Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Competition

Kız Kardeşler

A Tale of Three Sisters

Müfit Kayacan, Ece Yüksel, Helin Kandemir (Actors), Emin Alper (Director, Screenwriter, Producer), Cemre Ebüzziya, Kayhan Açıkgöz, Kubilay Tunçer (Actors), Emre Erkmen (Cinematography)

Moderation: Vincenzo Bugno

Press Conference at full length
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

The three sisters Reyhan (20), Nurhan (16) and Havva (13) all live with their father in a remote village in central Anatolia. One after the other they were sent away to town to work as housemaids, but each of them has now returned. The last of the sisters to do so is Nurhan. She beat the local doctor’s son because he wet his bed every night. When Reyhan returned home pregnant, her father hastily married her off to the shepherd, Veysel. One day, the inebriated Veysel rises up against the village elder; his actions have dramatic consequences. Even if the dream of a better future does not come true for any of these young women and they always seem to be getting into arguments with each other, they nonetheless steadfastly stick together. While they wait for the snow-covered roads to become passable again, father and daughters pass the time with stories.
Emin Alper, who grew up in the Anatolian mountains himself, unfolds his fairy tale in haunting images. He portrays a society in which neither women nor men have a chance to break their predetermined cycle, and yet he still leaves room for hope.

by
Emin Alper

Turkey / Germany / Netherlands / Greece 2019

Turkish

108’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Cemre Ebüzziya (Reyhan)
Ece Yüksel (Nurhan)
Helin Kandemir (Havva)
Kayhan Açıkgöz (Veysel)
Müfit Kayacan (Şevket)
Kubilay Tunçer (Necati)
Hilmi Özçelik (Village Headman)
Başak Kıvılcım Ertanoğlu (Hatice)

Crew

Written and directed by
Emin Alper
Director of Photography
Emre Erkmen
Editing
Çiçek Kahraman
Music
Giorgos Papaioannou, Nikos Papaioannou
Sound Design
Jos van Galen
Sound
Marcel de Hoogd
Production Design
İsmail Durmaz
Costumes
Alceste Tosca Wegner
Make-up
Esma Keskin
Assistant Director
Özkan Yılmaz
Casting
Ezgi Baltaş
Production Manager
Selim Güntürkün
Producers
Nadir Öperli, Muzaffer Yıldırım
Co-producers
Jonas Dornbach, Janine Jackowski, Maren Ade, Stinette Bosklopper, Yorgos Tsourgiannis, Lisette Kelder, Enis Köstepen
Co-production
Komplizen Film, Berlin
Circe Films, Amsterdam
Horsefly Productions, Athen

Biography

Emin Alper

Born in Ermenek, Turkey in 1974, he studied economics and history at Boğaziçi University in Istanbul and has a PhD in Turkish modern history. His debut feature film Tepenin Ardi (Beyond the Hill) screened in the 2012 Forum where it won the Caligari Film Prize. His second film, Frenzy, premiered in competition at the Venice International Film Festival and won the Special Jury Prize. Alongside his work as a filmmaker, he teaches modern history in the Humanities and Social Sciences Department at Istanbul Technical University.

Filmography

2012 Tepenin ardi (Beyond the Hill) 2015 Frenzy 2019 Kız Kardeşler (A Tale of Three Sisters)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

NuLook Production
www.nulook.com.tr

World sales

The Match Factory
www.the-match-factory.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

Kız Kardeşler

A Tale of Three Sisters

Müfit Kayacan, Ece Yüksel, Helin Kandemir (Schauspielerinnen), Emin Alper (Regisseur, Drehbuchautor, Produzent), Cemre Ebüzziya, Kayhan Açıkgöz, Kubilay Tunçer (Schauspieler*innen), Emre Erkmen (Kamera)

Moderation: Vincenzo Bugno

Pressekonferenz in voller Länge
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Die drei Schwestern Reyhan (20), Nurhan (16) und Havva (13) leben mit ihrem Vater in einem abgelegenen Dorf in Zentralanatolien. Eine nach der anderen wurde als Dienstmagd in die Stadt geschickt, doch alle kehren wieder zurück, zuletzt Nurhan. Sie hat den Sohn des Arztes der Region geschlagen, weil er jede Nacht sein Bett nässt. Reyhan war bei ihrer Rückkehr schwanger und wurde vom Vater eilig mit dem Schafhirten Veysel verheiratet. Dieser begehrt in volltrunkenem Zustand gegen die Dorfältesten auf, was dramatische Folgen hat. Auch wenn sich für keine der jungen Frauen der Traum von einer besseren Zukunft erfüllt und sie untereinander immer wieder in Streit geraten, halten sie doch unverbrüchlich zusammen. Während sie darauf warten, dass die verschneiten Straßen wieder passierbar werden, vertreiben sich Vater und Töchter die Zeit mit Geschichten.
In eindringlichen Bildern erzählt Emin Alper, der selbst in den anatolischen Bergen aufgewachsen ist, ein Märchen. Er thematisiert eine Gesellschaft, in der weder Frauen noch Männer eine Chance haben, den vorbestimmten Kreislauf zu durchbrechen, und lässt dennoch Raum für Hoffnung.

von
Emin Alper

Türkei / Deutschland / Niederlande / Griechenland 2019

Türkisch

108’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Cemre Ebüzziya (Reyhan)
Ece Yüksel (Nurhan)
Helin Kandemir (Havva)
Kayhan Açıkgöz (Veysel)
Müfit Kayacan (Şevket)
Kubilay Tunçer (Necati)
Hilmi Özçelik (Dorfvorsteher)
Başak Kıvılcım Ertanoğlu (Hatice)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Emin Alper
Kamera
Emre Erkmen
Montage
Çiçek Kahraman
Musik
Giorgos Papaioannou, Nikos Papaioannou
Sound Design
Jos van Galen
Ton
Marcel de Hoogd
Production Design
İsmail Durmaz
Kostüm
Alceste Tosca Wegner
Maske
Esma Keskin
Regieassistenz
Özkan Yılmaz
Casting
Ezgi Baltaş
Production Manager
Selim Güntürkün
Produzenten
Nadir Öperli, Muzaffer Yıldırım
Co-Produzenten
Jonas Dornbach, Janine Jackowski, Maren Ade, Stinette Bosklopper, Yorgos Tsourgiannis, Lisette Kelder, Enis Köstepen
Co-Produktion
Komplizen Film, Berlin
Circe Films, Amsterdam
Horsefly Productions, Athen

Biografie

Emin Alper

Geboren 1974 in Ermenek, Türkei. Er studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Geschichte an der Boğaziçi-Universität in Istanbul und promovierte in Neuerer und Neuester Geschichte. Sein Debütfilm, Tepenin Ardi (Beyond the Hill), lief 2012 im Forum und wurde mit dem Caligari-Filmpreis ausgezeichnet. Sein zweiter Film, Frenzy, feierte Premiere im Wettbewerb der Internationalen Filmfestspiele in Venedig und wurde dort mit dem Spezialpreis der Jury ausgezeichnet. Neben seiner Arbeit als Filmemacher lehrt er am Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Institut der Technischen Universität Istanbul.

Filmografie

2012 Tepenin ardi (Beyond the Hill) 2015 Frenzy 2019 Kız Kardeşler (A Tale of Three Sisters)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

NuLook Production
www.nulook.com.tr

Weltvertrieb

The Match Factory
www.the-match-factory.com