Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Forum Expanded

The Brick House

## ## ##

Two friends, Sapa and Hija, spend long afternoons together in a sparsely furnished apartment in the Netherlands. They are listening to music, praying, and relaxing with hot cloths covering their faces. Reminiscing about their childhood in Tanzania, they share anecdotes of their families, the grandmother who used to put the children to sleep, the father who was a taxi driver, and of the childhood dream of becoming a pilot. And they talk of the brick house, a house with no windows, in which one of the men grew up. Here, there is a view, but it is dull and uninviting.
Filmmaker Eliane Esther Bots came across Sapa in a catalog of film extras. After their first meeting, Bots decided to explore the encounter as a method of filmmaking. She invited Sapa to choose a friend as his interlocutor. Extensive conversations, acting exercises, improvisations, and spending Sundays together resulted in the short film The Brick House and in a new friendship.
The film is part of a project called Three Studies of Nearness, a triptych of short experimental documentary films, reflecting on the influence of conflict and migration and on the notions of family and home.

Eliane Esther Bots

Netherlands 2016

Swahili, English

16 min · Colour


Hija Saleh


Written and directed by
Eliane Esther Bots
Director of Photography
Herman van den Bosch
Eliane Esther Bots
Sound Design
Matthijs Tuijn
Eliane Esther Bots


Eliane Esther Bots

Eliane Esther Bots, born in 1986 in Amsterdam, Netherlands, holds a BA from the HKU University of the Arts Utrecht and an MA from the Netherlands Film Academy in Amsterdam. Her films have been screened at festivals internationally. She is part of the selection committee of the Go Short film festival and currently teaches moving image at the HKU University of the Arts Utrecht and is currently based in The Hague.


2011 Gulo; 15 min. 2012 The Captain and the Boy; 9 min. · The Dome & The Cone of Silence; 17 min. 2013 The Visionary; installation, 17 min. 2014 Conversations; 21 min. 2015 We Can’t Come from Nothing; 31 min. 2016 The Brick House

Produced by

Eliane Esther Bots
Den Haag, Netherlands
+31 6169 18486

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

The Brick House

## ## ##

In einer spärlich eingerichteten Wohnung in den Niederlanden verbringen die Freunde Sapa und Hija lange Nachmittage miteinander. Sie hören gemeinsam Musik, beten, legen sich zur Entspannung heiße Tücher auf das Gesicht. Sie schwelgen in Erinnerungen an ihre Kindheit in Tansania, erzählen sich Anekdoten von ihren Familien, der Großmutter, die die Kinder ins Bett brachte, dem Vater, der Taxifahrer war, vom Kindheitstraum, Pilot zu werden, und vom Backsteinhaus mit zugemauerten Fenstern, in dem einer der Männer aufwuchs. Hier gibt es einen Blick nach draußen, aber er ist trüb und wenig einladend.
Die Filmemacherin Eliane Esther Bots entdeckte Sapa in einer Filmkomparsen-Kartei. Nach ihrem ersten Treffen beschloss sie, das Moment der Begegnung als filmische Methode zu erforschen. Sie bat Sapa, einen Gesprächspartner hinzuzuholen. Aus ausgiebigen Gesprächen, Schauspielübungen, Improvisationen und gemeinsam verbrachten Sonntagen entstand der Kurzfilm The Brick House – und eine neue Freundschaft.
Der Film ist Teil des Projekts Three Studies of Nearness, das den Einfluss von Konflikt und Migration auf die Idee von Familie und Zuhause in den Blick nimmt.

von
Eliane Esther Bots

Niederlande 2016

Swahili, Englisch

16 Min · Farbe

Mit

Sapa
Hija Saleh

Stab

Regie, Buch
Eliane Esther Bots
Kamera
Herman van den Bosch
Schnitt
Eliane Esther Bots
Sound Design
Matthijs Tuijn
Produzentin
Eliane Esther Bots

Biografie

Eliane Esther Bots

Eliane Esther Bots, geboren 1986 in Amsterdam, Niederlande, hat einen BA von der HKU University of the Arts Utrecht und einen MA von der Netherlands Film Academy in Amsterdam. Ihre Filme wurden auf internationalen Festivals präsentiert. Sie ist Teil des Auswahlkomitees des Go Short Filmfestivals und unterrichtet aktuell an der HKU University of the Arts Utrecht. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Den Haag.

Filmografie

2011 Gulo; 15 Min. 2012 The Captain and the Boy; 9 Min. · The Dome & The Cone of Silence; 17 Min. 2013 The Visionary; Installation, 17 Min. 2014 Conversations; 21 Min. 2015 We Can’t Come from Nothing; 31 Min. 2016 The Brick House

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2017

Produktion

Eliane Esther Bots