Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum Expanded

It

##

A blind man reports on an eclipse, a light phenomenon that he perceives through senses that do not involve sight. He takes us by the hand and guides us through the dark, through this temporary event that transforms the world as we know it. In the midst of the darkness comes a presence, visible at the sudden fall of nighttime till the sun inevitably rises again.
True to tradition, the camera captures what temporarily passes us by. It is akin to trying to project the sun into our home in order to admire and capture the great cosmic movements.
In this encounter between work by visual artists Anouk De Clercq and Tom Callemin, light and darkness also meet. Their respective worlds continually find themselves in the realm of the barely visible, in black-and-white, in the fascination with what light can reveal.

by
Anouk De Clercq
Tom Callemin

Belgium 2017

English

13’ · Black/White

World premiere

Crew

Written and directed by
Anouk De Clercq, Tom Callemin
Sound Design
Kwinten Van Laethem, Rémi Gerard
Sound
Kwinten Van Laethem, Rémi Gerard
Production Design
Thomas De Brabanter
Assistant Director
Jana Coorevits
Producer
Auguste Orts

Biography

Anouk De Clercq

Anouk De Clercq studied piano in Ghent and film at the Sint Lukas Brussels University College of Art and Design. Her works explore the audiovisual potential of computer language to create possible worlds, many of which have a strongly architectonic character. Her work has been shown in museums and festivals worldwide and she has received several awards. De Clercq is affiliated with the School of Arts University College Ghent as an artistic researcher and is a founding member of Auguste Orts.

Filmography

2001 Whoosh 2002 Sonar · Petit Palais · Portal 2003 Building 2004 Kernwasser Wunderland · Me+ · Conductor 2005 Pang 2007 Pixelspleen 2008 Motion for Newton 2009 Oops wrong planet 2010 Oh 2013 Swan Song · Tears of Melancholy · Thing 2015 Black 2016 Atlas 2017 It

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Tom Callemin

Tom Callemin, born in 1991 in Ostend, Belgium, lives and works in Ghent. He studied photography and fine arts and works as a visual artist in photography and video. His work has been awarded and shown in solo exhibitions and has been included in several international group shows.

Filmography

2012 Brieven aan Crayon 2013 Portrait #2 2015 Portrait #4 · Walk 2017 It

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Auguste Orts

World sales

Auguste Orts

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

It

##

Ein blinder Mann berichtet von einer Sonnenfinsternis, einem Lichtphänomen, das er durch andere Sinne als das Sehen wahrnimmt. Er nimmt uns bei der Hand und führt uns durch das Dunkel, durch dieses kurzzeitige Ereignis, das die Welt, wie wir sie kennen, verändert. Mitten in der Dunkelheit taucht eine Erscheinung auf, sichtbar während des plötzlichen Anbruchs der Nacht, bis die Sonne unweigerlich wieder aufgeht.
Traditionsgemäß fängt die Kamera ein, was flüchtig an uns vorüberzieht. Es ist, als wolle man die Sonne ins eigene Haus projizieren, um die großen kosmischen Bewegungen einzufangen und zu bewundern.
In der künstlerischen Begegnung von Anouk De Clercq und Tom Callemin treffen auch Licht und Dunkelheit aufeinander. Ihre jeweiligen Welten finden sich immer wieder im Bereich des kaum Sichtbaren, im Schwarz-Weiß, in der Faszination daran, was Licht offenbaren kann.

von
Anouk De Clercq
Tom Callemin

Belgien 2017

Englisch

13’ · Schwarz-Weiß

Weltpremiere

Stab

Regie, Buch
Anouk De Clercq, Tom Callemin
Sound Design
Kwinten Van Laethem, Rémi Gerard
Ton
Kwinten Van Laethem, Rémi Gerard
Production Design
Thomas De Brabanter
Regieassistenz
Jana Coorevits
Produzentin
Auguste Orts

Biografie

Anouk De Clercq

Anouk De Clercq hat Klavier in Ghent und Film am Sint Lukas Brussels University College of Art and Design studiert. Ihre Arbeiten, die das audiovisuelle Potential von Computersprache untersucht, mögliche Welten zu schaffen, haben oft einen architektonischen Charakter. Sie wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet und waren weltweit in Museen und auf Festivals zu sehen. De Clercq betreibt künstlerische Forschung an der School of Arts University College Ghent und ist Gründungsmitglied von Auguste Orts.

Filmografie

2001 Whoosh; 12 Min. 2002 Sonar; 2 Min. · Petit Palais; 15 Min. · Portal; 14 Min. 2003 Building; 12 Min. 2004 Kernwasser Wunderland; 14 Min. · Me+; 5 Min. · Conductor; 2 Min. 2005 Pang; Loop 2007 Pixelspleen; Loop 2008 Motion for Newton; Loop 2009 Oops wrong planet; 8 Min. 2010 Oh; 8 Min. 2013 Swan Song; 3 Min. · Tears of Melancholy; 2 Min. · Thing; 18 Min. 2015 Black; 5 Min. 2016 Atlas; 7 Min. 2017 It

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Tom Callemin

Tom Callemin, geboren 1991 in Ostende, Belgien, lebt und arbeitet in Ghent. Er hat Fotografie und Bildende Kunst studiert und arbeitet als Künstler mit den Medien Fotografie und Video. Seine Arbeit wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet und in internationalen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen gezeigt.

Filmografie

2012 Brieven aan Crayon; 40 Min. 2013 Portrait #2; Loop 2015 Portrait #4; 11 Min. · Walk; 4 Min. 2017 It

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Auguste Orts

Weltvertrieb

Auguste Orts