Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum Expanded

Song for Europe

##

On 1 December 1990, watched by the world's media, construction worker Graham Fagg of Dover climbed through a hole in a chalk wall 40 meters below the seabed of the English Channel, shook the hand of Philippe Cozette of Calais, and shouted, “Vive la France!”. On 23 June 2016 Britain voted to leave the European Union. Inspired by a message for motorists on Eurotunnel trains, Song for Europe is an underwater celebration of Britain’s connection to mainland Europe.

by
John Smith

Great Britain 2017

English

Documentary form
4’ · Colour

World premiere

With

John Smith

Crew

Director
John Smith
Director of Photography
John Smith
Editing
John Smith
Sound
John Smith

Biography

John Smith

John Smith was born in 1952 in Walthamstow, London, Great Britain, where he lives and works. He studied film at the Royal College of Art. Since 1972 he has made over 50 film, video, and installation works that have been shown in gallery, museum, independent cinema, and television contexts around the world and awarded major prizes at many international film festivals.

Filmography

1975 Associations 1976 The Girl Chewing Gum 1986 Om 1987 The Black Tower 1991 Slow Glass 1992 Gargantuan 1994 Home Suite 1996 Blight 2001 Lost Sound; 28 min., with Graeme Miller 2003 Worst Case Scenario 2007 Hotel Diaries 2010 Flag Mountain 2011 Unusual Red Cardigan 2012 Dad’s Stick 2014 White Hole 2015 Steve Hates Fish 2016 Who Are We? 2017 Song for Europe

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

John Smith Films

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Song for Europe

##

Am 1. Dezember 1990 kletterte der Bauarbeiter Graham Fagg aus Dover – weltweit von den Medien verfolgt – durch ein Loch 40 Meter unter dem Meeresboden des Ärmelkanals, schüttelte die Hand von Philippe Cozette aus Calais und rief: „Vive la France!“ Am 23. Juni 2016 stimmte Großbritannien dafür, die Europäische Union zu verlassen. Song for Europe ist inspiriert von einer Nachricht für Autofahrer*innen in Eurotunnel-Zügen und zelebriert unter Wasser Großbritanniens Verbindung mit dem europäischen Festland.

von
John Smith

Großbritannien 2017

Englisch

Dokumentarische Form
4’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

John Smith

Stab

Regie
John Smith
Kamera
John Smith
Montage
John Smith
Ton
John Smith

Biografie

John Smith

John Smith wurde 1952 in Walthamstow, London, Großbritannien geboren, wo er heute lebt und arbeitet. Er hat Film am Royal College of Art in London studiert. Seit 1972 hat er über 50 Filme, Videos und Installationen produziert, die international in Galerien, Museen, Kinos und im Fernsehen gezeigt wurden und mit diversen Preisen bei Filmfestivals ausgezeichnet wurden.

Filmografie

1975 Associations; 7 Min. 1976 The Girl Chewing Gum; 12 Min. 1986 Om; 4 Min. 1987 The Black Tower; 24 Min. 1991 Slow Glass; 40 Min. 1992 Gargantuan; 1 Min. 1994 Home Suite; 96 Min. 1996 Blight; 14 Min. 2001 Lost Sound; 28 Min., mit Graeme Miller 2003 Worst Case Scenario; 18 Min. 2007 Hotel Diaries; 82 Min. 2010 Flag Mountain; 8 Min. 2011 Unusual Red Cardigan; 12 Min. 2012 Dad’s Stick; 5 Min. 2014 White Hole; 7 Min. 2015 Steve Hates Fish; 5 Min. 2016 Who Are We?; 4 Min. 2017 Song for Europe

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

John Smith Films