Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

Breve historia del planeta verde

Brief Story from the Green Planet

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

‘We’re all a bit odd’, says Pedro at some point in the presence of Daniela and Tania. They are about to reveal to someone else the content of their suitcase: a purple-coloured, child-sized alien with huge, dark eyes. The three friends, who are presently going through a phase of varying levels of disenchantment in their lives, have spent the last few days following a map left by Tania’s grandmother. She has just passed away; her last wish was that the alien be returned to the spot where it originally appeared on earth. Mildly surprised but relatively unfazed by the discovery that her grandma has spent her final years in the caring company of a cute alien, Tania, a trans* woman, embarks with her friends on a journey through small-town Argentina. As their trip progresses, their emotional void slowly gives way to new-found strength.
Favouring quiet emotions over wordy exchanges, and underdogs over conventional heroes, Santiago Loza assuredly sidesteps conventions of genre and storytelling to unfold this neon-lit tale of unconditional friendship.

by
Santiago Loza

Argentina / Germany / Brazil / Spain 2019

Spanish

75’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Romina Escobar (Tania)
Paula Grinszpan (Daniela)
Luis Soda (Pedro)

Crew

Written and directed by
Santiago Loza
Director of Photography
Eduardo Crespo
Editing
Loli Moriconi, Iair Attias
Sound Design
Tiago Bello
Music
Diego Vainer
Sound
Nahuel Palenque
Production Design
Fernanda Chali
Costumes
Victoria Luchino
Assistant Director
Lionel Braverman
Producer
Constanza Sanz Palacios
Executive Producers
Constanza Sanz Palacios, Luana Melgaço
Associate Producers
Diego Dubcovsky, Eduardo Crespo
Co-producers
Paulo de Carvalho, Gudula Meinzolt, Luana Melgaço, David Matamoros, Angeles Hernandez
Co-production
Anavilhana Filmes, Belo Horizonte
Zentropa International Spain, Barcelona
Autentika Films, Berlin

Biography

Santiago Loza

Born in Córdoba, Argentina in 1971, he studied at the Universidad Nacional, the Escuela Nacional de Experimentación y Realización Cinematográfica (ENERC) and the Escuela Municipal de Artes Dramáticas. His debut feature film Extraño won the Tiger Award for Best Picture at the International Film Festival Rotterdam. His experimental, documentary and feature films have screened at Cannes, Locarno and Buenos Aires and have won several awards. In 2013 his film La Paz screened in the Forum, in 2018 he presented Malambo, el hombre bueno in Panorama. Alongside his work as a film director, he is also a screenwriter and playwright.

Filmography

2002 Extraño (Strange) 2005 Cuatro mujeres descalzas (Four Barefoot Women) 2008 Ártico (Artic) · Rosa patria 2009 La invención de la carne (The Invention Of Flesh) 2010 Los labios (The Lips) 2013 La paz; Forum 2014 Si je suis perdu, c’est pas grave (Si estoy perdido no es grave) · El asombro 2018 Malambo, el hombre bueno (Malambo, the Good Man); Panorama

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Constanza Sanz Palacios Films

World sales

The Open Reel
www.theopenreel.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Breve historia del planeta verde

Brief Story from the Green Planet

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

„Wir sind alle ein bisschen seltsam“, sagt Pedro zu Daniela und Tania. Sie sind dabei, den Inhalt ihres Koffers jemandem zu zeigen: ein lilafarbenes Alien, so groß wie ein Kind und mit riesigen, dunklen Augen. Die drei Freund*innen durchlaufen derzeit unterschiedliche Phasen der Enttäuschung in ihrem Leben. Die letzten paar Tage sind sie einer Landkarte gefolgt, die Tanias kürzlich verstorbene Großmutter hinterlassen hat. Es war ihr letzter Wunsch, dass das Alien an den Ort zurückgebracht wird, wo es ursprünglich auf der Erde erschien. Leicht überrascht, aber dennoch unbeeindruckt von der Erkenntnis, dass die Großmutter ihre letzten Jahre in der liebevollen Gesellschaft eines niedlichen Aliens verbracht hat, macht sich die Trans*frau Tania zusammen mit ihren Freund*innen auf eine Reise durch das ländliche Argentinien. Im Laufe der Zeit weicht ihre emotionale Leere einer neu entdeckten Stärke.
Santiago Loza zieht stille Momente dem wortreichen Austausch und Underdogs konventionellen Held*innen vor. Geschickt umgeht er Genre- und Storytelling-Konventionen, um seine Erzählung über bedingungslose Freundschaft zu entfalten.

von
Santiago Loza

Argentinien / Deutschland / Brasilien / Spanien 2019

Spanisch

75’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Romina Escobar (Tania)
Paula Grinszpan (Daniela)
Luis Soda (Pedro)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Santiago Loza
Kamera
Eduardo Crespo
Montage
Loli Moriconi, Iair Attias
Sound Design
Tiago Bello
Musik
Diego Vainer
Ton
Nahuel Palenque
Production Design
Fernanda Chali
Kostüm
Victoria Luchino
Regieassistenz
Lionel Braverman
Produzent
Constanza Sanz Palacios
Ausführende Produzenten
Constanza Sanz Palacios, Luana Melgaço
Associate Producers
Diego Dubcovsky, Eduardo Crespo
Co-Produzenten
Paulo de Carvalho, Gudula Meinzolt, Luana Melgaço, David Matamoros, Angeles Hernandez
Co-Produktion
Anavilhana Filmes, Belo Horizonte
Zentropa International Spain, Barcelona
Autentika Films, Berlin

Biografie

Santiago Loza

Geboren 1971 in Córdoba, Argentinien. Er studierte an der Universidad Nacional, der Escuela Nacional de Experimentación y Realización Cinematográfica (ENERC) und an der Escuela Municipal de Artes Dramáticas. Sein erster abendfüllender Spielfilm Extraño wurde auf dem internationalen Filmfest in Rotterdam mit dem Tiger Award ausgezeichnet. Seine Experimental-, Dokumentar- und Spielfilme liefen in Cannes, Locarno und Buenos Aires und wurden mehrfach preisgekrönt. 2013 war Loza mit La Paz Gast des Forum, 2018 präsentierte er Malambo, el hombre bueno im Panorama. Neben seiner Arbeit als Filmregisseur ist er auch als Drehbuchautor und Dramatiker tätig.

Filmografie

2002 Extraño (Strange) 2005 Cuatro mujeres descalzas (Four Barefoot Women) 2008 Ártico (Artic) · Rosa patria 2009 La invención de la carne (The Invention Of Flesh) 2010 Los labios (The Lips) 2013 La paz; Forum 2014 Si je suis perdu, c’est pas grave (Si estoy perdido no es grave) · El asombro 2018 Malambo, el hombre bueno (Malambo, the Good Man); Panorama

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Constanza Sanz Palacios Films

Weltvertrieb

The Open Reel
www.theopenreel.com