Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum

Dari Marusan

## ## ##
Traditional Japanese wooden Daruma dolls have no ears. The classmates of this film’s hearing impaired heroine gave her the nickname ‘Dari Marusan’ in reference to such dolls. While Dari has now adopted the name as her own, she hasn’t got over the hurt.
Yoshikawa (played by Hiromasa Hirosue, Takahashi’s long-time collaborator) is a severely traumatised man who keeps his distance from other people and thinks he has severed all links to the past. When the sensitive Dari and the gruff, inconsiderate Yoshikawa meet, old wounds resurface for the both of them.
The films of Izumi Takahashi are populated by defeated people, people who are physically and psychologically maimed, who hurt one other and are even looking to be hurt themselves. But as wounded as they may be, they are also always looking for healing and for someone to make that possible.
Dari works for an agency that tracks down missing pets, and is given the assignment of finding the parrot that Yoshikawa lost two years previously. She will have to figure out what her client has really lost and find her own dignity in the process.

Japan 2014, 103 min

by

Izumi Takahashi

with

Hiromasa Hirosue
Miho Ohshita
Takashi Matsumoto
Midori Shin-e
Yasuhiro Isobe
Hikaru Takanezawa
Satoshi Yabumoto
Keiko Sugawara
Akie Namiki

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Dari Marusan

## ## ##
Die traditionelle japanische Daruma-Holzpuppe trägt keine Ohren. Dari Marusan – das ist der Spitzname, den ihre Mitschüler der gehörlosen Filmheldin in Anlehnung an die Puppe gegeben haben. Den Namen hat sie sich zu eigen gemacht, die Verletzung aber kann sie nicht verwinden.
Yoshikawa (gespielt von Takahashis langjährigem Mitstreiter Hiromasa Hirosue) ist ein schwer traumatisierter Mann, der sich von anderen Menschen fernhält und mit seiner Vergangenheit gebrochen zu haben glaubt. Als die einfühlsame Dari und der schroffe, rücksichtslose Yoshikawa einander begegnen, brechen bei beiden alte Wunden auf.
Die Filme von Izumi Takahashi sind von Versehrten bevölkert, psychisch wie auch körperlich verletzten Menschen, die einander verwunden, die Verwundung sogar suchen, aber wider alle Kränkung immer auch nach Heilung streben und dazu ihren Gegenpart finden müssen.
Dari, die für eine Haustiere-Detektei verlorene Katzen aufspürt, erhält den Auftrag, einen Papagei zu finden, der Yoshikawa zwei Jahre zuvor entflogen ist. Sie wird herausbekommen müssen, was ihrem Auftraggeber in Wirklichkeit verloren gegangen ist, und dabei ihre eigene Würde finden.

Japan 2014, 103 Min

von

Izumi Takahashi

mit

Hiromasa Hirosue
Miho Ohshita
Takashi Matsumoto
Midori Shin-e
Yasuhiro Isobe
Hikaru Takanezawa
Satoshi Yabumoto
Keiko Sugawara
Akie Namiki