Berlinale: Programme


Generation 14plus

Shkola nomer 3

School Number 3

 

Head of Generation Maryanne Redpath and directors Yelizaveta Smith and Georg Genoux about the film

## ## ## ## ## ##

‘A year ago I learned that life is unfair. And I still think that.’

In the familiar surroundings of their everyday lives, they talk about things that matter to them, about experiences that move them, about first love and loss, hopes and fears. 13 adolescents from a school in Donbass which was destroyed during the war in Ukraine, and subsequently rebuilt, share themselves in front of the camera. 13 lives inhabiting an intermediary space, both emotionally and socially. The war is only mentioned peripherally, and yet it forms the gravitational centre of this puristic and insistent narrative. Though a ceasefire may prevail in the small city, it hardly registers as peace. The documentary film is an extension of the theatre project ‘My Mykolaivka’, which dedicated itself to the search for truth through aesthetic means.

by
Yelizaveta Smith
Georg Genoux

Ukraine / Germany 2016

Russian, Ukrainian

Documentary form
116 min · Colour

Crew

Director
Yelizaveta Smith, Georg Genoux
Director of Photography
Khrystyna Lizogub
Editor
Yelizaveta Smith
Sound Design
Mikhail Zakutsky
Sound
Mikhail Zakutsky
Producers
Yelizaveta Smith, Georg Genoux
Co-producers
Daniel Schulz, Marko Zschiek

Biography

Yelizaveta Smith

Born in Odessa, Ukraine in 1990, she graduated with a degree in film directing from the Kiev National Theatre, Cinema and Television University in 2014. Her short films have screened at several Ukrainian festivals and she has participated in international workshops and projects. One focus of her work is documentary theatre. In 2016 she led a youth theatre workshop together with Georg Genoux in Constance, Germany as part of an international exchange.

Filmography

2011 Visit; short film 2012 Beyond the Blanket; short film 2013 Nails; short film · Reflecting; short film 2014 Borotba; short documentary 2016 Shkola nomer 3 (School Number 3)

Georg Genoux

Born in Hamburg, Germany in 1976, he is a director, curator and one of the co-founders of the documentary theatre project teatr.doc and of the Joseph Beuys Theatre in Moscow. Since 2003 he has staged and produced more than 80 theatre projects in Eastern Europe. His productions have been invited to numerous international festivals. Since 2015 he has been working with Nataliya Vorozhbyt as the joint artistic director of the Theatre of Displaced People in Kiev, Ukraine.

Filmography

2016 Shkola nomer 3 (School Number 3)

Produced by

Tabor porductions
Kiew, Ukraine
+38 6 33930004

Theatre of Displaced People
Kiew, Ukraine

World sales

Marko Zschiek
Berlin, Germany

Berlinale: Programm


Generation 14plus

Shkola nomer 3

School Number 3

 

Generation-Sektionsleiterin Maryanne Redpath und die Regisseure Yelizaveta Smith und Georg Genoux über den Film

## ## ## ## ## ##

„Vor einem Jahr habe ich gelernt, dass das Leben nicht fair ist. Das denke ich noch immer.“

In den vertrauten Räumen ihres Alltags erzählen sie von Dingen, die ihnen viel bedeuten, von Erlebnissen, die sie bewegen, von erster Liebe und Verlusten, von Hoffnungen und Ängsten: 13 Jugendliche einer Schule im Donbass, die während des Ukraine-Konflikts zerstört und wiedererrichtet wurde. 13 Leben in einem emotionalen und sozialen Zwischenraum. Den Krieg erwähnen sie nur am Rande, und doch bildet er das Gravitationszentrum der puristischen und zugleich eindringlichen Erzählung. Zwar ruhen in der Kleinstadt die Waffen, aber Frieden herrscht dennoch nicht. Der Dokumentarfilm entstand als Fortführung des Theaterprojekts „My Mykolaivka“, das sich einer Wahrheitssuche mit ästhetischen Mitteln verschrieben hat.

von
Yelizaveta Smith
Georg Genoux

Ukraine / Deutschland 2016

Russisch, Ukrainisch

Dokumentarische Form
116 Min · Farbe

Stab

Regie
Yelizaveta Smith, Georg Genoux
Kamera
Khrystyna Lizogub
Schnitt
Yelizaveta Smith
Sound Design
Mikhail Zakutsky
Ton
Mikhail Zakutsky
Produzentinnen und Produzenten
Yelizaveta Smith, Georg Genoux
Co-Produzenten
Daniel Schulz, Marko Zschiek

Biografie

Yelizaveta Smith

Geboren 1990 in Odessa, Ukraine. Sie schloss ihr Regiestudium an der Universität Kiew im Jahr 2014 ab. Smiths Kurzfilme wurden auf mehreren ukrainischen Festivals gezeigt, und sie nahm an internationalen Workshops und Projekten teil. Zu ihren Schwerpunkten gehört das dokumentarische Theater. 2016 leitete sie im Rahmen eines Austauschs zusammen mit Georg Genoux einen Theaterworkshop am Jungen Theater Konstanz.

Filmografie

2011 Visit; Kurzfilm 2012 Beyond the Blanket; Kurzfilm 2013 Nails; Kurzfilm · Reflecting; Kurzfilm 2014 Borotba; Kurz-Dokumentarfilm 2016 Shkola nomer 3 (School Number 3)

Georg Genoux

Geboren 1976 in Hamburg. Der Regisseur und Kurator ist Mitbegründer des Dokumentartheater-Projekts teatr.doc und des Joseph-Beuys-Theaters in Moskau. Seit 2003 realisierte er über 80 Theaterprojekte in Osteuropa. Mit seinen Produktionen war er auf diversen internationalen Festivals zu Gast. Seit 2015 hat Genoux gemeinsam mit Nataliya Vorozhbyt die künstlerische Leitung des Theatre of Displaced People in Kiew inne.

Filmografie

2016 Shkola nomer 3 (School Number 3)

Produktion

Tabor porductions
Kiew, Ukraine
+38 6 33930004

Theatre of Displaced People
Kiew, Ukraine

Weltvertrieb

Marko Zschiek
Berlin, Deutschland