Berlinale: Programme


Back
Forum

Yama – Attack to Attack

Right from the start, Mitsuo Sato makes clear that this film is not an appeal for pity. Instead, Yama is a film for the workers, meant to function as a weapon in their struggle. Sato paid for this stance with his life: on December 22, 1985 – during filming – he was murdered by Yakuza gangsters whose criminal involvement in the restructuring of the job market Sato intended to reveal with this film. A collective of directors headed by Kyoichi Yamaoka finished the film; Yamaoka, too, was later murdered. The dramatic circumstances of the production reflect the explosive nature of the subject: the film exposes the collaboration between the Japanese elite and police with Yakuza gangs, who gained ever more power in the mid-80s as subcontractors in the booming construction business in Tokyo. Yama accuses those responsible of the resulting brutal exploitation of the types of people Marxists call the “reserve army of labour”: day workers, outcasts, the unemployed, foreigners. Highlighting their dramatic struggle as those exploited and victimised by criminal conditions, the film documents the excesses of a capitalism with fascist undertones.

by
Mitsuo Sato
Kyoichi Yamaoka

Japan 1985

Japanese

Documentary form
110 min · Colour · 16 mm

Crew

Directors
Mitsuo Sato, Kyoichi Yamaoka
Director of Photography
Akira Takada
Editing
Kenji Hukuda
Sound
Shinpei Kikuchi
Collaboration
Kazuko Akamatsu, Tsuyoshi Araki, Hikozo Akamatsu, Bunpei Ikeuchi, Togo Kanda, Ken Komi, Satomi Sato, Gen Hirai

Biography

Mitsuo Sato

Born in in Minami-Uonuma, Niigata Prefecture, Japan in 1947. He became involved in nation-wide student protests in 1968. The following year, he was arrested during demonstrations at Tokyo University. In 1983, he met members of the Sanya Winter Struggle Support Volunteers. In November 1984, he moved to the Tokyo neighbourhood of Sanya to capture the struggles going on there. Filming began shortly after that, on 5 December; on 22 December, Sato was murdered by a member of the Nishido gang.

Kyoichi Yamaoka

Born in 1940 in Uryu, Hokkaido, Japan. In 1968, he left for Tokyo, and became familiar with the neighbourhood of Sanya. In 1972, he formed a committee aimed at fighting crime there. After the murder of Sato Mitsuo and according to his wishes, Yamaoka began working to complete the film. On 13 January 1986, he was shot to death by a member of the ultra-nationalist Konryu gang.

Produced by

"YAMA" Production and Exhibition Committee
Tokio, Japan

Dates

  • 160354
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Fri Feb 16 15:00
    Kino Arsenal 1 (E)
  • 191301
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Mon Feb 19 18:45
    Akademie der Künste (E)

Berlinale Apps

Android    iOS

Berlinale: Programm


Zurück
Forum

Yama – Attack to Attack

Mitsuo Sato macht gleich zu Beginn klar, dass dieser Film nicht um Mitleid heischen will. Vielmehr sollte Yama ein Film für Arbeiter werden, eine Waffe in ihrem Arbeitskampf. Sato bezahlte seine Haltung mit dem Leben: Am 22. Dezember 1985, noch während der Dreharbeiten, wurde er ermordet, von Yakuza-Gangstern, deren kriminelle Rolle bei der damaligen Umstrukturierung des Arbeitsmarktes Sato mit diesem Film aufzudecken versuchte. Ein Regie-Kollektiv unter Kyoichi Yamaoka stellte den Film fertig, auch er wurde später ermordet. Die dramatischen Produktionsbedingungen spiegeln die Brisanz des Themas: Der Film enthüllt die Kollaboration zwischen der japanischen Elite und der Polizei mit Yakuza-Gangs, die Mitte der 80er Jahre etwa in der boomenden Baubranche von Tokio als Subunternehmer immer mächtiger wurden. Yama klagt die Verantwortlichen für die daraus resultierende brutale Ausbeutung von Menschen an, die Marxisten als „Industrielle Reservearmee“ bezeichnen: Tagelöhner, Verstoßene, Arbeitslose, Ausländer. Mit ihrem dramatischen Kampf als Ausgebeutete und Opfer krimineller Verhältnisse dokumentiert der Film die Auswüchse eines Kapitalismus mit faschistischen Zügen.

von
Mitsuo Sato
Kyoichi Yamaoka

Japan 1985

Japanisch

Dokumentarische Form
110 Min · Farbe · 16 mm

Stab

Regie
Mitsuo Sato, Kyoichi Yamaoka
Kamera
Akira Takada
Montage
Kenji Hukuda
Ton
Shinpei Kikuchi
Mitarbeit
Kazuko Akamatsu, Tsuyoshi Araki, Hikozo Akamatsu, Bunpei Ikeuchi, Togo Kanda, Ken Komi, Satomi Sato, Gen Hirai

Biografie

Mitsuo Sato

Geboren 1947 in Minami-Uonuma in der Präfektur Niigata, Japan. Er beteiligte sich 1968 an den Studentenprotesten. 1969 wurde er während Demonstrationen an der Tokyo University verhaftet. 1983 lernte er Mitglieder der Sanya Winter Struggle Support Volunteers kennen. Im November 1984 zog er in den Tokioter Stadtteil Sanya, um die dortigen Auseinandersetzungen zu dokumentieren. Die Dreharbeiten begannen kurz darauf, am 5. Dezember; am 22. Dezember wurde Sato von einem Mitglied der Nishido-Bande ermordet.

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Kyoichi Yamaoka

Geboren 1940 in Uryo auf Hokkaido, Japan. 1968 zog er nach Tokio und lernte das Sanya-Viertel kennen. 1972 gründete er ein Komitee, um gegen die dortige Kriminalität vorzugehen. Nach der Ermordung von Sato Mitsuo 1984 und gemäß dessen Wunsch übernahm Yamaoka die Fertigstellung des Films. Am 13. Januar 1986 wurde er von einem Mitglied der ultranationalistischen Konryu-Bande erschossen.

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

"YAMA" Production and Exhibition Committee
Tokio, Japan

Termine

  • 160354
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Fr 16.02. 15:00
    Kino Arsenal 1 (E)
  • 191301
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Mo 19.02. 18:45
    Akademie der Künste (E)

Berlinale Apps

Android    iOS