Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

All My Loving

Raimond Goebel (Produzent), Christine Schorn (Schauspielerin), Hans Löw (Schauspieler), Edward Berger (Regisseur, Drehbuchautor), Nele Mueller-Stöfen (Schauspielerin, Drehbuchautorin), Jan Krüger (Produzent)

Moderation: Ralf Schenk

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

The three siblings Stefan, Julia and Tobias lead comfortable middle-class lives. Outwardly, they are doing well, but all three are becoming more and more aware that there are gaps in their lives, that something is not right, and that something has to change. Stefan, 41, is a successful pilot and a real ladies man; up to now he has always led the life of a carefree hedonist. But suddenly his health will not play along anymore; moreover, an encounter with his daughter Vicky, whom he fathered in an earlier affair, throws him off course. While holidaying in Italy with her husband, Julia, 44, begins taking care of a street dog that’s been hit by a car. All of a sudden the pain of her son’s death catches up with her. Tobias, 34, is married to a career-orientated woman. He has been taking care of their three children and cannot seem to finish his studies; now his siblings have decided that he should also take care of their sick father.
Edward Berger’s film portrays three people in search of happiness and inner peace. As a result of these three concentrated character studies, the image emerges of an insecure generation in a rapidly changing world.

by
Edward Berger

Germany 2019

German

118’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Lars Eidinger (Stefan Hoffmann)
Nele Mueller-Stöfen (Julia Hoffmann)
Hans Löw (Tobias Hoffmann)
Manfred Zapatka (Pit Hoffmann)
Christine Schorn (Ebba Hoffmann)
Godehard Giese (Christian)
Matilda Berger (Vicky)
Franziska Hartmann (Maren)
Philipp Hochmair (Nico)
Anna Ferzetti (Livia)

Crew

Director
Edward Berger
Screenplay
Edward Berger, Nele Mueller-Stöfen, Jens Harant
Director of Photography
Jens Harant
Editing
Barbara Toennieshen
Music
Volker Bertelmann (Hauschka)
Sound Design
Noemi Hampel
Sound
Michael Schlömer
Production Design
Cora Pratz
Costumes
Sabine Bockmeyer
Make-up
Carmen Botermann, Nicole Skaletz, Benjamin Wendl
Casting
Nina Haun
Assistant Director
Roy Luchterhand
Production Manager
Hendrik Lam
Producers
Jan Krüger, Jörg Trentmann, Raimond Goebel
Co-producer
Edward Berger
Co-production
Pandora Film, Köln
WDR, Köln

Biography

Edward Berger

Born in Wolfsburg, Germany in 1970, he graduated in directing from the NYU Tisch School of the Arts in 1994. He first gained experience at the US independent production company Good Machine, working on films by Ang Lee and Todd Haynes, before making his debut feature film, Gomez, in 1997. Jack screened in the 2014 Berlinale Competition and won three German film awards. Deutschland 83, the TV series he directed, also premiered at the Berlinale and was the first German series to be broadcast on US television. In 2018, he directed the mini-series Patrick Melrose starring Benedict Cumberbatch.

Filmography (selection)

1997 Gomez 2000 Frau2 sucht HappyEnd 2014 Jack; competition 2015 Deutschland 83; TV series 2017 The Terror; TV series 2018 Patrick Melrose; TV series

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Port au Prince Film & Kulturproduktion
www.port-prince.de

World sales

Beta Cinema

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

All My Loving

Raimond Goebel (Producer), Christine Schorn (Actress), Hans Löw (Actor), Edward Berger (Director, Screenwriter), Nele Mueller-Stöfen (Actress, Screenwriter), Jan Krüger (Producer)

Moderation: Ralf Schenk

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Die drei Geschwister Stefan, Julia und Tobias haben sich in ihrem bürgerlichen Alltag eingerichtet. Äußerlich betrachtet geht es ihnen gut, doch allen dreien wird immer mehr bewusst, dass es Leerstellen gibt, dass irgendetwas schiefläuft, dass sich etwas ändern muss in ihrem Leben. Stefan, 41, erfolgreicher Pilot und ein echter Frauenmagnet, verbringt seine Tage bisher als unbeschwerter Hedonist. Doch plötzlich spielt die Gesundheit nicht mehr mit, und die Begegnung mit seiner Tochter Vicky, die er mit einer früheren Affäre gezeugt hat, wirft ihn aus dem Gleis. Julia, 44, macht mit ihrem Mann Urlaub in Italien und nimmt sich dort eines angefahrenen Straßenhundes an. Dabei wird sie vom Schmerz über den Tod ihres Sohnes eingeholt. Und Tobias, 34, der mit einer Karrierefrau verheiratet ist, drei Kinder versorgt und mit dem eigenen Studium einfach nicht zum Ende kommt, soll nach dem Willen der Geschwister nun auch noch den kranken Vater pflegen.
Edward Bergers Film porträtiert drei Menschen auf der Suche nach Glück und innerem Frieden. In drei intensiven Charakterstudien wird das Bild einer unsicheren Generation in einer sich rasant verändernden Welt umrissen.

von
Edward Berger

Deutschland 2019

Deutsch

118’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Lars Eidinger (Stefan Hoffmann)
Nele Mueller-Stöfen (Julia Hoffmann)
Hans Löw (Tobias Hoffmann)
Manfred Zapatka (Pit Hoffmann)
Christine Schorn (Ebba Hoffmann)
Godehard Giese (Christian)
Matilda Berger (Vicky)
Franziska Hartmann (Maren)
Philipp Hochmair (Nico)
Anna Ferzetti (Livia)

Stab

Regie
Edward Berger
Buch
Edward Berger, Nele Mueller-Stöfen, Jens Harant
Kamera
Jens Harant
Montage
Barbara Toennieshen
Musik
Volker Bertelmann (Hauschka)
Sound Design
Noemi Hampel
Ton
Michael Schlömer
Production Design
Cora Pratz
Kostüm
Sabine Bockmeyer
Maske
Carmen Botermann, Nicole Skaletz, Benjamin Wendl
Casting
Nina Haun
Regieassistenz
Roy Luchterhand
Production Manager
Hendrik Lam
Produzenten
Jan Krüger, Jörg Trentmann, Raimond Goebel
Co-Produzent
Edward Berger
Co-Produktion
Pandora Film, Köln
WDR, Köln

Biografie

Edward Berger

Geboren 1970 in Wolfsburg. 1994 Abschluss des Regiestudiums an der NYU in New York. Anschließend erste Berufserfahrungen beim US-amerikanischen Independent-Produzenten Good Machine, u. a. bei Filmen von Ang Lee und Todd Haynes. 1997 Spielfilmdebüt mit Gomez. Jack lief 2014 im Wettbewerb der Berlinale und wurde dreifach mit dem Deutschen Filmpreis ausgezeichnet. Auch die Serie Deutschland 83 feierte Premiere auf der Berlinale und war die erste deutsche Serie, die im US-amerikanischen Fernsehen ausgestrahlt wurde. 2018 führte er Regie bei der Miniserie Patrick Melrose mit Benedict Cumberbatch.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1997 Gomez 2000 Frau2 sucht HappyEnd 2014 Jack; Wettbewerb 2015 Deutschland 83; TV-Serie 2017 The Terror; TV-Serie 2018 Patrick Melrose; TV-Serie

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Port au Prince Film & Kulturproduktion
www.port-prince.de

Weltvertrieb

Beta Cinema