Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Berlinale Shorts

Burkina Brandenburg Komplex

 
## ## ## ##

‘A presumably African village, inhabited by Germans. The film Burkina Brandenburg Komplex describes a geographical construction that makes use of “our” medial and collective image of Africa and puts it to the test through inaccuracies. An archaeological find is made in a mine: a Ferrari®. We tag along with Joachim on his everyday rounds. He has his heart set on realising a common energy project. The Museum of Prussian Cultural Heritage is run by a woman of color. She presents artefacts from Western consumer culture with a special emphasis on German products. Joachim is involved in the ritualistic production of energy in the village, but gets excluded when the ceremony is nearing its finale, finally catapulting himself out of the “story/history”.’ Ulu Braun

by
Ulu Braun

Germany 2018

German

19 min · Colour

World premiere

With

Joachim Stargard (Joachim)
Evyonne Muhuri (Museum director)
Katja Franziska Müller (Villager)
Valentin Lorenz (Mine worker)
Hans Drews (Villager)
Edeltraut Drews (Villager)
Dietlind Sommer (Villager)

Crew

Written and directed by
Ulu Braun
Director of Photography
Ulu Braun
Editor
Ulu Braun
Sound Design
Valentin Lorenz
Music
Max Knoth
Producer
Ulu Braun

Biography

Ulu Braun

Born in Schongau, Bavaria in 1976, he studied painting and experimental film in Vienna and Helsinki, followed by animation at the Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen Konrad Wolf in Potsdam-Babelsberg. His video collages and films are poised between contemporary art and narrative cinema and have been exhibited in museums and galleries and screened at film festivals. He has won numerous awards including the 2013 German Short Film Prize. Three of his films have already screened in Berlinale Shorts: FORST in 2013, BIRDS in 2014 and Architektura in 2015.

Filmography (short films)

2004 Die Flutung von Viktoria 2007 Rhabarber Boy 2009 Westcoast 2010 Atlantic Garden 2011 Maria Theresia and her 16 children; co-director: R. Rauschmeier · The Park 2012 Tower of Invincibility 2013 Vertikale · FORST; Berlinale Shorts 2014 BIRDS; Berlinale Shorts 2015 Plantheon; co-director: T. Haarla · Architektura; Berlinale Shorts 2017 Die Herberge (The Hostel) 2018 Burkina Brandenburg Komplex

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Studio Ulu Braun

World sales

Studio Ulu Braun

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Shorts

Burkina Brandenburg Komplex

 
## ## ## ##

„Ein scheinbar afrikanisches Dorf, von Deutschen bewohnt. Der Film Burkina Brandenburg Komplex beschreibt eine geografische Konstruktion, die ‚unser‘ mediales und kollektives Afrika-Bild bedient und mit Ungenauigkeiten auf die Probe stellt. In einer Mine taucht ein archäologisches Fundstück auf: ein Ferrari®. Wir begleiten Joachim in seinem Alltag. Er möchte gerne ein gemeinsames Energieprojekt verwirklichen. Das Museum für preußisches Kulturgut wird von einer Schwarzen Frau unterhalten. Sie präsentiert Artefakte westlicher Konsumkultur mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf deutsche Güter. Joachim ist in die rituelle Energieerzeugung vor Ort involviert, wird aber zum Höhepunkt von der Zeremonie ausgeschlossen und katapultiert sich schließlich selbst aus der ‚Story/History‘.“ Ulu Braun

von
Ulu Braun

Deutschland 2018

Deutsch

19’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Joachim Stargard (Joachim)
Evyonne Muhuri (Museumsdirektorin)
Katja Franziska Müller (Dorfbewohnerin)
Valentin Lorenz (Minenarbeiter)
Hans Drews (Dorfbewohner)
Edeltraut Drews (Dorfbewohnerin)
Dietlind Sommer (Dorfbewohnerin)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Ulu Braun
Kamera
Ulu Braun
Montage
Ulu Braun
Sound Design
Valentin Lorenz
Musik
Max Knoth
Produzent
Ulu Braun

Biografie

Ulu Braun

Geboren 1976 in Schongau in Bayern. Er studierte Malerei und Experimentalfilm in Wien und Helsinki und anschließend Animation an der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen Konrad Wolf in Potsdam-Babelsberg. Seine Videocollagen und Filme sind an der Grenze zwischen Kunst und Erzählkino angesiedelt und wurden in Museen, Galerien und auf Filmfestivals gezeigt. Braun gewann zahlreiche Preise, unter anderem den Deutschen Kurzfilmpreis 2013. Er war bereits dreimal zu Gast bei den Berlinale Shorts: 2013 mit FORST, 2014 mit BIRDS und 2015 mit Architektura.

Filmografie (Kurzfilme)

2004 Die Flutung von Viktoria 2007 Rhabarber Boy 2009 Westcoast 2010 Atlantic Garden 2011 Maria Theresia and her 16 children; Co-Regie: R. Rauschmeier · The Park 2012 Tower of Invincibility 2013 Vertikale · FORST; Berlinale Shorts 2014 BIRDS; Berlinale Shorts 2015 Plantheon; Co-Regie: T. Haarla · Architektura; Berlinale Shorts 2017 Die Herberge (The Hostel) 2018 Burkina Brandenburg Komplex

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Studio Ulu Braun

Weltvertrieb

Studio Ulu Braun