Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama Dokumente

Midnight Traveler

## ## ## ## ##

Fateful developments and surprising twists in the lives of their protagonists are welcome ingredients for documentary filmmakers. But when the director and his family are themselves the protagonists in their own film, every threatening situation becomes a conflict of conscience. Is it right to film every dramatic moment or is it morally wrong to think about a good film scene in the midst of misfortune?
In 2015, a death threat from the Taliban saw Afghan director Hassan Fazili and his wife Fatima Hussaini, also a filmmaker, in exactly this situation. Together with their two daughters Nargis (11) and Zahra (6), they flee from their homeland to distant Europe in search of safety. The couple, and their two daughters, use their mobile phones to film their journey, which was to last several years. On the Balkan route, during long and uncertain stays in various refugee camps, they draw strength from documenting their difficult situation. Despite adversities and setbacks, the parents never once lose their humanity. They bear all manner of hardships and hope for a better future for their daughters, who become more and more independent as the long journey progresses.

by
Hassan Fazili

USA / Great Britain / Qatar / Canada 2019

Persian, English

Documentary form
87’ · Colour

A film by Hassan Fazili and Emelie Mahdavian

With

Nargis Fazili
Zahra Fazili
Fatima Hussaini
Hassan Fazili

Crew

Director
Hassan Fazili
Screenplay
Emelie Mahdavian
Director of Photography
Fatima Hussaini, Hassan Fazili, Nargis Fazili, Zahra Fazili
Editing
Emelie Mahdavian
Music
Gretchen Jude
Sound Design
Daniel Timmons
Sound Mixer
Daniel Timmons, Tony Volante
Producers
Emelie Mahdavian, Su Kim
Co-production
Fatima Hussaini, Ahmad Imami

Biography

Hassan Fazili

As a director, he has created theatre productions, documentaries, short films and TV series in Afghanistan. His short films and Life Again! focus on the rights of women, children and people with disabilities in Afghanistan and have screened at international festivals. He was location manager on Feo Aladag’s Inbetween Worlds which screened in Competition at the 2014 Berlinale. His TV documentary Peace in Afghanistan portrays the Taliban commander Mullah Tur Jan, who laid down his arms in favour of a peaceful life as a civilian.

Filmography

2009 Life Again!; short film 2011 Mr. Fazili’s Wife; short film 2014 The House; short film · Peace in Afghanistan; short film

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Old Chilly Pictures

World sales

Doc & Film International
www.docandfilm.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama Dokumente

Midnight Traveler

## ## ## ## ##

Schicksalhafte Entwicklungen und überraschende Wendungen im Leben ihrer Protagonist*innen sind für Dokumentarfilmer*innen willkommene Zutaten. Aber wenn der Regisseur und seine Familie selbst Protagonist*innen im eigenen Film sind, wird jede bedrohliche Lage zum Gewissenskonflikt. Soll man die dramatischen Momente filmen oder ist der Gedanke an eine gute Filmszene mitten im Unglück unmoralisch?
Eine Todesdrohung der Taliban bringt den afghanischen Regisseur Hassan Fazili und seine Frau Fatima Hussaini, ebenfalls Filmemacherin, im Jahr 2015 in diese Situation. Zusammen mit den beiden Töchtern Nargis (11) und Zahra (6) fliehen sie auf der Suche nach Sicherheit aus der Heimat ins ferne Europa. Das Ehepaar und auch die beiden Töchter filmen die mehrjährige Reise mit ihren Mobiltelefonen. Auf der Balkanroute, während langer und ungewisser Aufenthalte in verschiedenen Flüchtlingslagern, gibt es ihnen Kraft, ihre schwierige Situation zu dokumentieren. Trotz Widrigkeiten und Rückschlägen verlieren die Eltern nie ihre Menschlichkeit. Sie nehmen alle Entbehrungen auf sich und hoffen auf eine bessere Zukunft für ihre Töchter, die sich auf der langen Reise allmählich emanzipieren.

von
Hassan Fazili

USA / Großbritannien / Katar / Kanada 2019

Persisch, Englisch

Dokumentarische Form
87’ · Farbe

Ein Film von Hassan Fazili und Emelie Mahdavian

Mit

Nargis Fazili
Zahra Fazili
Fatima Hussaini
Hassan Fazili

Stab

Regie
Hassan Fazili
Buch
Emelie Mahdavian
Kamera
Fatima Hussaini, Hassan Fazili, Nargis Fazili, Zahra Fazili
Montage
Emelie Mahdavian
Musik
Gretchen Jude
Sound Design
Daniel Timmons
Mischung
Daniel Timmons, Tony Volante
Produzenten
Emelie Mahdavian, Su Kim
Co-Produktion
Fatima Hussaini, Ahmad Imami

Biografie

Hassan Fazili

Der Regisseur war in Afghanistan an der Entstehung diverser Theaterproduktionen, Dokumentar- und Kurzfilme sowie TV-Serien beteiligt. Seine Kurzfilme Mr. Fazili’s Wife und Life Again! beschäftigen sich mit den Rechten von Frauen, Kindern und Behinderten in Afghanistan und wurden auf internationalen Festivals gezeigt. Er war Location Manager für Feo Aladags Zwischen Welten (Inbetween Worlds), der 2014 im Wettbewerb der Berlinale lief. Seine TV-Dokumentation Peace in Afghanistan porträtiert den Taliban-Kommandeur Mullah Tur Jan, der für ein friedliches Leben als Zivilist die Waffen niederlegte.

Filmografie

2009 Life Again!; Kurzfilm 2011 Mr. Fazili’s Wife; Kurzfilm 2014 The House; Kurzfilm · Peace in Afghanistan; Kurzfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Old Chilly Pictures

Weltvertrieb

Doc & Film International
www.docandfilm.com