Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2009

Berlinale Talent Campus

Sep 17, 2008:
Suddenly, It All Happened - The turning point in close-up - Berlinale Talent Campus #7, February 7 – 12, 2009

Focus 2009: Turning Points

The Berlinale Talent Campus 2009 will address the theme: “Suddenly, It All Happened – The turning point in close-up”. Storytelling is one of the central aspects of successful filmmaking and is as old as humanity itself. Stories have always connected people to their culture. It is a communication medium used to influence others, to seduce, convince or even manipulate them. It can explain certain things or keep people and events from fading in our memories. Successful films and compelling stories thrive on turning points, events that give a plot a new and critical direction. These turning points can make the film experience unique and overwhelming. However they are not only responsible for shaping a successful plot development, they also play a central part on other levels of filmmaking. Whether actor, cinematographer, editor or composer – everyone will face a turning point in the creative process and deal with its aftermath. The Berlinale Talent Campus, which for some participants is a turning point in their career, will focus in 2009 on turning points as a driving force in filmmaking and will illuminate every facet of the fascinating effect they can have.

The application deadline for the Berlinale Talent Campus is October 8, 2008. Producers, directors, actors, cinematographers, screenwriters, editors, production designers, film music composers, sound designers, film journalists and visual artists from all over the world are invited to apply online through the Campus website, www.berlinale-talentcampus.de.

New Programme Manager of the Campus: Matthijs Wouter Knol

The Berlinale Talent Campus has a new Programme Manager: Matthijs Wouter Knol. Starting September 2008, he will be responsible for the general direction of the Campus, in collaboration with Christine Tröstrum, who has been part of the Campus management team since 2004. Matthijs Wouter Knol was a producer for the internationally renowned production company Pieter van Huystee Film, where he was Head of Development since 2004. During his time there, he developed over 30 documentary films, with Heddy Honigmann and Peter Delpeut amongst others, and produced the DVD edition of Johan van der Keuken’s digitally re-mastered collected works. Knol has been working since 2007 for the International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam (IDFA), spreading his activity between the co-production market and the IDFAcademy training programme, which he directed. “Connecting young talents eager to learn with experienced filmmakers willing to share their knowledge is what really makes my clock tick. The Campus is a unique network for international filmmaking and I look forward to working together with Christine Tröstrum to promote this initiative to the fullest.”

Dorothee Wenner, who directed the previous two editions of the Campus, will dedicate more time to filmmaking and film production in the future. She will remain close to the Berlinale: as a member of the selection committee for the Forum, as a delegate for sub-Saharan Africa and India, as well as in the curation of the programme for the Berlinale Talent Campus #7.

Press Office

September 17, 2008

press@berlinale-talentcampus.de

The Berlinale Talent Campus is an initiative of the Berlin International Film Festival, a business division of the Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, in co-operation with MEDIA - Training programme of the European Union, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, Skillset and UK Film Council as well as Volkswagen.

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2009

Berlinale Talent Campus

17.09.2008:
Suddenly, It All Happened - The turning point in close-up - Berlinale Talent Campus #7 vom 7. - 12. Februar 2009

Fokus 2009: Turning Points

Der Berlinale Talent Campus 2009 steht unter dem Thema: „Suddenly, It All Happened - The turning point in close-up”. Storytelling, das Erzählen von Geschichten, ist eine der zentralen Säulen erfolgreichen Filmschaffens und so alt wie die Menschheit selbst. Das Geschichtenerzählen verbindet seit jeher Menschen und ihre Kulturen. Als kommunikatives Mittel wird es genutzt, um andere zu beeindrucken, zu verführen, zu überzeugen, aber auch zu manipulieren, Dinge zu erklären oder Menschen und Geschehnisse vor dem Vergessen zu bewahren. Erfolgreiche Filme und fesselnde Erzählungen leben von Wendepunkten, Ereignissen, die der Handlung eine neue, entscheidende Richtung geben. Diese Turning Points können das Filmerlebnis zu einer einzigartigen, überwältigenden Erfahrung machen. Doch sie sind nicht nur für die Entwicklung eines gelungenen Plots verantwortlich, sondern spielen auf allen Ebenen des Filmemachens eine zentrale Rolle. Ob Schauspieler, Kameraleute, Cutter oder Komponisten – sie alle sehen sich mit Wendepunkten im kreativen Prozess konfrontiert und müssen sich mit ihren Wirkungsweisen auseinandersetzen. Der Berlinale Talent Campus, für manche Teilnehmer bereits selbst ein Wendepunkt in ihrer Karriere, rückt in 2009 die Turning Points als treibende Kraft des Filmschaffens in seinen Fokus und wird ihr faszinierendes Wirken in all seinen Facetten beleuchten.

Die Bewerbungsfrist für den Berlinale Talent Campus endet am 8. Oktober 2008. Produzenten, Regisseure, Schauspieler, Kameraleute, Drehbuchautoren, Filmcutter, Production Designer, Filmkomponisten, Sound Designer, Filmjournalisten und Visual Artists aus aller Welt sind eingeladen, sich online auf der Campus-Website
www.berlinale-talentcampus.de zu bewerben.

Neuer Programm-Leiter des Campus: Matthijs Wouter Knol

Der Berlinale Talent Campus hat einen neuen Programm-Leiter: Matthijs Wouter Knol. Er wird ab September 2008 gemeinsam mit Christine Tröstrum, die seit 2004 im Leitungs-Team des Campus arbeitet, die Gesamtleitung des Campus übernehmen. Matthijs Wouter Knol war für die international renommierte Amsterdamer Produktionsfirma Pieter van Huystee Film als Produzent tätig - ab 2004 als Head of Development. Dort entwickelte er über 30 Dokumentarfilme, u.a. mit Heddy Honigmann und Peter Delpeut und produzierte die DVD-Edition von Johan van der Keukens digital überarbeitetem Gesamtwerk. Seit 2007 arbeitete Knol für das Internationale Dokumentarfilmfestival Amsterdam (IDFA), wo er den Co-Produktionsmarkt mitverantwortete und das Trainingsprogramm IDFAcademy leitete. „Es begeistert mich, junge wissbegierige Talente mit erfahrenen Filmemachern zusammenzubringen und ihnen ein Forum des kreativen Austauschs und Lernens zu bieten. Der Campus ist ein einzigartiges Netzwerk internationalen Filmschaffens und ich freue mich sehr darauf, diese Initiative gemeinsam mit Christine Tröstrum weiter voranzubringen.“

Dorothee Wenner, die den Campus in den vergangenen beiden Jahren leitete, wird sich zukünftig wieder verstärkt dem Filmemachen und der Filmproduktion zuwenden. Sie bleibt der Berlinale weiterhin eng verbunden: als Mitglied im Auswahlkomitee des Forums, Delegierte für Subsahara Afrika und Indien, sowie als Programm-Kuratorin für den Berlinale Talent Campus #7.

Press Office

17. September 2008

press@berlinale-talentcampus.de

Der Berlinale Talent Campus ist eine Initiative der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, gefördert vom Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages, in Kooperation mit MEDIA - Trainingsprogramm der Europäischen Union, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, Skillset und UK Film Council sowie Volkswagen.