Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Berlinale Special

Bellamy

## ## ## ## ##

BELLAMY

This year, as every year, police commissioner Paul Bellamy is spending his holiday in the South of France – in Nîmes, in a house belonging to the family of his wife, Françoise, who would much rather go on a cruise to the end of the world. Paul doesn’t want to be without his wife, but, on the other hand, he hates travelling. His holiday will be quite different this year …
This begins to become apparent as soon as Paul’s half-brother Jacques suddenly pays them a visit. Jacques is something of an adventurer with a penchant for the booze. Besides which, he is jealous of Paul’s domestic bliss. As if that wasn’t enough, Noël Gentil contacts Paul. On the run from his wife and a rather demanding mistress, Noël has sought refuge in a local hotel. He also fears he might have killed a man, but he won’t let on who it is.
Paul is prepared to help both guests, as long as it doesn’t involve too much peregrinating. Both men nonetheless take up his time and certainly his energy. With nothing except his intuition to go on, Paul begins to make some investigations to help the presumed murderer. He soon learns that it is easier to help a stranger than a member of one’s own family …
In creating the character of police commissioner Bellamy Claude Chabrol was inspired by no less a figure than Commissioner Maigret. “The idea for the film was born of my desire to create an homage to Simenon – besides, I think that Gérard Depardieu is so profoundly simenonesque. I also wanted to pay tribute to Georges Brassens. I thoroughly enjoyed myself playing both registers – the visible and the invisible – that structure the story.”

France 2008, 110 min

by

Claude Chabrol

with

Gérard Depardieu
Clovis Cornillac
Jacques Gamblin
Marie Bunel
Vahina Giocante

World Sales

TF1 International

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special

Bellamy

## ## ## ## ##

BELLAMY

Wie jedes Jahr verbringt Polizeikommissar Paul Bellamy die Ferien in Süd­frankreich – in Nîmes, im Haus der Familie seiner Frau Françoise, die viel lieber eine Kreuzfahrt ans Ende der Welt unternehmen würde. Paul mag nicht gern auf ihre Gegenwart verzichten, andererseits hasst er es zu reisen. In diesem Jahr werden es dennoch außergewöhnliche Ferien …
Das zeichnet sich schon ab, als überraschend Pauls Halbbruder Jacques zu Besuch kommt. Jacques ist ein kleiner Abenteurer mit einem Alkohol­pro­blem. Außerdem ist er eifersüchtig auf Pauls häusliches Glück. Um das Maß vollzumachen, meldet sich dann auch noch Noël Gentil bei Paul. Der hat auf der Flucht vor seiner Ehefrau und einer allzu anspruchsvollen Geliebten Zuflucht in einem örtlichen Hotel gefunden. Außerdem befürchtet er, einen Mann getötet zu haben, will aber nicht verraten, wen.
Paul will gern beiden Gästen zur Seite stehen, wenn möglich ohne große Orts­veränderung. Doch kosten beide ihn Zeit und einige Anstren­gun­gen. Allein auf seine Intuition angewiesen, stellt Paul Untersuchungen an, um dem präsumtiven Mörder weiterzuhelfen. Dabei stellt sich heraus, dass es leichter ist, einem Fremden zu helfen als einem Familienangehörigen …
Zur Figur des Polizeikommissars Bellamy hat sich Claude Chabrol von keinem Geringeren als Kommissar Maigret inspirieren lassen. „Die Idee zum Film entstand aus der Lust, eine Hommage an Simenon zu kreieren – zumal ich finde, dass Gérard Depardieu ein ausgesprochener Simenon-Charakter ist. Außerdem hatte ich den Wunsch, Georges Brassens meine Referenz zu erweisen. Es hat mir außerordentlichen Spaß bereitet, auf diesen beiden Re­gis­tern zu spielen – dem sichtbaren und dem unsichtbaren –, die die Er­zäh­lung gliedern.“

Frankreich 2008, 110 Min

von

Claude Chabrol

mit

Gérard Depardieu
Clovis Cornillac
Jacques Gamblin
Marie Bunel
Vahina Giocante

Weltvertrieb

TF1 International