Wu Suo Zhu

Abiding Nowhere
The walker with the shaved head and dressed in a red robe is barefoot. He walks slowly but determinedly through the forest, over stones and grassland. He also makes his way through the shadows of trees and houses. He sets foot in the train station, the church and the museum. The sun rises and sets again. The walker passes through Washington, D.C. Another stranger is also on the move in the city. We are unsure whether or not he is following the walker.
Tsai Ming-liang began his Walker series in 2011; this is now the tenth film. In the role of the monk, his long-time collaborator and lead actor Lee Kang-Sheng travels all over the world. The figure is inspired by Xuanzang, a Tang Dynasty Buddhist monk who journeyed thousands of miles on foot between China and India.
by Tsai Ming-liang
with Lee Kang-Sheng, Anong Houngheuangsy
Taiwan / USA 2024 Without dialogue 79' Colour World premiere


  • Lee Kang-Sheng (Walker)
  • Anong Houngheuangsy (Anong)


DirectorTsai Ming-liang
CinematographyChang Jhong-yuan
EditingChang Jhong-yuan
Sound DesignLin Zi-xiang
CostumesWang Chia-hui
Line ProducerYi Chen
ProducerWang Claude
Executive ProducersYu Pei-hua, Tsai Ming-liang
Co-ProducersLi Shu-ping, Tom Vick

Produced by

Homegreen Films

Neu-Taipeh, Taiwan

World Sales

Homegreen Films

Neu-Taipeh, Taiwan

Tsai Ming-liang

Born in Kuching, Malaysia in 1957, his debut film Rebels of the Neon God screened in the Panorama Special section of the 1992 Berlinale. In 1994, Vive l’amour was awarded the Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival. His films also screened at the Berlinale in 1995, 1997, 2014, 2019 and 2020; in 1997, The River won a Silver Bear. His 2009 film Visage was co-produced by the Louvre museum in Paris. Stray Dogs won the Grand Prize of the Jury at Venice in 2013. His installations have been presented in the Venice and Shanghai Biennales.

Filmography (selection)

1992 Qingshaonian Nuozha (Rebels of the Neon God) 1994 Ai Qing Wan Sui (Vive l’amour) 1997 He Liu (The River) 1998 Dong (The Hole) 2001 Ni Na Bian Ji Dian (What Time Is It There?) 2002 The Skywalk Is Gone 2003 Bu San (Goodbye, Dragon Inn) 2005 Tian bian yi dou yun (The Wayward Cloud) 2006 Hei Yan Quan (I Don’t Want to Sleep Alone) 2009 Lian (Visage) 2013 Jao You (Stray Dogs) 2014 Xi You (Journey to the West) 2015 Afternoon 2017 Jia Zai Lanre Si (The Deserted) 2018 Ni De Lian (Your Face) 2020 Rizi (Days) 2022 He Chu (Where) 2024 Wu Suo Zhu (Abiding Nowhere)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2024


Tue Feb 20 14:30

Haus der Berliner Festspiele

Download iCal file
Wed Feb 21 10:30

Cubix 7

Download iCal file
Wed Feb 21 10:30

Cubix 8

Download iCal file
Wed Feb 21 13:00

Zoo Palast 2

Download iCal file
Thu Feb 22 21:00

Colosseum 1

Download iCal file