Berlinale: Programme


Forum Expanded

Camera Threat

## ## ## ## ##

Set in the dreary nooks of Mumbai’s film industry, stuck between star-cult, superstition, and the daily gridlock, Camera Threat explores the ambivalent and sometimes paranoid relationship that this film city has with the moving image itself.
Seated on a casting couch, a director and an actress get trapped in their impromptu conversations on the unwanted side effects of a world that no longer bothers to tell facts from fiction. An expanded multi-genre film within the constraints of the so-called Masala Formul" popularly known from Indian cinema.

by
Bernd Lützeler

Germany 2017

Hindi, English

30 min · Colour · 2K DCP, 35 mm

With

Mansi Multani (actress)
Pushpendra Singh (director)
Girish Pardeshi (filmmaker)
Harish Bhimani (voice)
Shai Heredia (voice)

Crew

Written and directed by
Bernd Lützeler
Director of Photography
Bernd Lützeler
Editor
Bernd Lützeler
Music
Guido Möbius
Sound Design
Bernd Lützeler
Sound
Johannes Hampel
Casting
Bernd Lützeler
Production Manager
Philip Widmann
Producer
Bernd Lützeler

Biography

Bernd Lützeler

Bernd Lützeler, born in 1967 in Dusseldorf, Germany, lives and works as an artist and filmmaker between Berlin and Mumbai. In his works he explores techniques of moving image production and presentation in relation with their form and perception. Loops, found footage, and jugaad (DIY) technologies are an integral part of his films and expanded cinema works. His travels to Mumbai have had a strong impact on his work, which often looks into the aesthetics of popular Indian cinema and television within the urban context. His films have been shown at venues and festivals worldwide. He is an active member of the artist-run analogue filmlab LaborBerlin.

Filmography

1993 Rauschlitanei; video installation, loop 1998 Eternal Showdown; film installation, loop · The Suspect Usual; 18 min. 2000 Loop-o-Rama; film installation 2003 True Love is Just Filmi; 15 min. 2005 Rapid Eye Love; 3 min. 2011 the Voice of God; 10 min. 2014 Traveling with Maxim Gorkiy; 10 min. · Nola's saloN; film installation 2016 Batagur Baska; 7 min. 2017 Fultu Faltu Filim; 2 min. · Ein Tonfilm; 5 min. · Camera Threat

Produced by

Bernd Lützeler
Berlin, Germany
+49 172 3947635

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Camera Threat

## ## ## ## ##

Camera Threat untersucht das ambivalente, zuweilen paranoide Verhältnis der Filmstadt Mumbai zum bewegten Bild. Der Film zeigt die trostlosen Ecken der Filmindustrie in der indischen Metropole, zwischen Starkult, Aberglaube und täglichem Verkehrschaos.
Ein Regisseur und eine Schauspielerin sitzen auf einer Casting-Couch und verlieren sich in improvisierten Dialogen über die Auswirkungen einer Welt, die sich nicht mehr um die Unterscheidung zwischen Fakt und Fiktion zu scheren scheint. Ein genre- und formatsprengender Film im Stil der aus dem indischen Unterhaltungskino bekannten sogenannten Masala-Formel.

von
Bernd Lützeler

Deutschland 2017

Hindi, Englisch

30 Min · Farbe · 2K DCP, 35 mm

Mit

Mansi Multani (Schauspielerin)
Pushpendra Singh (Regisseur)
Girish Pardeshi (Filmemacher)
Harish Bhimani (Stimme)
Shai Heredia (Stimme)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Bernd Lützeler
Kamera
Bernd Lützeler
Schnitt
Bernd Lützeler
Musik
Guido Möbius
Sound Design
Bernd Lützeler
Ton
Johannes Hampel
Casting
Bernd Lützeler
Production Manager
Philip Widmann
Produzent
Bernd Lützeler

Biografie

Bernd Lützeler

Bernd Lützeler, geboren 1967 in Düsseldorf, lebt und arbeitet als Künstler und Filmemacher zwischen Berlin und Mumbai. In seinen Arbeiten erkundet er die Techniken der Produktion und Präsentation von Bewegtbildern im Zusammenhang mit deren Form und Wahrnehmung. Loops, Found Footage und jugaad (DIY) Technologien sind wesentliche Elemente seiner Filme und Expanded-Cinema-Arbeiten. Seine Reisen nach Mumbai haben seine Arbeit, die sich mit der Ästhetik des populären indischen Kinos und Fernsehens im urbanen Kontext beschäftigt, stark beeinflusst. Seine Filme wurden weltweit in Kinos, Ausstellung und bei Festivals gezeigt. Lützeler ist ein aktives Mitglied des von Künstlern betriebenen analogen Filmlabors LaborBerlin.

Filmografie

1993 Rauschlitanei; Videoinstallation, Loop 1998 Eternal Showdown; Filminstallation, Loop · The Suspect Usual; 18 Min. 2000 Loop-o-Rama; Filminstallation 2003 True Love is Just Filmi; 15 Min. 2005 Rapid Eye Love; 3 Min. 2011 the Voice of God; 10 Min. 2014 Traveling with Maxim Gorkiy; 10 Min. · Nola's saloN; Filminstallation 2016 Batagur Baska; 7 Min. 2017 Fultu Faltu Filim; 2 Min. · Ein Tonfilm; 5 Min. · Camera Threat

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2017

Produktion

Bernd Lützeler