YE

The Night
A young man stands before his mirror. The night belongs to him. Self-love and longing. Every evening he admires himself in a different outfit before leaving his apartment and waiting for clients in a dimly lit alley. This is where he meets a female prostitute of the same age who is new to his district. They flirt, drift together through the streets, toy with the idea of paying each other for sex, and give each other the names of flowers: he is Tuberose and she is Narcissus. The strangers whom they sleep with all remain faceless to them - until one night a young man who calls himself Rose falls in love with Tuberose. With the help of Narcissus, Rose begins to court the young sex worker. Tuberose responds at first with cool reserve, but the yearning love songs of Taiwanese singer Teresa Tung make it difficult for him to remain aloof for long.
In 2014, the then 21-year-old director surprised audiences with this brilliant debut, in which he also plays the leading role. Seducing the viewer with mysteriously atmospheric images, he succeeds in drawing us completely into the search by these three social misfits for warmth across social and gender divides.
by Zhou Hao
with Zhou Hao, Liu Xiao Xiao, Li Jin Kang, Zhou Feng Qi
People's Republic of China 2014 Mandarin,  Subtitles: English 95’ Colour & Black/White, 2K DCP

With

  • Zhou Hao (Tuberose)
  • Liu Xiao Xiao (Narzisse)
  • Li Jin Kang (Rose)
  • Zhou Feng Qi (John)

Crew

Written and directed byZhou Hao
CinematographyYang Zhan Wen
EditingZhou Hao
SoundYang Zhan Wen
Sound DesignYang Zhan Wen
CostumesZhou Hao
Production ManagerZhou Hao
Executive ProducerZhou Hao

Produced by

Next Way Studios

Chongqing, People's Republic of China

World sales

Coproduction Office

Paris, France

+33 1 56026000

coproductionoffice.eu/ coproductionoffice.eu/

Zhou Hao

Born in Chongqing, China in 1992. After a number of short films, he made his feature film debut with YE (The Night) which premiered in the 2014 Panorama and won several prizes. In 2015, he participated in the Cinéfondation Résidence programme of the Cannes Film Festival. In 2016, he oversaw the adaptation of YE (The Night) into a Japanese-language stage play which premiered in Tokyo in the spring of 2017. In the same year, he wrote and directed a short film mentored by director Béla Tarr as part of the Xining First Film Festival Training Camp. He is currently working on a novel adaptation.

Filmography

2012 Addiction; short film 2013 Lust; short film 2014 YE (The Night); Panorama 2017 Daily Life; short film

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Dates

Feb 10 22:00

Zoo Palast 2

Ticket code 101555

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 13 19:15

Kino Arsenal 2

Ticket code 130622

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter

YE

The Night
Ein junger Mann vor seinem Spiegel. Die Nacht gehört ihm. Selbstliebe und Sehnsucht. Abend für Abend begutachtet er sich in einem anderen Outfit, verlässt seine Wohnung, wartet in einer schwach beleuchteten Gasse auf Freier. Dort begegnet er einer gleichaltrigen Hure, die neu im Stadtviertel ist. Sie flirten, treiben durch die Straßen, kreisen spielerisch um die Idee, sich gegenseitig ihre Körper zu vermieten, und geben sich Namen von Blumen: Er ist Tuberose, sie Narzisse. Die Fremden, mit denen sie mitgehen, bleiben für sie ohne Gesicht, bis sich eines Nachts der junge Rose in Tuberose verliebt. Mit Unterstützung von Narzisse umwirbt Rose den Sexarbeiter. Tuberose reagiert mit kühler Zurückhaltung, aber die sehnsuchtstrunkenen Liebeslieder der taiwanischen Sängerin Teresa Tung erschweren es ihm, seine Unnahbarkeit zu bewahren.
2014 überraschte der damals 21-jährige Regisseur mit seinem fulminanten Debüt, in dem er die Hauptrolle gleich selbst übernahm. Stilsicher verführt er sein Publikum mit atmosphärischen, geheimnisvollen Bildern und zieht sie tief in die Suche der drei Außenseiter nach Nähe hinein, weit über Gesellschafts- und Gendergrenzen hinweg.
von Zhou Hao
mit Zhou Hao, Liu Xiao Xiao, Li Jin Kang, Zhou Feng Qi
Volksrepublik China 2014 Mandarin,  Untertitel: Englisch 95’ Farbe & Schwarz-Weiß, 2K DCP

Mit

  • Zhou Hao (Tuberose)
  • Liu Xiao Xiao (Narzisse)
  • Li Jin Kang (Rose)
  • Zhou Feng Qi (Freier)

Stab

Regie, BuchZhou Hao
KameraYang Zhan Wen
MontageZhou Hao
TonYang Zhan Wen
Sound DesignYang Zhan Wen
KostümZhou Hao
Production ManagerZhou Hao
Ausführende/r Produzent*inZhou Hao

Produktion

Next Way Studios

Chongqing, Volksrepublik China

Weltvertrieb

Coproduction Office

Paris, Frankreich

+33 1 56026000

coproductionoffice.eu/ coproductionoffice.eu/

Zhou Hao

Geboren 1992 in Chongqing, China. Nach mehreren Kurzfilmen legte er mit YE (The Night) sein Langfilmdebüt vor. Der Film wurde 2014 im Panorama uraufgeführt und gewann mehrere Preise. 2015 nahm Zhou Hao am Cinéfondation-Résidence-Programm der Filmfestspiele Cannes teil. 2016 begleitete er die Adaption von YE (The Night) als Bühnenstück in japanischer Sprache, das im Frühjahr 2017 in Tokio uraufgeführt wurde. Im gleichen Jahr schrieb und realisierte er im Rahmen des Förderprogramms des Xining First Film Festival unter der Leitung des Regisseurs Béla Tarr einen Kurzfilm. Derzeit arbeitet er an einer Roman-Adaption.

Filmografie

2012 Addiction; Kurzfilm 2013 Lust; Kurzfilm 2014 YE (The Night); Panorama 2017 Daily Life; Kurzfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Termine

So 10.02. 22:00

Zoo Palast 2

Ticketcode 101555

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Mi 13.02. 19:15

Kino Arsenal 2

Ticketcode 130622

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse