Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


NATIVe 2017: Cinema Born of the Icy Cold

In 2017 NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema is turning its gaze upon one of the most gravely threatened regions in the world: the Arctic. Climate change and the greed of industrialised nations are placing the people who live there under huge pressure. In this interview, curator Maryanne Redpath and project manager Anna Kalbhenn speak about the false image of the noble savage, Indigenous spirituality and storytelling in 42 cycles.

Kniga Tundry. Povest' o Vukvukaye –Malen'kom Kamne. by Rosie Bonnie Ammaaq

A special connection with nature appears to be a motif in almost all the films in the NATIVe programme. Kniga Tundry. Povest' o Vukvukaye - Malen'kom Kamne. (The Tundra Book. A Tale of Vukvukai - the Little Rock.) immediately caught my eye.

Maryanne Redpath: nature is always an important element in Indigenous cinema and especially in films from the Arctic because the people there must cope with such extreme cold. They are hunters, herders, nomads and have a strong connection to the land. The Tundra Book is a documentary which shows the Indigenous culture, a life with a sense of community, which has been pursued for generations on the Chukchi Peninsula in northern Russia. The film follows daily life as the seasons change from polar day to night. The family herd reindeer. It is a contemporary film in which the present is not idealised but is nevertheless depicted in deeply impressive images.

Anna Kalbhenn: You see an intact community – at least at first glance. In many places in the film, however, it becomes clear that there are also difficulties. For example, the children are collected and sent far away from home to school for ten months of the year. When they return to the tundra they are almost unable to cope with this world anymore because their know-how and, as they grow older, sometimes also their desire is missing.

Nowhere Land by Rosie Bonnie Ammaaq

Nowhere Land, in comparison, seems to me to be about the loss of the land...

AK: Nowhere Land is a Canadian short film. The director Rosie Bonnie Ammaaq is also the film’s protagonist. She tells us about her life – from childhood onwards. Climate change means her family can no longer remain on their ancestral lands on Baffin Island in Canada. The inhabitants have been resettled and now pursue an urban existence. Their traditions are being lost. Ammaaq shows the devastating consequences of the resettlement on her and her family.

MR: Nowhere Land is one of nine short films in the programme. They complement the feature films both in subject matter and form. Ammaaq shows the effects of climate change and the greed of industry which are both severely affecting the Arctic. Along with the impact of colonialism, they bear grave consequences for the people who still live in this region.

The films in the programme make it sound like Indigenous cultures live in harmony with nature rather than exploiting it. Is that the case?

MR: More than our consumer society does, if you want to make the comparison. But people often have a highly romanticised image of Indigenous cultures. Of course they live in a different way with nature than we do here in Berlin. But you shouldn't forget that not all Indigenous people live outside of cities. It is worth exploring their many diverse forms of living and seeking to understand the knowledge that has developed over many millennia – something which western people and researchers often find difficult. When someone says on account of their observations and their knowledge that nature is changing, we demand that this statement must be immediately, obsessively supported with facts and figures and measurements. Simply to listen and believe seems impossible.

Angry Inuk by Alethea Arnaquq-Baril

AK: The relationship between Indigenous cultures, nature and the rest of the world forms a complex interplay. This ambivalence is visible, for example, in the documentary Angry Inuk by Alethea Arnaquq-Baril. The industrialised nations have unquestionably had an effect on the realities of life for Inuit – but the opposite is also true. The sole source of income for many Inuit is the trade in sealskins, a by-product of their diet. They make clothing and jewellery from the pelts for their own use but also to sell. Environmental organisations, however, protest loudly against seal hunting. Inuit are still allowed to hunt them, but the trade embargo means they may no longer sell the skins and their products. Such interdependencies can only be understood from a global perspective. Not all Inuit in northern Canada want to live like they did thousands of years ago; instead, they want to participate in the global community. NATIVe is all about listening closely to Indigenous voices and taking them seriously. It is about offering them the opportunity to speak for themselves and to present their situation.

The Image of the Noble Savage

Especially in the Germany of Karl May, it appears that misunderstandings between the different cultures are a given. How great is the danger of false romanticising?

MR: Very great. And romanticising can quickly lead to the quest for a lost paradise and the projection of the idea of the so-called "noble savage". We must really watch out for this. In NATIVe we seek to achieve the opposite. The situation of Indigenous people is nowhere near as ideal as our own sense of longing tries to make us believe.

At the same time, the medium of cinema is virtually predestined to be a place for longing and projection. How do the films handle this?

AK: Cinema has always been a place of longing and it can remain so. Sometimes this is also in evidence in the NATIVe programme. However, the films are by no means romanticised depictions of an idyllic world. We show work made by Indigenous filmmakers – their aesthetics, artistic and narrative ambitions are equally as important to them as to any filmmaker. The focus is on the medium of film and how it can be utilised.

24 Snega (24 Snow) by Mikhail Barynin

Can indigenous cinema be described as a genre?

MR: "Indigenous Cinema" is a very new term and is not a genre in the proper sense. However, terminologies must always be worked with – it’s a tricky situation. In addition, the cultures are very different. In Greenland, for example, a very idiosyncratic and fresh film landscape is currently developing.

AK: We will be exploring this topic in the "Indigenous Cinema and the Mainstream" event where we will discuss the national differences between Indigenous film cultures with Indigenous producers and film institutes. Many Indigenous filmmakers, producers and directors question their place in the film industry and how they can gain recognition at national and international level. NATIVe is also running a stall at the European Film Market together with various partners. Many associated filmmakers and producers will go there to bring new projects and ideas to the market. This presence and participation at the EFM supports the place of Indigenous films in the international film industry.

The Absence of Violence

What strikes me about the programme - in view of other types of cinema in which colonialism plays a role – is the almost complete absence of violence. Why is that?

MR: The history of colonialism is a very violent history, even if it does not appear immediately at the heart of all the selected films. Sameblod (Sami Blood) by Amanda Kernell, for instance, is about a Sámi girl who is sent to a Swedish boarding school in the 1930s where she and her fellow pupils are measured for racial studies. This humiliating experience is one of the reasons why she wants to stop being Sámi and she takes a Swedish name. In this way, violence and oppression are manifested.

Half&half by Aka Hansen

AK: Identity is a central topic for many Indigenous people. In Half&half the director Aka Hansen, who is half-Danish, half-Greenlander and who lives in Copenhagen, addresses the prejudices which arise as soon as she mentions her heritage. Her questions are fundamental: what does identity mean? How does it feel to be a Greenlander? Do I by necessity have to choose between a traditional and urban way of life? However, there is actually little physical violence in the films – apart from in the short film Sikumi (On the Ice) by Andrew Okpeaha MacLean where a murder leads to a moral conflict: the character who witnesses the crime must decide between telling the truth and following the plea of the murderer to keep it to himself. When we were watching the selection screening of Angry Inuk, the director explained in her introduction the Inuit culture of conflict. It is a culture where conflict does not result in violence but instead has various rituals at its disposal to deal with it. The rivals meet each other with their drums, sing and make fun of their opponent – this lasts until everyone is laughing and unity is restored. A very different kind of culture of conflict; devoid of brutality. A quiet protest from our point of view.

No spiritual surrender

Another central motif is the special forms of spirituality...

AK: Yes, this motif has been with us from the start. Alongside the different relationship with nature, another hallmark of many Indigenous cultures is a special form of spirituality. We already witnessed this last year in our focus on Latin America. Shamanism, the existence, perception of and coexistence with spirits play a big part. Many Indigenous cultures take this as a given.

MR: Our title in the Berlinale Journal is "Everything is Connected". I think that sums up the perception of nature, religion and spirituality in Indigenous cultures. Since colonial times, Indigenous people have often blended religions, creating hybrids of Christian rituals and their original spirituality. This is not only the case in the Arctic but also in Latin America and other regions.

Johogoi Aiyy by Sergei Potapov

AK: A good example of the vitality of the myths that play a very big role in oral cultures is Johogoi Aiyy (God Johogoi). It depicts the Ysyakh summer festival in Sakha. The horse-god has a special place in the culture there because horses are the most important animals. The horse-god is as much a part of reality as the horse itself. His appearance before the protagonists, initiates the film’s love story in the first place. Director Sergei Potapov adroitly intertwines the different levels. The festival, the myth, the big love affair – everything comes seamlessly together. Such an interweaving of reality and spirituality can be found in many NATIVe films.

MR: It is extremely important for us to show these stories in NATIVe. Storytelling is a fundamental building block of all Indigenous cultures. Their narratives also allow them to resist. The forms in which they tell stories are extremely diverse, their structures and lengths vary. Indigenous narrative cultures often deviate greatly from our expectations of stories and dramaturgy. For a few years now the Sámi have been offering fellowships for young filmmakers so they can learn how their stories can be converted into film material. This can by no means be taken for granted because the form of their narratives is often not easy to transmit outside their communities. The Sámi, for example, tell stories in 42 cycles. From our perspective it may seem that they’re simply not getting to the point. How can a film be developed out of such cycles? That is a great challenge for Indigenous filmmakers around the world. In NATIVe we invite the filmmakers to Berlin. We offer them a forum for discussion on an equal footing. And we can learn an awful lot from them.

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


NATIVe 2017: Kino aus der Kälte

2017 lenkt NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema den Blick auf eine der am stärksten bedrohten Regionen der Welt: die Arktis. Klimawandel und die Gier der Industriestaaten machen den Menschen, die dort leben, unmittelbar zu schaffen. Im Interview sprechen die Kuratorin Maryanne Redpath und die Projektleiterin Anna Kalbhenn über das falsche Bild des edlen Wilden, indigene Spiritualität und das Erzählen in 42 Zyklen.

Kniga Tundry. Povest' o Vukvukaye –Malen'kom Kamne. von Rosie Bonnie Ammaaq

Der besondere Umgang mit der Umwelt scheint mir ein Motiv in fast allen Filmen des NATIVe-Programms. Kniga Tundry. Povest' o Vukvukaye –Malen'kom Kamne. (The Tundra Book. A Tale of Vukvukai - the Little Rock.) ist mir sofort aufgefallen.

Maryanne Redpath: Natur ist immer ein wichtiger Bestandteil von indigenem Kino und insbesondere von Filmen aus der Arktis, denn die Menschen müssen in dieser extremen Kälte überleben. Sie sind Jäger, Hirten, Nomaden und stark mit dem Land verbunden. The Tundra Book ist ein Dokumentarfilm und zeigt eine indigene Kultur, die im Norden Russlands auf der Tschuktschen-Halbinsel über Generationen hinweg ein Leben mit Sinn für die Gemeinschaft führt. Der Film führt durch den Alltag im Wechsel der Jahreszeiten, durch Polartag und -nacht. Die Familien arbeiten mit Rentieren. Ein aktueller Film, in dem die Gegenwart nicht idealisiert aber dennoch in beeindruckenden Bildern gezeigt wird.

Anna Kalbhenn: Man sieht eine intakte Gemeinschaft – zumindest auf den ersten Blick. Viele Stellen im Film deuten aber darauf hin, dass es auch Schwierigkeiten gibt. Zum Beispiel werden die Kinder abgeholt und weit weg von ihrem Zuhause für zehn Monate in die Schule geschickt. Wenn sie dann in die Tundra zurückkehren, können sie sich in dieser Welt kaum noch bewegen, weil ihnen das Wissen und, gerade in höherem Alter, manchmal auch der Wille dazu fehlt.

Nowhere Land von Rosie Bonnie Ammaaq

Nowhere Land hingegen scheint mir vom Verlust des Landes zu handeln…

AK: Nowhere Land ist ein kanadischer Kurzfilm. Die Regisseurin Rosie Bonnie Ammaaq ist gleichzeitig Protagonistin des Films. Sie erzählt von ihrem Leben - von Kindheit an. Aufgrund des Klimawandels konnte ihre Familie nicht in ihrer Heimatsiedlung auf Baffin Island in Kanada bleiben. Die Bewohner wurden umgesiedelt und leben jetzt ein urbanes Leben. Die Traditionen gehen verloren. Ammaaq zeigt, welch verheerenden Folgen die Umsiedelung für sie und ihre Familie hat.

MR: Nowhere Land ist einer von neun Kurzfilmen im Programm. Sie ergänzen die Spielfilme inhaltlich und formal. Ammaaq zeigt die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels und die Gier der Industrie. Die Arktis ist davon sehr betroffen. Zusammen mit den Auswirkungen der Kolonialisierung hat das gravierende Folgen für die Menschen, die in dieser Region noch leben.

Die Filme im Programm klingen, als würden indigene Kulturen eher mit der Natur leben als sie auszubeuten. Stimmt dieser Eindruck?

MR: Mehr als unsere Konsumgesellschaft, wenn man diesen Gegensatz aufmachen will. Man hat aber oft sehr romantisierende Vorstellungen von indigenen Kulturen. Natürlich leben sie anders mit der Natur als wir hier in Berlin. Aber man darf nicht vergessen, dass nicht alle indigenen Menschen außerhalb der Städte wohnen. Es lohnt sich, ihre vielfältigen Lebenskonzepte anzuschauen und zu versuchen, die Weisheiten, die über viele Jahrtausende hinweg gewachsen sind, zu verstehen - was westlichen Menschen und Wissenschaftlern ja oft schwer fällt. Wenn jemand aufgrund seiner Beobachtungen und seines Wissens sagt, dass die Natur sich verändert, muss diese Aussage sofort zwanghaft mit Fakten, Statistiken und Messungen unterfüttert werden. Einfach Zuhören und Glauben ist unmöglich.

Angry Inuk von Alethea Arnaquq-Baril

AK: Das Verhältnis zwischen indigenen Kulturen, der Natur und dem Rest der Welt ist ein komplexes Zusammenspiel. Die Ambivalenzen macht zum Beispiel der Dokumentarfilm Angry Inuk von Alethea Arnaquq-Baril sichtbar. Die Industrienationen haben mit ihrer Lebensweise sicherlich Einfluss auf die Lebensrealität der Inuit – es ist aber auch umgekehrt. Die einzige Einnahmequelle vieler Inuit ist der Handel mit Robbenpelzen. Ein Nebenprodukt ihrer Nahrung. Sie fertigen Kleidung und Schmuck aus den Pelzen zum Eigengebrauch an, aber auch, um damit zu handeln. Allerdings machen Umweltorganisationen intensiv Stimmung gegen die Robbenjagd. Inuit dürfen zwar noch jagen, aber sie können wegen des Handelsembargos die Felle und ihre Produkte nicht mehr verkaufen. Diese Wechselwirkungen sind nur aus einer globalen Perspektive heraus zu verstehen. Nicht alle Inuit im Norden Kanadas wollen leben wie vor Tausenden von Jahren, sondern an der globalen Gemeinschaft teilhaben. NATIVe geht es darum, hinzuschauen und die indigenen Stimmen wahrzunehmen. Ihnen eine Möglichkeit zu bieten, ihre Meinung zu äußern und ihre Situation darzustellen.

Das Bild des Edlen Wilden

Vor allem im Karl-May-Land Deutschland scheinen Missverständnisse zwischen den Kulturen vorprogrammiert. Wie hoch ist die Gefahr einer falschen Romantisierung?

MR: Sehr hoch. Und Romantisierung kann schnell in die Suche nach dem verlorenen Paradies münden und in diese Projektionen vom sogenannten Edlen Wilden. Da müssen wir wirklich aufpassen. Mit NATIVe versuchen wir das Gegenteil zu erreichen. Die Situation indigener Völker ist bei Weitem nicht so ideal, wie es uns unsere Sehnsüchte glauben machen wollen.

Gleichzeitig ist das Medium Kino prädestiniert als Ort für Sehnsüchte und Projektionen. Wie gehen die Filme damit um?

AK: Kino war immer auch ein Sehnsuchtsort und darf es auch bleiben. Teilweise findet sich das auch im NATIVe-Programm wieder. Es sind aber keineswegs romantisierende Heile-Welt-Darstellungen. Wir zeigen von indigenen Filmemachern geschaffene Filme -. Ihre ästhetischen, künstlerischen und erzählerischen Ansprüche sind ihnen ebenso wichtig wie jedem anderen Filmemacher. Im Zentrum steht das Medium Film und wie man es sich zu Nutze machen kann.

24 Snega (24 Snow) von Mikhail Barynin

Lässt sich indigenes Kino als Genre beschreiben?

MR: „Indigenes Kino“ ist ein ganz neuer Begriff und fasst kein eigentliches Genre. Trotzdem muss man mit Begrifflichkeiten arbeiten – eine verzwickte Situation. Dabei sind die Kulturen auch sehr verschieden. In Grönland etwa entwickelt sich gerade eine sehr eigenwillige und frische Filmlandschaft.

AK: Wir werden dieses Thema bei der Veranstaltung „Indigenous Cinema and the Mainstream“ aufgreifen und die nationalen Unterschiede zwischen den indigenen Filmkulturen mit indigenen Produzenten und Filminstituten diskutieren. Viele indigene Filmemacher, Produzenten und Regisseure fragen sich nach ihrem Platz in der Filmindustrie, wie sie Anerkennung finden auf nationaler wie internationaler Ebene. NATIVe betreibt zusammen mit verschiedenen Partnern auch einen Stand beim European Film Market. Hierher kommen viele assoziierte Filmemacher und Produzenten, um neue Projekte und Ideen auf den Markt zu bringen. Dort gibt es einen Platz für indigene Filme in der internationalen Filmindustrie, physisch und auch im übertragenen Sinn unterstreicht diese Initiative ihren Platz in der Filmindustrie.

Die Abwesenheit von Gewalt

Was mir im Programm aufgefallen ist, ist – im Hinblick auf andere Kinematographien, in denen Kolonialismus eine Rolle spielt – die fast vollkommene Abwesenheit von Gewalt. Wie kommt das?

MR: Die Geschichte der Kolonialisierung ist eine sehr gewaltsame Geschichte, auch wenn sie nicht in allen ausgewählten Filmen unmittelbar im Zentrum steht. Sameblod (Sami Blood) von Amanda Kernell etwa handelt von einem samischen Mädchen in den 1930er-Jahren, das auf ein schwedisches Internat geschickt wird. Dort werden sie und ihre Mitschülerinnen für rassistische Studien vermessen. Auch aufgrund dieser demütigenden Erfahrungen möchte sie keine Sámi mehr sein und nimmt einen schwedischen Namen an. An dieser Stelle manifestieren sich Gewalt und Unterdrückung.

Half&half von Aka Hansen

AK: Identität ist ein zentrales Thema für viele indigene Menschen. In Half&half setzt sich Regisseurin Aka Hansen, die halb Dänin, halb Grönländerin ist und in Kopenhagen lebt, mit den Vorurteilen auseinander, die aufkommen sobald sie über ihre Herkunft spricht. Ihre Fragen sind fundamental: Was bedeutet Identität? Wie kann man sich als Grönländer fühlen? Muss ich mich zwangsläufig zwischen traditionellem und urbanem Leben entscheiden?
Allerdings gibt es tatsächlich wenig körperliche Gewalt in den Filmen - abgesehen vom Kurzfilm Sikumi (On the Ice) von Andrew Okpeaha MacLean. Aus einem Mord resultiert ein Gewissenskonflikt: Die Figur, die die Tat gesehen hat, muss abwägen zwischen der Wahrheit und der Bitte des Mörders, das Gesehene für sich zu behalten. Als wir Angry Inuk gesichtet haben, hat uns die Regisseurin in ihrer Einführung die Streitkultur der Inuit erklärt. Ein Konflikt mündet nicht in Gewalt. Stattdessen stellt die Kultur verschiedene Rituale zur Verfügung, durch die der Streit ausgetragen wird. Die Rivalen treffen sich mit ihren Trommeln, singen und machen Späße über den Gegner - das dauert so lange an, bis alle lachen und wieder Einigkeit herrscht. Eine ganz andere Art von Streitkultur ohne Brutalität. Ein leiser Protest aus unserer Sicht.

No spiritual surrender

Ein weiteres zentrales Motiv sind die besonderen Arten der Spiritualität…

AK: Ja, das Motiv hat uns von Anfang an begleitet. Neben dem anderen Umgang mit der Natur kennzeichnen viele indigene Kulturen besondere Formen der Spiritualität. Das haben wir schon letztes Jahr anlässlich des Lateinamerika-Fokus gelernt. Schamanismus, die Existenz und das Wahrnehmen und Zusammenleben von und mit Geistern spielen eine große Rolle. Viele indigene Kulturen gehen wie selbstverständlich damit um.

MR: Unsere Überschrift im Berlinale-Journal ist „Everything is connected“. Ich denke, das bringt die Wahrnehmung von Natur, die Religion, die Spiritualität indigener Kulturen auf den Punkt. Seit der Kolonialzeit vermischen sich die Religionen bei indigenen Menschen oft. Hybride aus christlichen Ritualen und der ursprünglichen Spiritualität. Das trifft nicht nur auf die Arktis zu, sondern auch auf Lateinamerika.

Johogoi Aiyy von Sergei Potapov

AK: Ein gutes Beispiel für die Lebendigkeit der Mythen, die in oralen Kulturen eine sehr große Rolle spielen, ist Johogoi Aiyy (God Johogoi). Er zeigt das Sommerfest Ysyakh in Sacha. Der Pferdegott hat in der dortigen Kultur eine besondere Stellung, weil Pferde die wichtigsten Tiere sind. Der Pferdegott ist Teil der Realität wie die Pferde selbst. Sein Erscheinen vor dem Protagonisten bringt die Liebesgeschichte des Films überhaupt erst ins Rollen. Regisseur Sergei Potapov verwebt sehr geschickt die Ebenen. Das Fest, den Mythos, die große Liebe - alles geht nahtlos ineinander über. Dieses Verweben von Realität und Spiritualität findet sich in vielen NATIVe-Filmen.

MR: Es ist extrem wichtig, dass wir mit NATIVe diese Geschichten zeigen. Erzählen ist ein fundamentaler Baustein aller indigener Kulturen. In ihren Erzählungen können sie auch Widerstand leisten. Die Arten, wie sie erzählen, sind extrem vielfältig, die Strukturen und Längen variieren. Oft weichen indigene Erzählkulturen sehr von unseren Vorstellungen von Geschichten und Dramaturgien ab. Die Sámi bieten seit ein paar Jahren Fellowships für junge Filmemacher, damit diese lernen, wie ihre Geschichten in Filmstoffe verwandelt werden können. Das ist nicht selbstverständlich, denn die Form ihrer Erzählungen ist außerhalb ihrer Gemeinschaft nicht immer leicht zu vermitteln. Die Sámi erzählen zum Beispiel Geschichten in 42 Zyklen. Das heißt aus unserer Perspektive kommen sie einfach nicht zur Sache. Wie lässt sich aus diesen Zyklen ein Film entwickeln? Das ist eine der großen Herausforderungen für indigene Filmemacher weltweit. Mit NATIVe laden wir die Filmemacher und Filmemacherinnen nach Berlin ein. Wir bieten einen Raum für Diskussionen auf Augenhöhe. Und wir können unheimlich viel von ihnen lernen.