Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Generation Kplus

Baracoa

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

‘Don’t you ever sleep with your eyes open? You have to keep your eyes fixed on something and think about whatever you want.’ – ‘Like the place in the world where you’d like to live?’ – ‘Cuba.’

Antuán is at least a head taller than Leonel. No wonder – the 13-year-old boy with the dyed blond hair is a full four years older than his friend. All the same, they seem cut out for each other, playing complementary parts: Leonel is the loyal sidekick, Antuán the provocative dreamer. In the sleepy Cuban backwater of Pueblo Textil, they combat the monotony of the summer holidays with self-made adventures, wandering through abandoned ruins, and dreaming of a day at the beach. Their exploratory outings are recorded with a documentary gaze that is just as interested in the inner life of the boys. Neither of whom wants to think about Antuán’s upcoming move. When the time finally comes, his friend’s absence all but takes Leonel by surprise.

by
Pablo Briones
The Moving Picture Boys

Switzerland / USA / Spain 2019

Spanish

Documentary form
90’ · Colour

recommendation: 9 years and up

World premiere

With

Leonel Aguilera
Antuán Alemán

Crew

Written and directed by
Pablo Briones, The Moving Picture Boys
Director of Photography
Jace Freeman
Editing
Damián Plandolit, Pablo Briones
Music
Pablo Javier Garmón
Sound
Sean Clark
Sound Editor
Alessandra Modugno, Riccardo Studer
Sound Mixer
Riccardo Studer
Producer
Benjamin Poumey
Production Manager
Camelia Farfán Jiménez
Co-producers
Jace Freeman, Sean Clark, Estephania Bonett Alonso
Co-production
The Moving Picture Boys, Nashville, USA
Playlab Films, Barcelona, Spanien

Biography

Pablo Briones

The film director, editor and cinematographer was born in Tucumán, Argentina in 1983 and lives in Geneva. During his film degree at the Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, he was curator for the Cineclub La Quimera & Agencia Córdoba Cultura. Whilst taking a master’s degree in film at ECAL/HEAD, he directed À beira de Lisboa and A barca, a dyptich of short essay films that screened at festivals including Visions du Réel, Jihlava, FIDBA in Buenos Aires, Arkipel in Jakarta and IndieLisboa. His short film Pezcal screened at Locarno, Havana and Oberhausen. Baracoa is his debut feature film.

Filmography

2013 À beira de Lisboa; short film 2015 A barca; short film 2016 Pezcal; short film 2019 Baracoa; documentary

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

The Moving Picture Boys

Jace Freeman, born 1983, and Sean Clark, born 1981, are an award-winning directing duo from the USA who are dedicated to Direct Cinema. Their film The Ballad of Shovels and Rope won Best Feature Documentary at the 2014 Port Townsend Film Festival. They previously created the web series “Nashville Docujournal”, parts of which screened in “The Way We Worked” exhibition at the Smithsonian, as well as being included in their feature film Nashville 2012 which won an award at the 2013 Nashville Film Festival. They are currently completing their film Saint Cloud Hill.

Filmography (documentaries)

2013 Nashville 2012 2014 The Ballad of Shovels and Rope 2019 Baracoa

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

C-Side Productions

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Generation Kplus

Baracoa

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

„Schläfst du nie mit geöffneten Augen? Du musst deinen Blick auf etwas fixieren und denken, woran du willst.“ – „So wie der Ort auf der Erde, an dem man leben möchte?“ – „Kuba.“

Antuán ist mindestens einen Kopf größer als Leonel. Kein Wunder, mit seinen 13 Jahren ist der gefärbte Blondschopf auch ganze vier Jahre älter. Dennoch wirken die beiden Freunde einander ebenbürtig. Sie ergänzen sich in ihren unterschiedlichen Rollen: Leonel ist der loyale Kumpel, Antuán der provozierende Träumer. Der Eintönigkeit der Sommerferien im kubanischen Kaff Pueblo Textil begegnen sie mit selbst gesuchten Abenteuern, wandern durch Bauruinen und träumen von einem Tag am Strand. Erkundungstouren, eingefangen in dokumentarischen Beobachtungen, die sich auch dem Inneren der Jungen zuwenden. Beide verdrängen den bevorstehenden Umzug Antuáns. Als es soweit ist, fühlt sich die Abwesenheit des Freundes für Leonel geradezu unerwartet an.

von
Pablo Briones
The Moving Picture Boys

Schweiz / USA / Spanien 2019

Spanisch

Dokumentarische Form
90’ · Farbe

empfohlen ab 9 Jahren

Weltpremiere

Mit

Leonel Aguilera
Antuán Alemán

Stab

Regie, Buch
Pablo Briones, The Moving Picture Boys
Kamera
Jace Freeman
Montage
Damián Plandolit, Pablo Briones
Musik
Pablo Javier Garmón
Ton
Sean Clark
Tonschnitt
Alessandra Modugno, Riccardo Studer
Mischung
Riccardo Studer
Produzent
Benjamin Poumey
Production Manager
Camelia Farfán Jiménez
Co-Produzenten
Jace Freeman, Sean Clark, Estephania Bonett Alonso
Co-Produktion
The Moving Picture Boys, Nashville, USA
Playlab Films, Barcelona, Spanien

Biografie

Pablo Briones

Der Filmregisseur, Cutter und Kameramann wurde 1983 in Tucumán, Argentinien, geboren und lebt heute in Genf. Während seines Filmstudiums an der Universidad Nacional de Córdoba arbeitet er als Kurator für den Cineclub La Quimera & Agencia Córdoba Cultura. Im Rahmen seines Masterstudiums in Filmregie an der ECAL/HEAD führte er Regie bei À beira de Lisboa und A barca, zwei zusammengehörende Kurzfilm-Essays, die u.a. bei Visions du Réel, Jihlava IDFF, FIDBA, Arkipel IDEFF und IndieLisboa gezeigt wurden. Sein Kurzfilm Pezcal lief in Locarno, Havanna und bei den Kurzfilmtagen Oberhausen. Baracoa ist sein erster Spielfilm.

Filmografie

2013 À beira de Lisboa; Kurzfilm 2015 A barca; Kurzfilm 2016 Pezcal; Kurzfilm 2019 Baracoa; Dokumentarfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

The Moving Picture Boys

Die US-Amerikaner Jace Freeman, geboren 1983, und Sean Clark, geboren 1981, sind ein preisgekröntes Regieduo, das sich dem Direct Cinema verschrieben hat. The Ballad of Shovels and Rope wurde 2014 beim Port Townsend Film Festival als bester Dokumentarfilm ausgezeichnet. Zuvor kreierte das Duo die Webserie „Nashville Docujournal“. Teile davon wurden in der Smithsonian-Ausstellung „The Way We Worked“ gezeigt und in den Film Nashville 2012 des Duos aufgenommen, der 2013 auf dem Nashville Film Festival ausgezeichnet wurde. Derzeit stellen sie den Film Saint Cloud Hill fertig.

Filmografie (Dokumentarfilme)

2013 Nashville 2012 2014 The Ballad of Shovels and Rope 2019 Baracoa

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

C-Side Productions