Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Berlinale Special

Viaje a los Pueblos Fumigados

A Journey to the Fumigated Towns

Reise in die vergifteten Dörfer

 

Fernando E. Solanas (Director), Victoria Solanas (Executive Producer)

Moderation: Louis Klamroth

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Fernando E. Solanas’ film opens with a series of startling images: in the province of Salta in northern Argentina, centuries-old forests are being cleared to make way for huge soya plantations. Indigenous farmers are being driven out of their villages and are no longer allowed to use the access roads that have now been privatised. Herbicides are being sprayed and diseases are spreading. These images form the starting point for this doyen of investigative documentary’s angry condemnation of state-sanctioned environmental crimes committed by industrial agriculture and their consequences. Solanas’ film investigates the social aftermath of monoculture and the uncontrolled use of weedkillers and other chemical substances. It shows how toxins that are spread on the fields are already having a devastating effect on the development of embryos. He also puts this toxification to the test by asking: how heavily poisoned is his own blood? At the same time, he explores ways in which we can break out of this vicious circle of a corrupt system in which consumers are deceived and regulation is eliminated. Do ecological alternatives have a chance?

by
Fernando E. Solanas

Argentina 2017

Spanish

Documentary form
97 min · Colour

World premiere

Crew

Written and directed by
Fernando E. Solanas
Director of Photography
Nicolás Sulcic, Fernando E. Solanas
Editor
Juan Carlos Macías, Alberto Ponce, Nicolás Sulcic, Fernando E. Solanas
Music
Mauro Lázzaro
Sound
Tomás Bauer
Assistant Director
Nicolás Sulcic
Producer
Fernando E. Solanas
Executive Producer
Victoria Solanas

Biography

Fernando E. Solanas

This director and screenwriter was born in Argentina in 1936 and studied theatre, music and law. Between 1966 and 1968 he worked on a documentary trilogy entitled ‘The Hour of the Furnaces’ which screened in over 70 countries. In 1976, after receiving death threats, he went into exile in Paris but returned to Buenos Aires in 1983. He won international awards for his films Tangos, the Exile of Gardel, South, The Journey and Clouds. In 2004 he was honoured with the Golden Bear for his lifetime’s achievement. In 2002 he began the documentary cycle of which A Journey to the Fumigated Towns is the closing film.

Filmography

1968 La hora de los Hornos (The Hour of the Furnaces); documentary 1975 Los hijos de Fierro 1985 Tangos, el exilio de Gardel (Tangos, the Exile of Gardel) 1988 Sur (South) 1992 El viaje (The Journey) 1998 La nube (Clouds) 2004 Memoria del saqueo (Social Genocide); documentary 2005 La dignidad de los nadies (The Dignity of the Nobodies); documentary 2007 Argentina latente (Latent Argentina); documentary 2008 La próxima estación (The Next Station); documentary 2009 Tierra sublevada: Oro impuro (Impure Gold); documentary 2011 Tierra sublevada: Oro negro (Black Gold); documentary 2013 La guerra del fracking (The Fracking War); documentary 2016 El legado (The Legacy); documentary 2018 Viaje a los Pueblos Fumigados (A Journey to the Fumigated Towns); documentary

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Cinesur

World sales

Wide House
widehouse.org/

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special

Viaje a los Pueblos Fumigados

A Journey to the Fumigated Towns

Reise in die vergifteten Dörfer

 

Fernando E. Solanas (Regisseur), Victoria Solanas (Ausführende Produzentin)

Moderation: Louis Klamroth

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Es sind erschreckende Bilder, die Fernando E. Solanas an den Beginn seines Films stellt: In Nordargentinien, in der Provinz Salta, werden jahrhundertealte Wälder gerodet, um riesigen Sojaplantagen zu weichen. Indigene Bauern vertreibt man aus ihren Dörfern, auch die privatisierten Zufahrtstraßen dürfen sie nicht mehr benutzen. Pflanzengifte werden versprüht, Krankheiten breiten sich aus. Für den Altmeister des investigativen Dokumentarfilms sind diese Aufnahmen der Ausgangspunkt eines zornigen Pamphlets gegen staatlich sanktionierte ökologische Verbrechen der industriellen Landwirtschaft und deren Folgen. Solanas untersucht die sozialen Konsequenzen der Monokultur wie auch der unkontrollierten Verwendung von Herbiziden und anderen chemischen Substanzen. Er zeigt, dass toxische Gifte, die über Feldern ausgebracht werden, bereits verheerenden Einfluss auf die Entwicklung von Embryonen haben. Und er macht die Probe aufs Exempel: Wie stark vergiftet ist das eigene Blut? Zugleich fragt er nach Möglichkeiten eines Ausbruchs aus dem Teufelskreis – aus einem korrupten System, in dem Konsumenten getäuscht und Kontrollen ausgeschaltet werden. Haben ökologische Alternativen eine Chance?

von
Fernando E. Solanas

Argentinien 2017

Spanisch

Dokumentarische Form
97 Min · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Stab

Regie, Buch
Fernando E. Solanas
Kamera
Nicolás Sulcic, Fernando E. Solanas
Schnitt
Juan Carlos Macías, Alberto Ponce, Nicolás Sulcic, Fernando E. Solanas
Musik
Mauro Lázzaro
Ton
Tomás Bauer
Regieassistenz
Nicolás Sulcic
Produzent
Fernando E. Solanas
Ausführende Produzentin
Victoria Solanas

Biografie

Fernando E. Solanas

Der Regisseur und Drehbuchautor, geboren 1936 in Argentinien, studierte Theater, Musik und Jura. Zwischen 1966 und 1968 arbeitete er an einer dokumentarischen Trilogie mit dem Titel „The Hour of the Furnaces“, die in über 70 Ländern gezeigt wurde. 1976 ging er nach Todesdrohungen ins Exil nach Paris, kehrte aber 1983 nach Buenos Aires zurück. Für seine Filmo Tangos, el exilio de Gardel, Sur, El viaje und La nube erhielt er weltweit Preise. 2004 wurde er mit dem Goldenen Bär für sein Lebenswerk geehrt. 2002 begann er einen dokumentarischen Zyklus, der mit Viaje a los Pueblos Fumigados schließt.

Filmografie

1968 La hora de los Hornos (The Hour of the Furnaces); Dokumentarfilm 1975 Los hijos de Fierro 1985 Tangos, el exilio de Gardel (Tangos, the Exile of Gardel) 1988 Sur (South) 1992 El viaje (The Journey) 1998 La nube (Clouds) 2004 Memoria del saqueo (Social Genocide); Dokumentarfilm 2005 La dignidad de los nadies (The Dignity of the Nobodies); Dokumentarfilm 2007 Argentina latente (Latent Argentina); Dokumentarfilm 2008 La próxima estación (The Next Station); Dokumentarfilm 2009 Tierra sublevada: Oro impuro (Impure Gold); Dokumentarfilm 2011 Tierra sublevada: Oro negro (Black Gold); Dokumentarfilm 2013 La guerra del fracking (The Fracking War); Dokumentarfilm 2016 El legado (The Legacy); Dokumentarfilm 2018 Viaje a los Pueblos Fumigados (A Journey to the Fumigated Towns); Dokumentarfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Cinesur

Weltvertrieb

Wide House
widehouse.org/