Perspektive Deutsches Kino | Awards

Feb 01, 2023
Juries for Perspektive Deutsches Kino 2023

Die Kompass-Perspektive-Jury 2023: Dela Dabulamanzi, Anne Fabini and Jöns Jönsson

From the ten feature films and documentaries of Perspektive Deutsches Kino, two juries will determine the winner of the Compass-Perspektive-Award, endowed with 5,000 Euros, and the Heiner Carow Prize for the Promotion of German Cinematic Art, endowed with 5,000 Euros, which is awarded by the DEFA Foundation to a specialist talent from Perspektive Deutsches Kino. The Compass-Perspektive Jury also awards the Kompagnon Fellowship to a new film project that shows great promise.

The Compass-Perspektive and Kompagnon Fellowship Jury:

Dela Dabulamanzi completed training as an actor in Berlin. She has appeared in Almania, Sag du es mir, Druck, Beat, Die Drei Fragezeichen and Para – Wir sind King, among others. As a theatre actor, she was responsible for productions with the Label Noir collective, such as the play “Heimat, bittersweet Heimat”, which attracted attention for featuring the first full Black cast on a German stage, as well as the series “Die Gelegenheit” (The Opportunity) by Afro-diasporic authors. She has also worked as a dubbing artist for Orange Is the New Black, Django Unchained and Black Panther and for computer games such as “Assassins Creed” and “Cyber Punk”.

Anne Fabini edits documentaries and feature films. She received the German Film Award for the 2019 Oscar-nominated documentary Of Fathers and Sons. The documentary Writing With Fire, which she also edited, won 34 international awards and was Oscar-nominated in 2021. To the Death of My Mother premiered in the Encounters competition of the 2022 Berlinale. Anne Fabini has received many nominations for her work, and was awarded the German Film Critics’ Prize in 2013. She is a member of the German, European and American film academies.

Swede Jöns Jönsson began his studies of direction at the Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF, Germany, in 2006. His short film Havet screened in the competition of the 2009 Berlinale Shorts programme. His feature debut Lamento won the FIRST STEPS Award and premiered in Perspektive Deutsches Kino in 2014. His most recent film Axiom was selected for the Encounters section in 2022.

Jury for the Heiner Carow Prize:

Freya Arde is a film composer, guitarist and music producer. Her recent work includes the documentary The Corridors of Power, as well as My Extraordinary Summer with Tess, which premiered at the Berlinale in 2019. Arde studied guitar and composition in Dresden, Paris and at the Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF. In 2016 she won the German Film Music Award as best newcomer; since then she has written music for more than 20 feature films, series and documentaries.

Peter Kahane, born in Prague in 1949, studied at Babelsberg Film Academy from 1974 to 1979, after which he was a director at DEFA. His last DEFA film, Die Architekten (The Architects), is an authentic depiction of the attitude to life in a declining country. After 1989 he wrote screenplays and continued to direct. Films he has made for the cinema include Bis zum Horizont und weiter (To the Horizon and Beyond), Tamara, Die rote Zora (Red Zora) and Als wir die Zukunft waren (When We Were the Future).

Mirko Wiermann studied theatre and film at Freie Universität Berlin from 2005 to 2012. Between 2008 and 2016 he was a research assistant at the Zeughaus cinema attached to the Deutsches Historisches Museum Berlin, also working for the Deutsche Kinemathek and in the Retrospective of the Berlin International Film Festival. He has been part of the DEFA Foundation team since March 2016.

The programme of Perspektive Deutsches Kino can be found in the press release dated 9 January 2023.

Press Office
February 1, 2023