O Beautiful Night

Juri is being followed by a black raven which causes the young hypochondriac’s heart to race. The bird drives him into the clutches of a mysterious man who speaks with an eastern European accent and claims to be Death himself. For Juri, a nocturnal odyssey begins which takes him through labyrinths of go-kart tracks, opium dens and chandeliers. He meets the fascinating Nina, who works in a peep show and who becomes a passenger of Death on Juri’s hellishly somnambulistic trip in a ‘muscle car’.
This wild and furious feature film debut by Berlin director and illustrator Xaver Böhm is a humorous, dreamlike visual journey. Bright ‘vanitas’-like images merge into deserted streets and opulently furnished retro-romantic rooms. People acting in a decidedly erratic manner throw the passive hero ever deeper into confusion. Accompanied by a soundtrack that is all night and neon light, Juri has to find out who he is, what he wants and who on earth his companions are.
by Xaver Böhm
with Noah Saavedra, Marko Mandić, Vanessa Loibl
Germany 2019 German,  Subtitles: English 89’ Colour World premiere

With

  • Noah Saavedra (Juri)
  • Marko Mandić (Death)
  • Vanessa Loibl (Nina)

Crew

DirectorXaver Böhm
ScreenplayXaver Böhm, Ariana Berndl
CinematographyJieun Yi
EditingFlorian Miosge
MusicXaver Böhm, Paul Eisenach
Sound DesignLinus Nickl, Nils Vogel-Bartling, Christoph Walter
SoundManuel Vogt
Production DesignOlivier Meidinger
CostumesAline Hollstein
Make-upAnna Kunz
CastingNina Haun
Assistant DirectorRobert Špika
Production ManagerLuis Singer
ProducersJanine Jackowski, Jonas Dornbach, Maren Ade

Produced by

Komplizen Film

Berlin, Germany

+49 30 78893340

www.komplizenfilm.de www.komplizenfilm.de

World sales

The Match Factory

Köln, Germany

+49 221 5397090

www.the-match-factory.com www.the-match-factory.com

Xaver Böhm

A freelance animator and filmmaker, he studied visual communication and interactive media & moving image at the London College of Communication and the Weißensee Academy of Art Berlin. His award-winning animated graduation film, Roadtrip, screened at over 100 international festivals and was nominated for the First Steps Award and the German Short Film Award in 2015. As a freelance director, he works for organisations including the New York Times and the UK’s National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children, and makes music videos for various artists.

Filmography

2014 Roadtrip; animation short film 2018 Down Down Down; short film

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Dates

Feb 12 20:00

International

Ticket code 120331

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 13 12:30

CinemaxX 7

Ticket code 130084

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 14 22:00

Colosseum 1

Ticket code 140375

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 15 17:45

CineStar 3

Audiodescription

Ticket code 150234

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 16 19:30

Zoo Palast 2

Audiodescription

Ticket code 161554

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter

O Beautiful Night

Juri wird von einem schwarzen Raben verfolgt, was bei dem jungen Hypochonder Herzrasen verursacht. Der Vogel treibt ihn in die Fänge eines mysteriösen Mannes, der mit osteuropäischem Akzent spricht und behauptet, der Tod persönlich zu sein. Für Juri beginnt eine nächtliche Irrfahrt durch Labyrinthe aus Kartbahnen, Opiumhöhlen und Kronleuchtern. Dabei lernt er die faszinierende Nina kennen, die in einer Peepshow arbeitet und auf Juris somnambulem Höllentrip im Muscle Car zur Beifahrerin des Todes wird.
Das furiose Spielfilmdebüt des Berliner Regisseurs und Illustrators Xaver Böhm ist eine humorvolle visuelle Traumreise. Leuchtende Vanitas-Bilder gehen in menschenleere Straßen und retro-romantische, opulent ausgestattete Räume über. Erratisch agierende Menschen stürzen den passiven Helden immer tiefer in Verwirrung. Zu einem nach Nacht und Neonlicht klingenden Soundtrack muss Juri herausfinden, wer er ist, was er will und in wessen Begleitung er sich überhaupt befindet.
von Xaver Böhm
mit Noah Saavedra, Marko Mandić, Vanessa Loibl
Deutschland 2019 Deutsch,  Untertitel: Englisch 89’ Farbe Weltpremiere

Mit

  • Noah Saavedra (Juri)
  • Marko Mandić (Der Tod)
  • Vanessa Loibl (Nina)

Stab

RegieXaver Böhm
BuchXaver Böhm, Ariana Berndl
KameraJieun Yi
MontageFlorian Miosge
MusikXaver Böhm, Paul Eisenach
Sound DesignLinus Nickl, Nils Vogel-Bartling, Christoph Walter
TonManuel Vogt
Production DesignOlivier Meidinger
KostümAline Hollstein
MaskeAnna Kunz
CastingNina Haun
RegieassistenzRobert Špika
Production ManagerLuis Singer
Produzent*innenJanine Jackowski, Jonas Dornbach, Maren Ade

Produktion

Komplizen Film

Berlin, Deutschland

+49 30 78893340

www.komplizenfilm.de www.komplizenfilm.de

Weltvertrieb

The Match Factory

Köln, Deutschland

+49 221 5397090

www.the-match-factory.com www.the-match-factory.com

Xaver Böhm

Xaver Böhm ist freischaffender Zeichner und Filmemacher. Er studierte am London College of Communication und an der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee Visuelle Kommunikation sowie Interactive Media & Moving Image. Sein preisgekrönter Abschlussfilm, die Animation Roadtrip, lief auf über 100 internationalen Festivals und war 2015 für den First Steps Award und für den Deutschen Kurzfilmpreis nominiert. Als freischaffender Regisseur arbeitet er u. a. für die New York Times und die National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (NSPCC) und dreht Musikvideos für diverse Künstler.

Filmografie

2014 Roadtrip; Animation Kurzfilm 2018 Down Down Down; Kurzfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Termine

Di 12.02. 20:00

International

Ticketcode 120331

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Mi 13.02. 12:30

CinemaxX 7

Ticketcode 130084

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Do 14.02. 22:00

Colosseum 1

Ticketcode 140375

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Fr 15.02. 17:45

CineStar 3

Audiodeskription

Ticketcode 150234

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Sa 16.02. 19:30

Zoo Palast 2

Audiodeskription

Ticketcode 161554

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse