Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Berlinale Special Gala

Photograph

Interpreter Hindi, Nawazuddin Siddiqui (Actor), Sanya Malhotra (Actress), Ritesh Batra (Director, Screenwriter, Producer)

Moderation: Anatol Weber

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Rafi works hard to stay afloat as a photographer in Mumbai. Sharing his modest accommodation with other unmarried men, he sends his money home to pay off his father’s debts and dreams of a better life. One day he takes a picture of a young woman in front of the Gateway of India – and from this moment on he can think of nothing else. Miloni is a model student attending a school for auditors and is headed for university. Theirs are two irreconcilable worlds. When Rafi’s grandmother arrives, determined to marry off her grandson, Miloni agrees to masquerade as Rafi’s girlfriend. As the two begin to meet more and more often, Rafi shows Miloni, who has led a sheltered existence, unknown facets of their city.
Ritesh Batra, who caused a sensation with his debut film The Lunchbox, returns to his hometown Mumbai for this bittersweet romance. In atmospheric images that exude a quiet charm, he almost casually depicts how social stratification divides Indian society and creates a sensitive portrait of everyday life in this megacity caught between tradition and progress.

by
Ritesh Batra

India / Germany / USA 2019

Hindi, Gujarati, English

110’ · Colour

Rating R0

With

Nawazuddin Siddiqui (Rafi)
Sanya Malhotra (Miloni)
Farrukh Jaffar (Dadi)
Geetanjali Kulkarni (Rampyaari)
Vijay Raaz (Tiwari’s Ghost)
Jim Sarbh (Anmol Sir)
Akash Sinha (Banke)
Saharsh Kumar Shukla (Zakir bhai)

Crew

Written and directed by
Ritesh Batra
Director of Photography
Ben Kutchins, Timothy Gillis
Editing
John F. Lyons
Music
Peter Raeburn
Sound
Michael Kaczmarek, Jörg Theil, Moritz Hoffmeister
Production Design
Shruti Gupte
Costumes
Niharika Bhasin
Make-up
Neha Kamra
Assistant Directors
Vishesh Sareen, Raj Rishi More
Casting
Honey Trehan
Production Manager
Sanjeev Mishra
Producers
Neil Kopp, Vincent Savino, Anish Savjani, Ritesh Batra, Michael Weber, Viola Fügen, Michel Merkt
Executive Producers
Smriti Jain, Gaurav Mishra, Arun Rangachari, Vivek Rangachari
Co-producer
Jeff Rowles

Biography

Ritesh Batra

Born in India in 1979, he grew up in Mumbai. After graduating with a degree in economics and working for three years in the USA, he decided to change direction and pursue his interest in film. He dropped out early from his studies at the Tisch School of the Arts in New York and began writing and directing short films. His feature debut Dabba (The Lunchbox) brought him international renown. He followed it with two films in 2017: Our Souls at Night, starring Robert Redford and Jane Fonda, and The Sense of an Ending with Jim Broadbent and Charlotte Rampling.

Filmography

2013 Dabba (The Lunchbox) 2017 The Sense of an Ending · Our Souls at Night 2019 Photograph

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Poetic License

World sales

The Match Factory
www.the-match-factory.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special Gala

Photograph

Dolmetscherin Hindi, Nawazuddin Siddiqui (Schauspieler), Sanya Malhotra (Schauspielerin), Ritesh Batra (Regisseur, Drehbuchautor, Produzent)

Moderation: Anatol Weber

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Rafi arbeitet hart, um sich als Fotograf in Mumbai über Wasser zu halten. Mit anderen unverheirateten Männern teilt er sich eine einfache Unterkunft. Sein Geld schickt er in die Heimat, um die Schulden des Vaters zu begleichen, und träumt von einem besseren Leben. Eines Tages fotografiert er vor dem Gateway of India eine junge Frau, die ihm fortan nicht mehr aus dem Kopf geht. Miloni ist Vorzeigeschülerin einer Wirtschaftsprüferschule und soll die Universität besuchen – unvereinbare Welten. Als Rafis Großmutter anreist, die ihn unbedingt verheiraten will, willigt Miloni ein, sich als seine Freundin auszugeben. Die beiden treffen sich immer häufiger, Rafi zeigt der wohlbehüteten Miloni unbekannte Facetten ihrer Stadt.
Ritesh Batra, der mit seinem Debütfilm The Lunchbox für Furore sorgte, kehrt mit der bittersüßen Romanze zurück in seine Heimatstadt Mumbai. In ruhigen, stimmigen Bildern erzählt er beinahe beiläufig von der Trennung zwischen den sozialen Schichten und schafft ein sensibles Porträt des Alltags in der Megacity zwischen Tradition und Fortschritt.

von
Ritesh Batra

Indien / Deutschland / USA 2019

Hindi, Gujarati, Englisch

110’ · Farbe

Altersfreigabe FSK 0

Mit

Nawazuddin Siddiqui (Rafi)
Sanya Malhotra (Miloni)
Farrukh Jaffar (Dadi)
Geetanjali Kulkarni (Rampyaari)
Vijay Raaz (Tiwaris Geist)
Jim Sarbh (Anmol Sir)
Akash Sinha (Banke)
Saharsh Kumar Shukla (Zakir bhai)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Ritesh Batra
Kamera
Ben Kutchins, Timothy Gillis
Montage
John F. Lyons
Musik
Peter Raeburn
Ton
Michael Kaczmarek, Jörg Theil, Moritz Hoffmeister
Production Design
Shruti Gupte
Kostüm
Niharika Bhasin
Maske
Neha Kamra
Regieassistenz
Vishesh Sareen, Raj Rishi More
Casting
Honey Trehan
Production Manager
Sanjeev Mishra
Produzenten
Neil Kopp, Vincent Savino, Anish Savjani, Ritesh Batra, Michael Weber, Viola Fügen, Michel Merkt, (für KNM)
Ausführende Produzenten
Smriti Jain, Gaurav Mishra, Arun Rangachari, Vivek Rangachari
Co-Produzent
Jeff Rowles

Biografie

Ritesh Batra

Geboren 1979 in Indien, aufgewachsen in Mumbai. Nach Abschluss eines Wirtschaftsstudiums und drei Jahren Berufstätigkeit in den USA beschloss Batra, diesen Weg aufzugeben und seinem Interesse für Film nachzugehen. Den Besuch der Tisch School in New York brach er frühzeitig ab und begann als Autor und Regisseur von Kurzfilmen. Sein Langfilmdebüt, Dabba (The Lunchbox), machte ihn international bekannt. Es folgten Our Souls at Night mit Robert Redford und Jane Fonda und The Sense of an Ending mit Jim Broadbent und Charlotte Rampling.

Filmografie

2013 Dabba (The Lunchbox) 2017 The Sense of an Ending · Our Souls at Night 2019 Photograph

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Poetic License

Weltvertrieb

The Match Factory
www.the-match-factory.com