Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum Expanded

A Tiny Place That is Hard to Touch

## ## ## ##

In a faceless apartment in Tatekawa, Tokyo, an American woman hires a Japanese woman to translate interviews about Japan’s declining birthrate. The American woman is presumptuous in her knowledge of Japan; the Japanese woman suffers from a self-professed excess of critical distance. They grate, fight, and crash together in love or lust, at which point their story gets hijacked into science fiction territory, as the translator interrupts their work sessions with stories from a world infected with the knowledge of its own demise. This neighborhood has already known devastation, having been wiped out the night of 9 March 1945 by American bombs.
The third protagonist is the Tatekawa itself, the canal covered by an elevated highway that runs past the translator’s apartment, which gives the neighborhood its name. Reflecting back the concrete world in distorted patterns of blue, green, or glittering black, the Tatekawa transports a shifting procession of birds, shoes, condoms, crabs, plastic bags, flowers, big fish, little fish, death, life.

by
Shelly Silver

USA / Japan 2019

Japanese, English

38’ · Colour

World premiere

Crew

Written and directed by
Shelly Silver
Director of Photography
Shelly Silver
Editing
Shelly Silver
Sound Mixer
Mike Degen
Narrator
Saori Tsukada
Translation
Riyo Niimoto
Post-production Supervisor
Riaki Enyama
Producer
Shelly Silver

Biography

Shelly Silver

Shelly Silver, born in New York, USA in 1957, studied History and Conceptual Art at Cornell University. Starting as a photographer, she moved to bookmaking and then settled on the moving image. After graduating, she worked extensively in the industry as a film and video editor. Her experience in commercial film and television, as well as her early entanglement with conceptual art and structuralism, led her to speak about the world through a formal bending of film and television grammar.

Filmography (selection)

1984 Are We All Here?; 50 min. 1987 Meet the People; 17 min. 1989 Things I Forget to Tell Myself; 2 min. · getting in; 3 min. 1990 We; 4 min. 1991 The Houses That Are Left; 51 min. 1994 Former East/Former West; 62 min. · April 2nd; 10 min. 1996 37 Stories About Leaving Home; 52 min. 1999 small lies, Big Truth; 19 min. 2001 I.; 3 min. 2003 suicide; 7 min. 2004 What I'm Looking For; 15 min. 2008 in complete world; 53 min. 2009 5 lessons & 9 questions about Chinatown; 10 min. 2013 TOUCH; 68 min. · frog spider hand horse house; 47 min., Forum Expanded 2013 2015 The Lamps; 4 min. 2017 A Strange New Beauty; 52 min. 2018 This Film; 7 min. · TURN; 4 min. 2019 A Tiny Place That is Hard to Touch

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

House Productions
shellysilver.com/

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

A Tiny Place That is Hard to Touch

## ## ## ##

Eine anonyme Wohnung in Tatekawa, Tokio: Eine Amerikanerin beauftragt eine Japanerin mit der Übersetzung von Interviews zu Japans rückläufiger Geburtenrate. Die Amerikanerin bildet sich einiges auf ihr Wissen über Japan ein, die Japanerin leidet an einem selbstattestierten Überschuss an kritischer Distanz. Die beiden reiben sich, streiten, stoßen zusammen – in Liebe oder Lust. Als die Übersetzerin ihre Treffen mit Geschichten über eine mit dem Wissen ihres eigenen Untergangs infizierte Welt unterbricht, wird ihre Arbeit in Science-Fiction-Gefilde entführt. Dieses Stadtviertel hat bereits Zerstörung erfahren: In der Nacht des 9. März 1945 wurde es von amerikanischen Bomben ausgelöscht.
Der dritte Protagonist ist der Tatekawa selbst, ein von einer erhöhten Autobahntrasse überspannter Kanal, der an der Wohnung der Übersetzerin vorbeifließt und der dem Viertel seinen Namen gibt. In seinem Wasser, das in verzerrten blauen, grünen und schimmernd schwarzen Mustern die ihn umgebende Betonwelt reflektiert, transportiert er eine Prozession von Vögeln, Schuhen, Kondomen, Krabben, Plastiktüten, Blumen, großen und kleinen Fischen, Tod, Leben.

von
Shelly Silver

USA / Japan 2019

Japanisch, Englisch

38’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Stab

Regie, Buch
Shelly Silver
Kamera
Shelly Silver
Montage
Shelly Silver
Mischung
Mike Degen
Stimme
Saori Tsukada
Übersetzung
Riyo Niimoto
Postproduktionsleitung
Riaki Enyama
Produzent
Shelly Silver

Biografie

Shelly Silver

Shelly Silver, geboren 1957 in New York, USA, studierte Geschichte und Konzeptkunst an der Cornell University. Nachdem sie als Fotografin gearbeitet hatte, ging sie zur Arbeit mit bewegten Bildern über. Nach ihrem Studium arbeitet sie als Film- und Videoeditorin. Ihre Erfahrung mit Film und Fernsehen sowie ihre frühe Beschäftigung mit Konzeptkunst und Strukturalismus brachten sie dazu, mit der Grammatik der kommerziellen Medien zu brechen, um über die Welt zu sprechen.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1984 Are We All Here?; 50 Min. 1987 Meet the People; 17 Min. 1989 Things I Forget to Tell Myself; 2 Min. · getting in; 3 Min. 1990 We; 4 Min. 1991 The Houses That Are Left; 51 Min. 1994 Former East/Former West; 62 Min. · April 2nd; 10 Min. 1996 37 Stories About Leaving Home; 52 Min. 1999 small lies, Big Truth; 19 Min. 2001 I.; 3 Min. 2003 suicide; 7 Min. 2004 What I'm Looking For; 15 Min. 2008 in complete world; 53 Min. 2009 5 lessons & 9 questions about Chinatown; 10 Min. 2013 TOUCH; 68 Min. · frog spider hand horse house; 47 Min., Forum Expanded 2013 2015 The Lamps; 4 Min. 2017 A Strange New Beauty; 52 Min. 2018 This Film; 7 Min. · TURN; 4 Min. 2019 A Tiny Place That is Hard to Touch

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

House Productions
shellysilver.com/