Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Perspektive Deutsches Kino


## ## ## ## ## ## ##

The near future. A young woman named Mira leaves her familiar world. Familiar? The place that was once more or less confidently referred to as ‘old Europe’ is now a shadow of its former self. Nowadays it is as hard to leave this fortress as it is to enter it. In search of a freer existence and, pursued by the powers-that-be, Mira boards a mysterious train in Paris bound for the east. Somewhere out there they say there’s a place called Tara, where a group of people have dedicated themselves to becoming who they want to be … The journey there is dangerous and the waymarkers are inconclusive. Not to mention the encounters with the group’s local contacts, who do little to inspire confidence.
Questions about Europe’s future surface, providing us with new material and a new direction in which to explore our thoughts of a better world and the necessity of dreams. We set off with Mira on a journey into the unknown that is both highly artificial and yet also close to today’s reality.

Felicitas Sonvilla

Germany 2017

English, German, Russian

30 min · Colour


Sasha Davydova (Mira)
Leo van Kann (Jakob)
Lena Lauzemis (Lena)


Felicitas Sonvilla
Director of Photography
Rebecca Meining
Felicitas Sonvilla
Silvius Sonvilla
Sound Design
Andreas Goldbrunner, Silvius Sonvilla
Jonas Heldt
Production Design
Susanna Haneder
Nora Igl
Tanja Maderner, Anne Walther
Assistant Director
Ella Cieslinski
Production Management
Julia Swoboda
Line Producer
Ferdinand Freising
Lion Bischof, Jonas Heldt
Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München, München


Felicitas Sonvilla

Born in Vienna, Austria in 1988, she grew up in Brussels, Helsinki and Paris. In 2010 she completed a BA in theatre, film and media at the University of Vienna. Since then she has been studying documentary directing at the University of Television and Film Munich (HFF). Her documentaries Raumstation and Nacht Grenze Morgen (Two at the Border, co-directed with Tuna Kaptan) have screened at numerous international festivals and received several prizes.


2011 Raumstation; short documentary 2013 Nacht Grenze Morgen; short documentary 2016 The fabric of a vampire; experimental film 2017 Tara; medium-length film

Produced by

MOTEL Filmkollektiv
München, Germany
+49 172 4934056

The script was developed by Lion Bischof, Jonas Heldt and Felicitas Sonvilla.

Berlinale: Programm


Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Tara

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

In nicht allzu ferner Zukunft: Eine junge Frau, Mira, verlässt ihre vertraute Umgebung. Vertraut? Von dem, was man einst mehr oder weniger zuversichtlich das „alte Europa“ nannte, sind nur noch Schemen übrig. Die Festung zu verlassen, ist mindestens so schwer geworden, wie hineinzukommen. Auf der Suche nach einem freieren Leben steigt Mira, von der Staatsmacht verfolgt, in Paris in einen mysteriösen Zug Richtung Osten. Irgendwo, an einem Ort namens Tara, soll sich eine kleine Gruppe von Menschen dem Versuch verschrieben haben, zu dem zu werden, was sie sein möchten... Die Reise dorthin ist gefährlich, die Wegmarken sind uneindeutig. Gar nicht zu reden von den wenig vertrauenerweckenden Kontaktleuten der Gruppe, denen sie begegnet.
Fragen über die Zukunft Europas blitzen auf und unser Nachdenken über Utopien und die Notwendigkeit von Träumen erhält neuen Stoff und eine neue Richtung. Hoch artifiziell und doch nah an der gegenwärtigen Realität begeben wir uns mit Mira auf eine Reise ins Ungewisse.

von
Felicitas Sonvilla

Deutschland 2017

Englisch, Deutsch, Russisch

30 Min · Farbe

Mit

Sasha Davydova (Mira)
Leo van Kann (Jakob)
Lena Lauzemis (Lena)

Stab

Regie
Felicitas Sonvilla
Kamera
Rebecca Meining
Schnitt
Felicitas Sonvilla
Musik
Silvius Sonvilla
Sound Design
Andreas Goldbrunner, Silvius Sonvilla
Ton
Jonas Heldt
Szenenbild
Susanna Haneder
Kostüm
Nora Igl
Maske
Tanja Maderner, Anne Walther
Regieassistenz
Ella Cieslinski
Produktionsleitung
Julia Swoboda
Herstellungsleitung
Ferdinand Freising
Produzenten
Lion Bischof, Jonas Heldt
Co-Produktion
Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München, München

Biografie

Felicitas Sonvilla

Geboren 1988 in Wien, aufgewachsen in Brüssel, Helsinki und Paris. 2010 schloss sie ihr Studium der Theater–, Film– und Medienwissenschaft an der Universität Wien mit einem Bachelor ab. Danach ging sie an die Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München und wandte sich dort der Dokumentarfilmregie zu. Ihre Dokumentarfilme Raumstation und Nacht Grenze Morgen (Co-Regie Tuna Kaptan) liefen auf zahlreichen Festivals weltweit und wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet.

Filmografie

2011 Raumstation; Kurz-Dokumentarfilm 2013 Nacht Grenze Morgen; Kurz-Dokumentarfilm 2016 The fabric of a vampire; Experimentalfilm 2017 Tara; Mittellanger Spielfilm

Produktion

MOTEL Filmkollektiv
München, Deutschland
+49 172 4934056

www.motelfilm.com

Der Stoff wurde entwickelt von Lion Bischof, Jonas Heldt und Felicitas Sonvilla.