Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2009

Retrospective & Homage

Jan 15, 2009:
Retrospective 70 mm – Bigger than Life: Film Selection and Programme of Events Complete

Worldwide interest in the legacy of 70-mm films has intensified noticeably over the last years. To find decent, original-language prints of the films for the 70-mm Retrospective of this year’s Berlinale turned out to be a particular challenge for the Deutsche Kinemathek. Fortunately, a number of studios and archives have invested considerable amounts in their 70-mm treasures in the past few years. For instance, Twentieth Century Fox, MGM Studios and Sony/Columbia are contributing nine recently restored films to the programme. The German Bundesarchiv-Filmarchiv saw the Retrospective as an opportunity to make Flying Clipper – Traumreise unter weißen Segeln (Hermann Leitner/Rudolf Nußgruber, 1961/62), the first German wide-gauge production, available again in its original format. The archive had a shrunken, faded 70-mm print of the film, and the relatively well-preserved original negative and the corresponding magnetic audio recordings. Yet worldwide only a few film laboratories are still in a position to print this material on 70-mm film stock. With Fotokem, a company in the USA, the Bundesarchiv-Filmarchiv had a competent partner that could be entrusted with striking a new print with a restored soundtrack - and by so doing, it has contributed significantly to preserving the legacy of German 70-mm film. Flying Clipper will be presented to the public during the Berlinale, on February 11, 2009; rightsholder and actress Hannelore Bollmann Cantor will attend the screening.

Events at the Filmhaus and Guests of the Retrospective

One of Germany’s most eminent wide-gauge enthusiasts is film director Tom Tykwer. Parts of his latest work, The International, which will open the Berlinale, were shot on 65-mm negative. In a discussion with cinematographer Frank Griebe, and ARRI’s Head of Lab & Postproduction Josef Reidinger in the Deutsche Kinemathek on February 7, Tom Tykwer will explore the course of wide-gauge film from the past to its use in present-day productions. Renowned English film historian Kevin Brownlow will go even further back in history. In his talk on February 8, he will give an overview of large-format presentations, from Biograph’s first experiments to Natural Vision and Fox Grandeur.

Among the guests attending the other panel discussions will be a number of international experts, for instance, Schawn Belston, who has been in charge of restoring many 70-mm titles at Twentieth Century Fox; and Gert Koshofer, author of the essay in this year’s Retrospective publication. Specialists like Gerhard Fromm, who is extremely versed in, e.g., Superpanorama MCS 70, will report on filmmaking with this format.

In more recent years, wide-gauge film has repeatedly demonstrated that it is the proper format for extraordinary film projects. Olivier Brunet’s Le Mariage de Fanny (1996-99), an award-winning French short film, impressively shows that 70-mm film has in no way lost its justification. In Berlin, Brunet will present his remarkable experimental film, which interweaves time and texture, mixing archive footage, grainy black-and-white pictures and stunning 65-mm images, while oscillating back and forth between documentation and fiction. Also the Norwegian director Morten Skallerud is expected to attend the Retrospective. His twelve-minute film Året gjennom Børfjord (A Year Along the Abandoned Road, 1988-91) – which is both a passage through time and space, and a portrait of a remote fishing village in northern Norway – combines a journey through four seasons with continuous movement through the village, and hence also stands for the innovative use of film as a medium.

More information about the guests and events of the Retrospective will be announced shortly at www.deutsche-kinemathek.de and www.berlinale.de.

Films in the Retrospective (subject to change)

2001: A Space Odyssey by Stanley Kubrick, with Keir Dullea, Gary Lockwood, William Sylvester. GB/USA 1965-68

Baraka by Ron Fricke. USA 1990-92

Ben-Hur by William Wyler, with Charlton Heston, Jack Hawkins, Stephen Boyd. USA 1958/59

Cheyenne Autumn by John Ford, with Richard Widmark, Carroll Baker, Karl Malden. USA 1963/64

Cleopatra by Joseph L. Mankiewicz, with Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton, Rex Harrison. USA 1961-63

Dnevnyje zvyozdy (The Stars of the Day) by Igor Talankin, with Alla Demidova, Andrei Popov, Konstantin Baranov. USSR 1966/68

Flying Clipper – Traumreise unter weißen Segeln by Hermann Leitner, Rudolf Nußgruber. FRG 1961/62

Goya by Konrad Wolf with Donatas Banionis, Olivera Katarina, Fred Düren. GDR/USSR 1969-71

Hello, Dolly! by Gene Kelly, with Barbra Streisand, Walter Matthau, Louis Armstrong. USA 1968/69

Khartoum by Basil Dearden, with Charlton Heston, Laurence Olivier, Richard Johnson. GB/USA 1965/66

Lawrence of Arabia by David Lean, with Peter O’Toole, Alec Guinness, Anthony Quinn. GB/USA 1961/62

Lord Jim by Richard Brooks, with Peter O’Toole, James Mason, Curd Jürgens. GB/USA 1963-65

Mutiny on the Bounty by Lewis Milestone, with Marlon Brando, Trevor Howard, Richard Harris. USA 1960-62

Optimisticheskaya tragediya (The Optimistic Tragedy) by Samson Samsonov, with Margarita Volodina, Boris Andreyev, Vyacheslav Tikhonov. USSR 1963

Patton by Franklin J. Schaffner, with George C. Scott, Karl Malden, Michael Bates. USA 1968-70

Playtime by Jacques Tati, with Jacques Tati, Barbara Dennek, Jacqueline Lecomte. France/Italy 1964-67

Povest’ plamennykh let (The Story of the Flaming Years) by Julija Solnceva, with Nikolai Vingranovski, Svetlana Zhgun, Boris Andreyev. USSR 1960/61

Ryan’s Daughter by David Lean, with Sarah Miles, Robert Mitchum, Trevor Howard. GB/USA 1969/70

The Sound of Music by Robert Wise, with Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer, Eleanor Parker. USA 1964/65

Star! by Robert Wise, with Julie Andrews, Richard Crenna, Michael Craig. USA 1967/68

Voina i mir (War and Peace) by Sergei Bondarchuk, with Lyudmila Savelyeva, Sergei Bondarchuk, Vyacheslav Tikhonov. USSR 1962-67

West Side Story by Robert Wise, Jerome Robbins, with Natalie Wood, Richard Beymer, George Chakiris. USA 1960/61

Short Films

Året gjennom Børfjord (A Year Along the Abandoned Road) by Morten Skallerud. Norway 1988-91

Le Mariage de Fanny (Fanny’s Wedding) by Olivier Brunet, with Dominique Blanc, André S. Labarthe. France 1996-99

The Miracle of Todd-AO by Juan C. Hutchison. USA 1956

Sky Over Holland by John Fernhout. Netherlands 1967

Press Office

January 15, 2009

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2009

Retrospektive & Hommage

15.01.2009:
Retrospektive 70 mm – Bigger than Life: Abgeschlossene Filmauswahl und Begleitprogramm

Das Interesse am 70-mm-Filmerbe ist in den letzten Jahren weltweit spürbar gestiegen. Gute, originalsprachige Filmkopien für die 70-mm-Retrospektive der diesjährigen Berlinale zu finden, war für die Deutsche Kinemathek eine besondere Herausforderung. Erfreulicherweise haben einige Studios und Archive gerade in den letzten Jahren erhebliche Mittel in ihre 70-mm-Schätze investiert. Allein von Twentieth Century Fox, MGM Studios und Sony/Columbia sind neun unlängst restaurierte Filme im Programm. Das Bundesarchiv-Filmarchiv hat die Retrospektive zum Anlass genommen, um mit Flying Clipper – Traumreise unter weißen Segeln (Hermann Leitner/Rudolf Nußgruber, 1961/62) die erste deutsche Breitfilmproduktion wieder in ihrem originalen Format verfügbar zu machen. Das Archiv verfügte über eine geschrumpfte und rotstichige 70-mm-Kopie des Films, aber auch über das relativ gut erhaltene Originalnegativ und die zugehörigen Magnettonaufzeichnungen. Weltweit sind jedoch nur noch wenige Kopierwerke in der Lage, mit diesem Material eine Neukopierung auf 70 mm durchzuführen. Mit der US-amerikanischen Firma Fotokem konnte das Bundesarchiv-Filmarchiv einen kompetenten Partner mit der Herstellung einer Archivkopie sowie der Restaurierung der Tonspuren betrauen und damit einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Sicherung des deutschen 70-mm-Filmerbes leisten. Die neue Kopie von Flying Clipper wird im Rahmen der Berlinale am 11. Februar 2009 in Anwesenheit der Rechteinhaberin und Schauspielerin Hannelore Bollmann Cantor der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt.

Veranstaltungen im Filmhaus und Gäste der Retrospektive

Einer der prominentesten deutschen Breitfilm-Enthusiasten ist der Filmregisseur Tom Tykwer. Teile seines aktuellen Films The International, der die Berlinale eröffnet, wurden auf 65-mm-Negativ aufgenommen. Im Gespräch mit dem Kameramann Frank Griebe und Josef Reidinger, Head of Lab & Postproduction bei ARRI, wird Tom Tykwer am 7. Februar in der Deutschen Kinemathek einen Bogen schlagen vom historischen Breitfilm zum Einsatz dieses Formats in heutigen Produktionen. In der Filmgeschichte noch weiter zurück geht der renommierte englische Filmhistoriker Kevin Brownlow. In seinem Vortrag am 8. Februar gibt er einen Überblick über frühe Breitfilmverfahren von den ersten Experimenten bei Biograph über Natural Vision bis zu Fox Grandeur.

Zu den Gästen weiterer Diskussionsveranstaltungen gehören internationale Experten wie Schawn Belston, bei Twentieth Century Fox für die Restaurierung zahlreicher 70-mm-Titel verantwortlich, und Gert Koshofer, Autor des Essays der Publikation zur Retrospektive. Spezialisten wie Gerhard Fromm, der unter anderem mit dem Verfahren Superpanorama MCS 70 Erfahrungen gesammelt hat, berichten von der praktischen Arbeit mit dem breiten Aufnahmeformat.

In jüngerer Zeit hat sich der Breitfilm wiederholt als adäquates Format für ungewöhnliche Filmprojekte erwiesen. Dass er seine Berechtigung keineswegs verloren hat, beweist eindrucksvoll der vielfach preisgekrönte französische Kurzfilm Le Mariage de Fanny (1996-99) von Olivier Brunet. Der Regisseur wird seinen experimentellen Film, der sich durch die Verwebung unterschiedlicher Zeitebenen und Texturen auszeichnet, Archivmaterial, grobkörnige Schwarz-Weiß-Bilder und überwältigende 65-mm-Aufnahmen miteinander verbindet und auf der Grenze zwischen Dokument und Fiktion wandelt, in Berlin vorstellen. Auch der norwegische Regisseur Morten Skallerud wird zur Retrospektive erwartet. Sein zwölfminütiger Film Året gjennom Børfjord (A Year Along the Abandoned Road, 1988-91), eine Passage durch Raum und Zeit und zugleich das Porträt eines abgeschiedenen Fischerdorfes im Norden Norwegens, verbindet eine Reise durch die vier Jahreszeiten mit einer stetigen Bewegung durch das Dorf und steht damit ebenfalls für einen innovativen Umgang mit dem Medium Film.

Weitere Informationen zu Gästen und Veranstaltungen der Retrospektive finden Sie demnächst unter www.deutsche-kinemathek.de und www.berlinale.de.

Retrospektive – Filme (Änderungen vorbehalten)

2001: A Space Odyssey von Stanley Kubrick mit Keir Dullea, Gary Lockwood, William Sylvester. GB/USA 1965-68

Baraka von Ron Fricke. USA 1990-92

Ben-Hur von William Wyler mit Charlton Heston, Jack Hawkins, Stephen Boyd. USA 1958/59

Cheyenne Autumn von John Ford mit Richard Widmark, Carroll Baker, Karl Malden. USA 1963/64

Cleopatra von Joseph L. Mankiewicz mit Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton, Rex Harrison. USA 1961-63

Dnewnyje swjosdy (Tagessterne) von Igor Talankin mit Alla Demidowa, Andrej Popow, Konstantin Baranow. UdSSR 1966/68

Flying Clipper – Traumreise unter weißen Segeln von Hermann Leitner, Rudolf Nußgruber. BRD 1961/62

Goya von Konrad Wolf mit Donatas Banionis, Olivera Katarina, Fred Düren. DDR/UdSSR 1969-71

Hello, Dolly! von Gene Kelly mit Barbra Streisand, Walter Matthau, Louis Armstrong. USA 1968/69

Khartoum von Basil Dearden mit Charlton Heston, Laurence Olivier, Richard Johnson. GB/USA 1965/66

Lawrence of Arabia von David Lean mit Peter O’Toole, Alec Guinness, Anthony Quinn. GB/USA 1961/62

Lord Jim von Richard Brooks mit Peter O’Toole, James Mason, Curd Jürgens. GB/USA 1963-65

Mutiny on the Bounty von Lewis Milestone mit Marlon Brando, Trevor Howard, Richard Harris. USA 1960-62

Optimistitscheskaja tragedija (Optimistische Tragödie) von Samson Samsonow mit Margarita Wolodina, Boris Andrejew, Wjatscheslaw Tichonow. UdSSR 1963

Patton von Franklin J. Schaffner mit George C. Scott, Karl Malden, Michael Bates. USA 1968-70

Playtime von Jacques Tati mit Jacques Tati, Barbara Dennek, Jacqueline Lecomte. Frankreich/Italien 1964-67

Powest plamennych let (Flammende Jahre) von Julia Solnzewa mit Nikolai Wingranowski, Swetlana Shgun, Boris Andrejew. UdSSR 1960/61

Ryan’s Daughter von David Lean mit Sarah Miles, Robert Mitchum, Trevor Howard. GB/USA 1969/70

The Sound of Music von Robert Wise mit Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer, Eleanor Parker. USA 1964/65

Star! von Robert Wise mit Julie Andrews, Richard Crenna, Michael Craig. USA 1967/68

West Side Story von Robert Wise, Jerome Robbins mit Natalie Wood, Richard Beymer, George Chakiris. USA 1960/61

Woina i mir (Krieg und Frieden) von Sergej Bondartschuk mit Ljudmila Saweljewa, Sergej Bondartschuk, Wjatscheslaw Tichonow. UdSSR 1962-67

Kurzfilme

Året gjennom Børfjord von Morten Skallerud. Norwegen 1988-91

Le Mariage de Fanny von Olivier Brunet mit Dominique Blanc, André S. Labarthe. Frankreich 1996-99

The Miracle of Todd-AO von Juan C. Hutchison. USA 1956

Sky Over Holland von John Fernhout. Niederlande 1967

Presseabteilung

15. Januar