SHAYNE

Ricky Shayne briefly streaked like a comet through West German popular culture from 1967 to 1972. Born in Cairo, raised in Beirut, he became a star in Rome in the booming Beat scene. He was then imported to Germany, where there was more money to be made. Shayne found himself in Berlin between BRAVO and ZDF Hit Parade, celebrated and exoticized. Stephan Geene, who was 10 years old at the time, was changed forever by this phenomenon, and now explores his fascination.
The encounter with the nervous, rough-edged Ricky Shayne, today 72, survivor of his own star and teen magazine history (the magazine BRAVO alone dedicated two of its celebrity puzzles to him), leads Geene down a variety of paths: including with Shayne’s sons Tarek and Imran, both now the same age as Ricky during his Berlin period and the spitting image of him (at the time).
A serial TV anti-portrait, framed by rehearsals for a gala, the attempt to give one last moment to an aborted career; an architect thinks out loud about photography and theatricality and the possibility of mounting a gala as a ruin, in order to do justice to the figure of Ricky Shayne, to his ruptures and contradictions.
by Stephan Geene
with Ricky Shayne, Tarek Shayne Tabet, Imran Shayne Tabet, Kerstin Cmelka, Claudia Basrawi
Germany 2019 German,  English,  French,  Arabic,  Subtitles: English 120’ Colour World premiere Documentary form

With

  • Ricky Shayne
  • Tarek Shayne Tabet (Ricky Shayne / Himself)
  • Imran Shayne Tabet (Ricky Shayne / Himself)
  • Kerstin Cmelka (Architect)
  • Claudia Basrawi
  • Stephan Geene

Crew

Written and directed byStephan Geene
CinematographyVolker Sattel
EditingStephan Geene
MusicRicky Shayne, Justus Köhncke
Sound DesignManuela Schininà
SoundManja Ebert
Production DesignMerle Vorwald
CostumesMerle Vorwald
Assistant DirectorCaroline Kirberg
ProducerStephan Geene

Produced by

bbooksz av

Berlin, Germany

+49 179 5335789

www.b-books.de www.b-books.de

Stephan Geene

Stephan Geene, born in Bonn, West Germany in 1961, was part of the artist group minimal club and is co-founder of the collective b_books, which works as a bookstore and publisher in the areas of political theory, gender and film theory. He has translated texts by Maurizio Lazzarato, Jacques Rancière, and Beatriz/Paul Preciado. He has directed two feature films, AFTER EFFECT (2006), and umsonst (2014) premiered at Forum Expanded in 2014.

Filmography

2006 AFTER EFFECT; 75 min. 2014 umsonst; 93 min., Forum Expanded 2014 2019 SHAYNE

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Dates

Program 12

SHAYNE

Feb 12 21:00

Delphi Filmpalast

Ticket code 120324

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 13 17:00

Werkstattkino@silent green

Ticket code 132533

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter

SHAYNE

Ricky Shayne streifte wie ein Komet die bundesdeutsche Unterhaltungskultur, kurz, von 1967 bis 1972. In Kairo geboren, in Beirut aufgewachsen und in Rom zum Star einer boomenden Beat-Szene geworden, wurde er nach Deutschland importiert, wo es am meisten zu verdienen gab. Shayne fand sich in Berlin zwischen BRAVO und ZDF-Hitparade wieder, gefeiert, exotisiert. Stephan Geene, damals 10 Jahre alt, wurde von dieser Erscheinung für immer verändert und geht nun seiner Faszination nach.
Die Begegnung mit dem nervösen, kantigen Ricky Shayne, heute 72, Überlebender seiner eigenen Star- und BRAVO-Geschichte (die BRAVO widmete ihm alleine zwei Starschnitte), führt Geene auf sehr unterschiedlichen Wegen herbei: unter anderem mit Shaynes Söhnen Tarek und Imran, beide so alt wie Ricky in seiner Berliner Zeit und ihm wie aus dem (damaligen) Gesicht geschnitten.
Ein serielles TV-Anti-Porträt, gerahmt von Proben für eine Gala, dem Versuch, einer abgebrochenen Karriere einen letzten Moment zu geben; eine Architektin denkt laut über Fotografie und Theatralität und die Möglichkeit nach, eine Gala als Ruine anzulegen, um der Figur Ricky Shayne gerecht zu werden, seinen Abbrüchen und Doppelbödigkeiten.
von Stephan Geene
mit Ricky Shayne, Tarek Shayne Tabet, Imran Shayne Tabet, Kerstin Cmelka, Claudia Basrawi
Deutschland 2019 Deutsch,  Englisch,  Französisch,  Arabisch,  Untertitel: Englisch 120’ Farbe Weltpremiere Dokumentarische Form

Mit

  • Ricky Shayne
  • Tarek Shayne Tabet (Ricky Shayne / sich selbst)
  • Imran Shayne Tabet (Ricky Shayne / sich selbst)
  • Kerstin Cmelka (Architektin)
  • Claudia Basrawi
  • Stephan Geene

Stab

Regie, BuchStephan Geene
KameraVolker Sattel
MontageStephan Geene
MusikRicky Shayne, Justus Köhncke
Sound DesignManuela Schininà
TonManja Ebert
Production DesignMerle Vorwald
KostümMerle Vorwald
RegieassistenzCaroline Kirberg
Produzent*inStephan Geene

Produktion

bbooksz av

Berlin, Deutschland

+49 179 5335789

www.b-books.de www.b-books.de

Stephan Geene

Stephan Geene, geboren 1961 in Bonn, war Teil der Künstler*innen-Gruppe minimal club und ist Mitbegründer des Kollektivs b_books, das als Buchladen und Verlag in den Bereichen Politische Theorie, Gender und Filmtheorie arbeitet. Er übersetzte Texte von Maurizio Lazzarato, Jacques Rancière und Beatrice/Paul Preciado. Er drehte zwei Spielfilme, AFTER EFFECT (2006) und umsonst (2014), der im Forum Expanded 2014 uraufgeführt wurde.

Filmografie

2006 AFTER EFFECT; 75 Min. 2014 umsonst; 93 Min., Forum Expanded 2014 2019 SHAYNE

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Termine

Programm 12

SHAYNE

Di 12.02. 21:00

Delphi Filmpalast

Ticketcode 120324

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Mi 13.02. 17:00

Werkstattkino@silent green

Ticketcode 132533

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse