Pedro Lemebel’s sharp-tongued, poetic texts and provocative performances made him one of South America’s most important contemporary artists. In dictatorial Chile under Pinochet, Lemebel expressed things that only few dared to say. Even for the country’s left-wing opposition, his camp, eccentric appearances made him an awkward figure as he held up the mirror to their own machismo and homophobia. Loud and open, he embodied and propagated an uncomfortable gay identity and vehemently criticised the desire of some ‘gays’ to be assimilated into a heteronormative society.
Joanna Reposi Garibaldi uses countless slides and video clips to shape this essay-like memento which is multilayered in both its visuals and its content and possesses a subtle sound design. She has enhanced it with intimate recordings and interviews. By projecting images of Lemebel’s performances onto public buildings, she not only underscores their character as interventions in public spaces, but also creates unusual additional visual levels for her film. Lemebel portrays a tireless fighter who continued to speak out right up until the end of his life.
by Joanna Reposi Garibaldi
with Pedro Lemebel
Chile / Colombia 2019 Spanish,  Subtitles: English 96’ Colour World premiere Documentary form

With

  • Pedro Lemebel

Crew

Written and directed byJoanna Reposi Garibaldi
CinematographyNiles Atallah
EditingTiti Viera-Gallo Chadwick
MusicCamilo Salinas
Sound DesignRoberto Espinoza
Production DesignPaula Sáenz-Laguna
TextsManuel Maira
Archival ResearchMatías Valdivia
Assistant DirectorLissette Orozco
ProducerPaula Sáenz-Laguna
Executive ProducerJoanna Reposi Garibaldi
Co-producerNatalia del Pilar González Beltrán
Co-productionSeñal Colombia, Bogotá

Produced by

Solita Producciones

Santiago de Chile, Chile

+56 994 196550

www.solita.cl/ www.solita.cl/

World sales

Compañía de Cine & Kino Rebelde

Buenos Aires, Argentina

+54 911 34002718

companiadecine.wixsite.com/cdcine companiadecine.wixsite.com/cdcine

Joanna Reposi Garibaldi

This filmmaker and visual artist was born in Santiago de Chile in 1971 and studied art at Goldsmiths College, University of London. Her short film Sam & Dave premiered at the Institute of Contemporary Art in London; her debut feature film, Locos del Alma, screened at numerous international festivals. In 2017, she made the short film Matriz, which was shown in the Museo de Arte Contemporáneo in Santiago de Chile and at the Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement in Buenos Aires.

Filmography

2002 Sam & Dave; short film 2003 Locos del alma (Soul Madness) 2017 Matriz; short film

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Dates

Feb 08 22:30

CineStar 7

Ticket code 080274

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 12 20:00

CineStar 7

Ticket code 120275

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 13 14:30

CineStar 7

Ticket code 130274

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 15 14:30

CineStar 7

Ticket code 150274

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 16 17:30

Cubix 7

Ticket code 160873

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter

Mit seinen scharfzüngigen, poetischen Texten und seinen provokanten Performances gehörte Pedro Lemebel zu den wichtigsten zeitgenössischen Künstlern Südamerikas. Im diktatorisch geführten Chile unter Pinochet sprach er Dinge aus, die sonst nur wenige zu sagen wagten. Aber auch der linken Opposition wurde er durch seine tuntig-exzentrischen Auftritte ungemütlich, spiegelte er doch dadurch deren eigenen Machismo und Homophobie. Laut und offen lebte und propagierte er ein unbequemes Schwulsein und kritisierte vehement den Wunsch einiger „gays“ nach Assimilation an eine heteronormative Gesellschaft.
Inhaltlich und visuell vielschichtig und mit subtilem Sound Design verarbeitet Joanna Reposi Garibaldi zahllose Dias und Videomitschnitte zu einem essayhaften Erinnerungsstück, das sie mit intimen Aufnahmen und Interviews anreichert. Indem sie Bilder von Lemebels Performances auf öffentliche Gebäude projiziert, unterstreicht sie nicht nur deren Charakter als Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum, sondern schafft auch ungewöhnliche zusätzliche visuelle Ebenen. Lemebel ist das Porträt eines unermüdlichen Kämpfers, der bis an sein Lebensende seine Stimme erhob.
von Joanna Reposi Garibaldi
mit Pedro Lemebel
Chile / Kolumbien 2019 Spanisch,  Untertitel: Englisch 96’ Farbe Weltpremiere Dokumentarische Form

Mit

  • Pedro Lemebel

Stab

Regie, BuchJoanna Reposi Garibaldi
KameraNiles Atallah
MontageTiti Viera-Gallo Chadwick
MusikCamilo Salinas
Sound DesignRoberto Espinoza
Production DesignPaula Sáenz-Laguna
TexteManuel Maira
ArchivrechercheMatías Valdivia
RegieassistenzLissette Orozco
Produzent*inPaula Sáenz-Laguna
Executive ProducerJoanna Reposi Garibaldi
Co-Produzent*inNatalia del Pilar González Beltrán
Co-ProduktionSeñal Colombia, Bogotá

Produktion

Solita Producciones

Santiago de Chile, Chile

+56 994 196550

www.solita.cl/ www.solita.cl/

Weltvertrieb

Compañía de Cine & Kino Rebelde

Buenos Aires, Argentinien

+54 911 34002718

companiadecine.wixsite.com/cdcine companiadecine.wixsite.com/cdcine

Joanna Reposi Garibaldi

Die Filmemacherin und bildende Künstlerin wurde 1971 in Santiago de Chile geboren. Sie studierte Kunst am Goldsmiths College der University of London. Ihr Kurzfilm Sam & Dave wurde am Institute of Contemporary Art in London uraufgeführt, ihr Langfilmdebüt Locos del Alma lief auf mehreren internationalen Festivals. 2017 drehte sie den Kurzfilm Matriz, der im Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Santiago de Chile und bei der Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement in Buenos Aires gezeigt wurde.

Filmografie

2002 Sam & Dave; Kurzfilm 2003 Locos del alma (Soul Madness) 2017 Matriz; Kurzfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Termine

Fr 08.02. 22:30

CineStar 7

Ticketcode 080274

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Di 12.02. 20:00

CineStar 7

Ticketcode 120275

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Mi 13.02. 14:30

CineStar 7

Ticketcode 130274

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Fr 15.02. 14:30

CineStar 7

Ticketcode 150274

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Sa 16.02. 17:30

Cubix 7

Ticketcode 160873

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse