Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama Dokumente

Shooting the Mafia

## ## ## ## ##

For a long time, the mafia ruled Sicily unchecked, and their crimes were invisible to the world. This changed in the 1970s, when Letizia Battaglia became Italy’s first photojournalist to document the brutal murders and the profound influence of the mafia. Her black-and-white images appear timeless and have lost none of their impact. In order to actively fight the Cosa Nostra, Battaglia entered politics from 1985 to 1996; this was the time of the spectacular anti-mafia trials held by the examining magistrates Giovanni Falcone and Paolo Borsellino. In her private life, Battaglia broke with social conventions: after a marriage that ended in an early divorce, she lived a self-determined life with a series of younger lovers.
Up to now, director Kim Longinotto has always filmed her own observational documentaries. For this portrait however, she and her long-standing editor Ollie Huddleston found a new cinematic form: using carefully edited excerpts from Italian cult films, she illustrates the youth and memories of the fun-loving Letizia Battaglia, thus creating a counterweight to Battaglia’s grim photos of mafia crimes.

by
Kim Longinotto

Ireland / USA 2019

Italian, English

Documentary form
94’ · Colour & Black/White

With

Letizia Battaglia

Crew

Director
Kim Longinotto
Editing
Ollie Huddleston
Music
Ray Harman
Sound Design
Michelle Fingleton
Archival Research
Clare Stronge, Cristina Rajola, Guglielmo Parisani, Alessia Petitto, Elizabeth Klinck
Translation
Paola Uberti
Interviews
Maria Chiara Di Trapani
Producer
Niamh Fagan
Executive Producers
Dan Cogan, Jenny Raskin, Geralyn White Dreyfous, Regina K. Scully, Elena Foster, Lesley McKimm

Biography

Kim Longinotto

Born in London, UK in 1952, she studied cinematography and directing at the National Film and Television School in Beaconsfield. Since 1978, she has made numerous documentaries which focus above all on rebels and outsiders. Her work first screened in the Panorama Dokumente section in 2001 with Gaea Girls, about two girls in a Japanese training camp for wrestlers; Salma, about the lives of Muslim women in southern India, screened in Panorama in 2013. Her film Dreamcatcher won the World Cinema Documentary Directing Award at Sundance in 2015.

Filmography (documentaries)

1992 The Good Wife of Tokyo; co-director: Claire Hunt 1993 Dream Girls; co-director: Jano Williams 1995 Shinjuku Boys 1998 Divorce Iranian Style 2000 Gaea Girls; co-director: Jano Williams, Panorama 2001 Runaway; co-director: Ziba Mir Hosseini 2002 The Day I Will Never Forget 2005 Sisters in Law 2007 Hold me Tight, Let me Go 2008 Rough Aunties 2010 Pink Saris 2013 Salma; Panorama 2014 Love Is All: 100 Years of Love & Courtship 2015 Dreamcatcher

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Lunar Pictures

World sales

Charades
www.charades.eu

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama Dokumente

Shooting the Mafia

## ## ## ## ##

Lange regierte die Mafia auf Sizilien ungehindert, ihre Verbrechen waren für die Welt unsichtbar. Das änderte sich in den 1970er-Jahren, als Letizia Battaglia als erste Fotojournalistin Italiens die brutalen Morde und den tief greifenden Einfluss der Mafia zu dokumentieren begann. Die Schwarz-Weiß-Bilder wirken zeitlos und haben nichts von ihrer Wucht verloren. Um aktiv gegen die Cosa Nostra zu kämpfen, ging Battaglia von 1985 bis 1996, zur Zeit der spektakulären Anti-Mafia-Prozesse der Untersuchungsrichter Giovanni Falcone und Paolo Borsellino, in die Politik. Im Privatleben brach sie mit gesellschaftlichen Konventionen, lebte nach einer früh geschiedenen Ehe selbstbestimmt mit jeweils jüngeren Liebhabern.
Regisseurin Kim Longinotto, die bisher bei ihren beobachtenden Dokumentarfilmen selbst die Kamera führte, hat für dieses Porträt zusammen mit ihrem langjährigen Editor Ollie Huddleston eine für sie neue filmische Form gefunden: Mit sorgfältig komponierten Ausschnitten aus italienischen Kultfilmen illustriert sie die Jugend und die Erinnerungen der lebenslustigen Letizia Battaglia und schafft so einen Kontrapunkt zu deren beklemmenden Fotos von Mafiaverbrechen.

von
Kim Longinotto

Irland / USA 2019

Italienisch, Englisch

Dokumentarische Form
94’ · Farbe & Schwarz-Weiß

Mit

Letizia Battaglia

Stab

Regie
Kim Longinotto
Montage
Ollie Huddleston
Musik
Ray Harman
Sound Design
Michelle Fingleton
Archivrecherche
Clare Stronge, Cristina Rajola, Guglielmo Parisani, Alessia Petitto, Elizabeth Klinck
Übersetzung
Paola Uberti
Interviews
Maria Chiara Di Trapani
Produzent
Niamh Fagan
Ausführende Produzenten
Dan Cogan, Jenny Raskin, Geralyn White Dreyfous, Regina K. Scully, Elena Foster, Lesley McKimm

Biografie

Kim Longinotto

Geboren 1952 in London. Sie studierte Kamera und Regie an der National Film and Television School in Beaconsfield und realisierte seit 1978 zahlreiche Dokumentarfilme, in denen Rebell*innen und Outsider*innen im Fokus stehen. Mit Gaea Girls über zwei Mädchen in einem japanischen Trainingslager für Ringerinnen war sie 2001 erstmals in der Sektion Panorama Dokumente zu Gast. Salma, der vom Leben muslimischer Frauen in Südindien erzählt, lief 2013 im Panorama. Dreamcatcher wurde 2015 auf dem Sundance Film Festival mit dem Regiepreis im Bereich Internationaler Dokumentarfilm ausgezeichnet.

Filmografie (Dokumentarfilme)

1992 The Good Wife of Tokyo; Co-Regie: Claire Hunt 1993 Dream Girls; Co-Regie: Jano Williams 1995 Shinjuku Boys; Co-Regie: Jano Williams 1998 Divorce Iranian Style 2000 Gaea Girls; Co-Regie: Jano Williams, Panorama 2001 Runaway; Co-Regie: Ziba Mir Hosseini 2002 The Day I Will Never Forget 2005 Sisters in Law 2007 Hold me Tight, Let me Go 2008 Rough Aunties 2010 Pink Saris 2013 Salma; Panorama 2014 Love Is All: 100 Years of Love & Courtship 2015 Dreamcatcher

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Lunar Pictures

Weltvertrieb

Charades
www.charades.eu