional biography seems to follow a linear path and filmmakers seem to be more open to try new things. What advice would you offer the talented filmmakers about getting on the right path? Is it more important to concentrate on your goals or is it more about taking advantage of opportunities that arise?

MWK: One piece of advice would be to always be open to the new, to not focus too much on your own thing, but to have the energy and concentration to listen to and take seriously the comments and feedback of others. The input one receives from all sides – especially at the Campus – can be overwhelming and sometimes frightening, but can prove to be very fruitful as a way to create new ideas and develop one’s project further in a different way. For most of our emerging talents, the Campus literally opens up a new perspective. Coming to Berlin for the first time allows them to meet people from different countries and experience how they aren’t just the only ones who have difficulties developing material or making films in their home country. Following the Campus they often have a very different perspective on how and with whom they want to work on their films.

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


Berlinale Talent Campus 2012:
Changing Perspectives

Neue Wege, andere Blickwinkel und veränderte Perspektiven. Matthijs Wouter Knol und Christine Tröstrum geben einen Ausblick auf das zehnjährige Jubiläum des Berlinale Talent Campus, auf aktuelle Schwerpunkte und die erstmalige Einbindung von Verleihern, auf technologische Neuerungen und politische Entwicklungen.

„Changing Perspectives“ ist der thematische Schwerpunkt der kommenden zehnten Ausgabe des Campus. Ihr ermuntert die Talente, neue Wege zu gehen. Welche Vorbilder hattet Ihr bei der Konzeption vor Augen?

Matthijs Wouter Knol (MWK): Wir haben jedes Jahr sehr viele Talente und Experten zu Gast beim Campus, die zunächst eine bestimmte Ausbildung oder fachspezifische Erfahrungen in der Filmbranche gemacht haben, bevor sie herausgefunden haben, welche Bereicherung ein alternativer Weg, ein anderer Blickwinkel oder das Hineindenken in andere Tätigkeitsfelder sein kann.

Christine Tröstrum (CT): Das Durchschnittsalter der Campus-Teilnehmer liegt bei 30-32 Jahren. Vor zwei Jahren haben wir aber auch einen 57-jährigen Filmemacher ausgewählt, der lange Jahre als Fotograf und Journalist gearbeitet hatte, bevor er anfing, erfolgreiche Drehbücher zu schreiben. Für uns galt er daher als Nachwuchstalent, und wir wollten ihm die Gelegenheit geben, beim Campus sein neues Script weiterzuentwickeln.
Es war schon immer Ziel des Campus, Dinge neu zu betrachten und in die Zukunft zu denken. Oder einfach den Blickwinkel zu ändern. Wir richten diese Aufforderung nicht nur an die Talente, sondern wollen auch etablierte Filmemacher zu einem Perspektivenwechsel einladen.

Experten wie Michel Reilhac, Direktor von ARTE France Cinéma, teilen ihr Wissen mit den Talenten.

MWK: Für erfahrene Profis, deren Filme zum Beispiel auf großen Festivals wie der Berlinale liefen und die bereits oft als Experten oder zu Panels eingeladen worden sind, ist der Campus auch eine Art Türöffner.
Sie haben die Gelegenheit, sich One-on-One mit den Teilnehmern zu treffen, anstatt vor einem anonymen Publikum zu sprechen. Dabei merken sie, dass die Talente keineswegs unerfahrene Studenten sind, sondern ernstzunehmende Filmemacher. Insofern eröffnet diese Begegnung nicht nur den Talenten, sondern auch den Experten neue Perspektiven. Sie sehen, dass die jungen Leute ein klares Ziel verfolgen – und gegebenenfalls für eine zukünftige Zusammenarbeit in Betracht kommen.

CT: Wir haben erstmalig junge Verleiher aufgefordert, sich zu bewerben. Auch das bedeutet für uns „Changing Perspectives“. Der Campus hat sich in den letzten Jahren vor allem auf die Bereiche Development, Pre-Produktion und Produktion fokussiert. Uns ist es aber ebenso wichtig, dass sogenannte „Festivalfilme“ im Anschluss an ihre erfolgreiche Festivalkarriere in verschiedenen Ländern ins Kino kommen und ein breites Publikum finden.

MWK: Es geht eben nicht nur darum, Nachwuchsfilmemacher mit etablierten Filmschaffenden zusammenzubringen, damit diese gemeinsam Filme entwickeln, produzieren und finanzieren, sondern auch darum, ein Publikum für die Filme zu finden. Die Talente müssen sich mit der Frage auseinandersetzen: Für wen will ich Filme machen? Der Fokus der Industrie liegt schließlich auf der Verwertung des Produktes – das versuchen wir zu vermitteln.

Das Team vom Berlinale Talent Campus #10

Neue Verwertungsmöglichkeiten, finanzielle und crossmediale Experimente

Wie gehen die Verleiher mit den Veränderungen, die sich in ihrem Tätigkeitsfeld ergeben haben, um?

MWK: Wir möchten von den Nachwuchsverleihern, die wir aus unterschiedlichen Teilen der Welt zum nächsten Campus eingeladen haben, erfahren, mit welchen Schwierigkeiten sie zu kämpfen haben und welche neuen Distributionswege oder -strukturen entstanden sind. Auf dem Campus sollen sich die Talente untereinander austauschen, aber auch mit etablierten Verleihfirmen in Kontakt kommen. Von gestandenen Produzenten und Verleihern hören wir immer wieder, wie schwierig es in der Branche ist, geeignete Nachwuchskräfte bzw. Personen mit innovativen Ideen zu finden. Die Verleihindustrie hat sich von Grund auf geändert, und niemand weiß so richtig, wo es in Zukunft hingeht.

CT: Wir wollen die Auswertungsketten, die durch Video on Demand und den Einfluss von anderen digitalen Möglichkeiten diffus geworden sind, neu ordnen. Wird VoD für die Filmverwertung bestimmend sein? Wird es in 10 Jahren überhaupt noch eine Kinoauswertung geben? Wie arbeiten Produzent, Regisseur und Verleiher heute zusammen? Was muss ein Regisseur, der die Rechte selbst behält, über Auswertung und Vertrieb wissen?
Bereits in den letzten Jahren haben wir Erfolgsmodelle vorgestellt, die durch neue Verwertungsmöglichkeiten im Internet geschaffen wurden. In der nächsten Campus-Ausgabe wollen wir weitere Entwicklungen aufzeigen und den Schwerpunkt vertiefen.

Nicht nur die Verleiherlandschaft hat sich durch das Internet gewandelt, sondern auch im Produktionsbereich eröffnen sich neue Perspektiven, zum Beispiel durch Crowdfunding. Ist die Finanzierung von kreativen Projekten mittels der Netznutzer ein Zukunftsmodell, das auch in Europa privaten Geldgebern oder staatlichen Förderinstitutionen gleichzukommen vermag?

CT: Gleichkommen wohl nicht; das wird eher eine Ergänzung sein. Es gibt vor allem in den USA sehr erfolgreiche, alternativ finanzierte Projekte, da es dort keine vergleichbaren staatlichen Förderstrukturen wie in Europa gibt. Aber auch in vielen anderen Ländern ist es nicht mehr so einfach, Fördermittel für Projektentwicklungen zu bekommen. Die Zahl der Produktionen hat sich derart vervielfacht, dass Filmemacher neue Finanzierungswege finden müssen, um ihre Filme realisieren zu können. Für den Campus planen wir zukünftig eine Kooperation mit einer Crowdfunding-Plattform aus den USA. Die Talente können die Dokumentar- und Spielfilmprojekte, die wir für die Doc&Script Station ausgewählt haben, auf diesem Finanzierungs-Portal mit dem Ziel veröffentlichen, ein bestimmtes Budget in einem festgelegten Zeitraum zu erreichen. Das ist für uns selbst ein sehr spannendes Experiment.

Dreh des Films Five Ways to Kill a Man für den Berlin Today Award 2012

Der Talent Campus hat seit jeher ein besonderes Augenmerk auf technologische Neuerungen gerichtet. Die Digitalisierung des Filmemachens nimmt auch auf den künstlerischen Prozess Einfluss.
Eröffnen sich dadurch neue Möglichkeiten des Geschichtenerzählens in der Praxis? Welche Entwicklungen möchtet ihr da aufgreifen?

CT: Ausgangspunkt sollte immer sein, eine gute und spannende Geschichte zu erzählen. In den letzten Jahren sind mittels digitaler Welten und Technologien jedoch völlig neue Erzählformen entstanden. Seit Jahren diskutieren wir mit den Talenten, welche neuen Möglichkeiten im Bereich Crossmedia entstehen. Crossmedia- oder Transmedia-Projekte setzen Erzählstrukturen voraus, an denen die Nutzer, das Publikum, als Kommentatoren oder Mitautoren oftmals beteiligt sind; es werden z.B. parallel Live-Events veranstaltet oder Kurzfilme gedreht. Auch der Bildungsbereich ist für solche Projekte attraktiv, zum Beispiel für Kindermedien oder Fremdsprachenkurse. Wir glauben, dass vor allem Dokumentarfilmprojekte für crossmediale Erzählweisen geeignet sind und neue Zuschauer auf verschiedenen Plattformen gewonnen werden können. Auf dem Campus 2012 werden wir erstmalig fertig gestellte Crossmedia-Projekte präsentieren und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem IDFA Doclab aus Amsterdam präsentieren.
Am Ende hat die Nutzung neuer digitaler Formate natürlich auch wieder mit dem Thema Vertrieb und Distribution zu tun: Wie und wo finde ich neue Zielgruppen für mein Filmprojekt?

Der iranische Filmemacher Raffi Pitts bei der Veranstaltung "Censored Cinema" 2011

Filme als politisches Mittel und Spiegel gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen

Eine grundlegende Bedeutung hat die Meinungsäußerung im Internet sowie die Online-Verbreitung von Filmen und Videos, wenn es um politische Entwicklungen in Schwellenländern geht. Welche Regionen sind für Euch derzeit spannend?

MWK: Während der letzten Berlinale gab es aufgrund der Urteile gegen Jafar Panahi und Mohammad Rasoulof einen starken Fokus auf den Iran, und auch wir beim Campus haben uns mit dem Thema „Zensur und Kino“ beschäftigt. Im kommenden Februar ist es uns ein Anliegen zu beleuchten, welche gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen durch Filme entstehen können und wie eine neue Generation von Filmemachern in diesem Prozess weiterhin eine entscheidende Rolle spielt. Die arabische Welt ist eine Region, in der immens viel in Bewegung gekommen ist und über die in den Medien weltweit ein intensiver Diskurs entstanden ist. Filmisch ist sie interessant, weil sich die Bewegtbilder mehr oder weniger direkt und deutlich als Spiegel der politischen Prozesse verstehen lassen. Beim Talent Campus wollen wir die aktuelle Entwicklung in den arabischen Ländern aufgreifen und darüber hinaus aber auch zeigen, was sich im Zuge eines gesellschaftlichen Aufbruches in anderen Regionen oder Ländern der Welt geändert hat. Wir möchten zeigen, in wieweit Filme dazu beitragen, die aktuellen Ereignisse begreifbar zu machen und die Vergangenheit aufzuarbeiten. Außerdem werden wir neue afrikanische oder karibische Initiativen vorstellen, die beabsichtigen die Kräfte der lokalen Filmindustrie zu bündeln, sich gegenseitig zu unterstützen und nach außen verstärkt gemeinsam aufzutreten.

Beim “Dine & Shine Talents Rendezvous” treffen Talente auf Gäste der Berlinale und Experten.

Rückblick auf 10 Jahre Talent Campus und Ratschläge für die Zukunft

Der Talent Campus feiert 2012 sein zehnjähriges Jubiläum. Welche Entwicklungslinien zeichnen sich ab, wenn ihr die letzten Jahre Revue passieren lasst?

CT: Unsere Arbeit ist konkreter geworden. Der Begriff des globalen Dorfes trifft auf den Campus im positiven Sinn zu. So haben wir zum Beispiel internationale Koproduktionen gefördert, sei es durch Förderpreise, die wir mit unseren Partnern initiiert haben, oder durch unseren Kurzfilmwettbewerb, den Berlin Today Award. Wir haben das Interesse der Industrie am internationalen Nachwuchs geweckt und die Zusammenarbeit zielgerichtet gefördert, natürlich auch unter den Nachwuchsfilmemachern. Wir laden die etablierten Filmemacher nicht nur zum Campus ein, damit die Teilnehmer von deren Erfahrungen profitieren können, sondern wollen umgekehrt aufzeigen, dass die junge Generation sehr viel zu sagen und zu geben hat. Ich kann mich noch gut erinnern, wie schwer es früher war, als Branchen-Newcomer Kontakte mit etablierten Filmschaffenden zu knüpfen. Da gab es schon eine gewisse Arroganz. Dem versuchen wir durch eine Art Demokratisierung entgegenzuwirken. Vor vier Jahren haben wir z. B. das Dine & Shine-Format entwickelt, ein Dinner für 430 Gäste, bei dem wir Gäste von der Berlinale mit den Talenten zusammenbringen. Mittlerweile erhalten wir schon im Sommer die ersten Anfragen für das Dine & Shine Event von etablierten Produzenten, Förderern und Verleihern.
Noch vor 10 Jahre hatte das Wort Networking eine ganz andere Bedeutung. Ähnlich der Entwicklungen in der virtuellen Welt, beeinflusst durch Web 2.0, online Business-Portale, und jüngst die sozialen Netzwerke, haben sich vergleichbare flache Hierarchien und Communitys auch in der realen Welt gebildet.

MWK: Darüber hinaus hat sich der Campus mittlerweile verstärkt als eine Plattform für Projektentwicklung profiliert. Natürlich ist ein Programm von sechs Tagen zu kurz um Filmprojekte ausreichend weiterzuentwickeln. Aber dadurch, dass der Campus am Anfang des Jahres eine sehr dichte Atmosphäre bietet, in der alle offen sind für neue Impulse und frische Ideen, verstehen viele Nachwuchsfilmemacher den Campus als einen Ort der Orientierung und Entscheidungsfindung. Diesen Anspruch hat der Campus auch für die Zukunft: wir möchten aufstrebende und etablierte Filmprofis nicht nur zusammenbringen, sondern dazu beizutragen, dass die Talente inhaltlich von dem Treffen profitieren und mit ihren Projekten einen entscheidenden Schritt vorankommen.

Die Eröffnungsveranstaltung greift das Thema des zehnten Campus auf: “Changing Perspectives“. In der heutigen Zeit verläuft kaum eine Erwerbsbiographie geradlinig. Welchen Ratschlag könnt Ihr den Talenten mit auf den Weg geben? Kommt es als junger Filmemacher darauf an, seine Ziele konzentriert zu verfolgen, oder vielmehr darauf, sich ergebende Gelegenheiten zu nutzen?

MWK: Ein Ratschlag wäre, stets offen zu sein für Neues, sich nicht zu sehr auf die eigene Sache zu fokussieren, sondern die Energie und Konzentration zu haben, die Anregungen und das Feedback, das man von anderen bekommt, anzuhören und ernst zu nehmen. Der Input von allen Seiten kann – gerade auf dem Campus – nicht nur überwältigend und manchmal sogar beängstigend sein, sondern sich als sehr fruchtbar erweisen, um neue Ideen zu bekommen und sein Projekt auf eine andere Art und Weise weiterzuentwickeln. Für die meisten unserer Nachwuchstalente eröffnet der Campus buchstäblich eine neue Perspektive. Viele kommen zum ersten Mal nach Berlin, treffen hier Leute aus den unterschiedlichsten Ländern und erfahren dabei, dass sie nicht die einzigen sind, die in ihrem Land Schwierigkeiten haben, Stoffe zu entwickeln oder Filme zu realisieren. Nach dem Campus haben sie dann häufig eine ganze andere Sicht darauf, wie und mit wem sie an ihren Filmen weiter arbeiten wollen.