Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Rampage

RAMPAGE

In his documentary, SOUNDTRACK TO WAR, Australian artist and filmmaker George Gittoes captured what he described as the ‘music of war’ – the music listened to by American GI’s in Iraq. At one point in that film, a marine named Elliott Lovett explains: “We’re more likely to get shot at in Miami than in Baghdad.” In his new film, Gittoes investigates the ramifications of this statement.
This documentary is the portrait of three brothers: 23-year-old Elliott is a soldier; 20-year-old Marcus a talented poet and Denzell, 14, could well be an up and coming star. These three boys all come from Brown Sub, a run­dwn housing estate near Miami airport. Life in Brown sub is more than just the dark side of the sunshine state, it is the darkest of all ghettos. As far as average citizens are concerned, the place is simply ‘forbidden territory’.
But Brown Sub also happens to be a breeding ground for Afro-American creativity and culture. A rapper himself, Elliott Lovett nevertheless believes his young brother Marcus to be the more talented of the two on the mike. His pronouncement that life for people like the Lovetts is more dangerous on the streets of Miami than it is in Baghdad is tragically confirmed during the making of this film, when Marcus is murdered.
14-year-old Denzell is, if possible, even more talented than his brothers. This film follows his journey from America’s south to New York, where he must submit himself to the cut-and-thrust of the music business.
Well-known musicians such as Steve Rifkin, Swizz Beatz and Fat Joe all appear in George Gittoes’ film. For this reason, this documentary is not just a filmed portrait. It also celebrates American cultural history in the last century, when a multitude of musical styles and many an international trend were born – on the streets of black neighbourhoods.

Australia 2006, 118 min

by

George Gittoes

World Sales

Moviehouse Entertainment

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Rampage

RAMPAGE

In seinem Dokumentarfilm SOUNDTRACK TO WAR hat der australische Künstler und Filmemacher George Gittoes den „Sound des Krieges“ eingefangen – die Musik, die amerikanische GIs im Irak hören oder selbst machen. Seinerzeit sagte Elliott Lovett, einer der im Film vorgestellten Soldaten: „Man schießt in Miami eher auf uns als in Bagdad.“ Diesem Satz geht Gittoes in seinem neuen Film nach.
Er ist das Porträt dreier Brüder: Elliott, 23, ist der Soldat; Marcus, 20, ist ein hochbegabter Dichter; Denzell, 14, ist womöglich ein kommender Star. Die drei stammen aus Brown Sub, einer heruntergekommenen Siedlung in der Nähe des Flughafens von Miami. In Brown Sub lebt man auf der Schattenseite nicht nur des „Sunshine State“, sondern auch seiner Ghettos – für Normalbürger ist dies alles schlicht „verbotenes Gelände“.
Es ist aber auch eine Keimzelle afroamerikanischer Kreativität und Kultur. Nicht nur Elliott Lovett rappt; seinen jüngeren Bruder Marcus hält er sogar für den begabteren Rapper. Seine Aussage, dass es für Menschen wie die Lovetts auf den Straßen von Miami gefährlicher zugeht als in Bagdad, wird während der Dreharbeiten auf tragische Weise bestätigt, als Marcus Opfer eines Mordanschlags wird.
Der 14-jährige Denzell ist womöglich das noch größere Talent. Der Film begleitet ihn auf seiner Reise aus dem amerikanischen Süden nach New York, wo er sich den harten Tests des Musikbusiness unterwirft.
Bekannte Musiker wie Steve Rifkin, Swizz Beatz und Fat Joe kommen in George Gittoes’ Film ebenfalls zu Wort. So wird aus dem filmischen Porträt ein Beitrag zur Kulturgeschichte der USA, wo musikalische Stile und weltweite Trends schon im vorigen Jahrhundert auf den Straßen der schwarzen Wohnviertel geboren wurden.

Australien 2006, 118 Min

von

George Gittoes

Weltvertrieb

Moviehouse Entertainment