Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

draußen

outside

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Homeless people, tramps, vagabonds and vagrants. Are they all the same idea? Or are they completely different? Sometimes the choice of words can help to change perspectives. The film draußen also adopts a different perspective by following four people living on the streets who own very little. Nothing they possess would ascribe them any apparent social status and yet everything they have is of value. Matze, Elvis, Filzlaus and Sergio are all survivors - and each of them is a real character. In order to hear their stories the two directors decided to adopt a particular strategy and concentrate instead on the items that their protagonists carry about with them. They asked them to open the door to their world by allowing them to take a look inside their plastic bags, pockets and shopping trollies, much as if they were entering someone’s home. The few objects that are to be found within contain a wealth of information and meaning. Charged with emotions and memories, these objects are no less than the fragments of their lives. In their conversations, the full import of these treasures begin to take shape.

by
Johanna Sunder-Plassmann
Tama Tobias-Macht

Germany 2018

German

Documentary form
80 min · Colour · 2K DCP

World premiere

Crew

Written and directed by
Johanna Sunder-Plassmann, Tama Tobias-Macht
Director of Photography
Sophie Maintigneux, Marie Zahir
Editing
Johanna Sunder-Plassmann, Tama Tobias-Macht
Editing Advisor
Daniela Kinateder
Sound Design
Tim Elzer, Karl Atteln
Sound
Filipp Forberg
Production Design
Johanna Sunder-Plassmann
Commissioning Editor
Sabine Rollberg
Production Manager
Igor Novic
Producer
Titus Kreyenberg
Co-production
WDR, Köln

Biography

Johanna Sunder-Plassmann

Born in Munich, Germany in 1983, she studied media art at the Saar College of Fine Arts and the Accademia di Belle Arti di Brera in Milan before taking up a film degree at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne in 2008. She has been working as a freelance director and exhibition designer for several museums including Orhan Pamuk’s Museum of Innocence.

Filmography (documentaries)

2014 Istanbul Collecting 2017 Blending In 2018 draußen (outside)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Tama Tobias-Macht

Born in Jerusalem, Israel in 1982. After studying photography at the Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design in the same city she took a film degree at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne. Since 2012 she has been working as a freelance director, editor and photographer. Her artistic work has won several prizes.

Filmography (documentaries)

2008 Passing Through Hansaring 2011 Lady Macht 2012 2000M² and a Garden 2017 Blending In 2018 draußen (outside)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

unafilm
unafilm.de

World sales

unafilm
unafilm.de

In collaboration with Arte

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

draußen

outside

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Obdachlose, Berber, Vagabunden, Nichtsesshafte. Alles das Gleiche? Oder völlig Unterschiedliches? Manchmal leisten bereits die Worte Hilfestellung für einen Perspektivwechsel. Auch draußen nimmt andere Perspektiven ein: Der Film begleitet vier Menschen, die auf der Straße leben und wenig besitzen. Darunter nichts, was gesellschaftlichen Status sichtbar machen könnte, und dennoch alles wertvoll. Matze, Elvis, Filzlaus und Sergio sind Überlebenskünstler und Persönlichkeiten. Um ihre Geschichten zu erfahren, verfolgen die beiden Regisseurinnen eine besondere Strategie: Sie konzentrieren sich auf die Gegenstände, die ihre Protagonisten bei sich tragen. Sie bitten sie, ihnen ihre Welt zu öffnen und einen Blick in ihre Plastiktüten, Taschen, Einkaufswagen zu gewähren, so, als würde man ein fremdes Haus betreten. Die Objekte darin enthalten — eben weil es nur so wenige sind — eine Fülle von Informationen und Bedeutungen, sind mit Emotionen und Erinnerungen aufgeladen, Bruchstücke von Lebensgeschichten. In Gesprächen nimmt diese Fülle Gestalt an. Wir berühren und werden berührt.

von
Johanna Sunder-Plassmann
Tama Tobias-Macht

Deutschland 2018

Deutsch

Dokumentarische Form
80 Min · Farbe · 2K DCP

Weltpremiere

Stab

Regie, Buch
Johanna Sunder-Plassmann, Tama Tobias-Macht
Kamera
Sophie Maintigneux, Marie Zahir
Schnitt
Johanna Sunder-Plassmann, Tama Tobias-Macht
Schnittberatung
Daniela Kinateder
Sound Design
Tim Elzer, Karl Atteln
Ton
Filipp Forberg
Szenenbild
Johanna Sunder-Plassmann
Redaktion
Sabine Rollberg
Production Manager
Igor Novic
Produzent
Titus Kreyenberg
Co-Produktion
WDR, Köln

Biografie

Johanna Sunder-Plassmann

Geboren 1983 in München. Sie studierte Freie Kunst (Bereich Medienkunst) an der Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Saar und an der Accademia di Belle Arti di Brera in Mailand, bevor sie 2008 ein Filmstudium an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln aufnahm. Sie hat als Ausstellungsgestalterin für Museen gearbeitet, unter anderem für Ohan Pamuks „Museum der Unschuld“ in Istanbul, das Deutsche Filmmuseum Frankfurt und das Märkische Museum Berlin. Seit 2013 auch freischaffende Regisseurin.

Filmografie (Dokumentarfilme)

2014 Istanbul Collecting 2017 Blending In 2018 draußen (outside)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Tama Tobias-Macht

Geboren 1982 in Jerusalem, Israel. Nach ihrem Fotografiestudium an der Bezalel Akademie für Kunst und Design in Jerusalem studierte sie Film an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln. Seit 2012 arbeitet sie als freischaffende Regisseurin, Editorin und Fotografin. Für ihre künstlerischen Arbeiten wurde sie mit mehreren Preisen ausgezeichnet.

Filmografie (Dokumentarfilme)

2008 Passing Through Hansaring 2011 Lady Macht 2012 2000M² and a Garden 2017 Blending In 2018 draußen (outside)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

unafilm
unafilm.de

Weltvertrieb

unafilm
unafilm.de

In Zusammenarbeit mit Arte