Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum Expanded

Constructed Futures: Haret Hreik

##

The Shiite dominated neighborhood Haret Hreik in Beirut houses the headquarters of the Hezbollah Party, invisible to the outside. In 2006 the Israeli Army bombarded the neighborhood, which Hezbollah then quickly rebuilt. This rebuilding project is part of a military conflict and a geopolitical network in which architecture takes part in the production of space, landscape, and memory.
The video installation shows offices where the reconstruction was planned and designed, one of the rebuilt houses itself, as well as a hall where Hezbollah sympathizers regularly gather to attend video addresses by the party leader Hassan Nasrallah.
What does it mean when new buildings are meant to be added without rupture or break into the existing urban structure and into individual memories? How has the interpretation of resistance by Hezbollah become a dominant project that is manifest spatially? What does building mean if it leaves no room for ruins and commemoration, because it thinks in a logic of brief intervals of warlessness?

by
Sandra Schäfer

Germany 2017

Arabic, English

27 min · Colour · 4-Kanal-Videoinstallation

With

Ibtissam Malak
Hassan el-Jeshi
Rahif Fayad

Crew

Director
Sandra Schäfer
Director of Photography
Sandra Schäfer
Editor
Sandra Schäfer
Sound Design
Martin Ehlers-Falkenberg
Sound
Sandra Boutros
Production Manager
Caroline Kirberg
Producers
Sandra Schäfer, Ekaterina Degot

Biography

Sandra Schäfer

Sandra Schäfer, born in 1970 in Altkirchen, Germany, is an artist living in Berlin. Her artistic works deal with the production of urban and transregional spaces, history, and visual politics. Her works are often the result of longer projects in which she researches the processes of unwrapping and re-reading documents, images, and spatial narratives. Her works have been shown in exhibitions internationally. She has been a member of the feminist distribution project Cinenova in London since 2010.

Filmography

1996 Doch bin ich wirklich; video installation, 38 min. 1997 England–Deutschland; video installation, 171 min. 1998 Mensch, Tanja!; video installation, 30 min. 1999 Kontaktfreudig, offen und gewandt im Umgang; video installation, 7 min. 2000 Die unsichtbare Dienstleistung; video installation, 4 min. 2001 A Country‘s New Dawn; 5 min. 2004 The Making of a Demonstration; 10 min. 2006 Traversée de la Mangrove; 38 min. 2007 Passing the Rainbow; 71 min. 2008 To Act in History; video installation, 21 min. 2011 On the Set of 1978ff; video installation, 58 min. 2013 Notes on Pasolini’s Form of a City. Sana’a, Sabaudia, Rome; video installation, 25 min. 2014 Başakşehir: An Urban Model; video installation 2016 Mleeta; video installation, 12 min., Forum Expanded 2016 2017 Constructed Futures: Haret Hreik

Produced by

mazefilm
Berlin, Germany

www.mazefilm.de/

Akademie der Künste der Welt
Köln, Germany

www.academycologne.org/de/

Urban Subjects
Wien, Austria

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Constructed Futures: Haret Hreik

##

Das schiitisch dominierte Viertel Haret Hreik in Beirut beherbergt nach außen unsichtbar das Hauptquartier der Hisbollah-Partei. 2006 bombardierte die israelische Armee das Viertel, die Hisbollah baute es in der Folge rasch wieder auf. Dieses Wiederaufbauprojekt ist Teil eines kriegerischen Konflikts und geopolitischen Gefüges, in dem Architektur an der Herstellung von Raum, Landschaft und Erinnerung beteiligt ist.
Die Videoinstallation zeigt Büros, in denen der Wiederaufbau geplant und entworfen wurde, eine der wiederaufgebauten Wohnungen selbst sowie eine Mehrzweckhalle, in der regelmäßig die Sympathisanten der Hisbollah zusammenkommen, um Videoansprachen des Parteiführers Hassan Nasrallah beizuwohnen.
Was bedeutet es, wenn Neubauten sich ohne Risse und Brüche in die bestehende städtische Struktur und in individuelle Erinnerungen einfügen sollen? Wie wird die Interpretation des Widerstands durch die Hisbollah zum beherrschenden Projekt, das sich räumlich manifestiert? Was bedeutet das Bauen, das keinen Platz für Ruinen und Gedenken lässt, weil es in einer Logik kurzer Intervalle von Kriegslosigkeit denkt?

von
Sandra Schäfer

Deutschland 2017

Arabisch, Englisch

27 Min · Farbe · 4-Kanal-Videoinstallation

Mit

Ibtissam Malak
Hassan el-Jeshi
Rahif Fayad

Stab

Regie
Sandra Schäfer
Kamera
Sandra Schäfer
Schnitt
Sandra Schäfer
Sound Design
Martin Ehlers-Falkenberg
Ton
Sandra Boutros
Production Manager
Caroline Kirberg
Produzentinnen
Sandra Schäfer, Ekaterina Degot

Biografie

Sandra Schäfer

Sandra Schäfer, geboren 1970 in Altenkirchen, Deutschland, ist Künstlerin und lebt in Berlin. In ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit untersucht sie die Produktion von städtischen und transregionalen Räumen, Geschichte und Bildpolitiken. Häufig entstehen ihre Arbeiten auf Grund von längeren Recherchen, in denen sie sich mit Prozessen des Wiederlesens und Neubewertens von Dokumenten, Bildern und räumlichen Narrativen beschäftigt. Ihre Arbeiten werden international in Ausstellungen gezeigt. Seit 2010 ist sie Mitglied des feministischen Filmverleihs Cinenova in London.

Filmografie

1996 Doch bin ich wirklich; Videoinstallation, 38 Min. 1997 England–Deutschland; Videoinstallation, 171 Min. 1998 Mensch, Tanja!; Videoinstallation, 30 Min. 1999 Kontaktfreudig, offen und gewandt im Umgang; Videoinstallation, 7 Min. 2000 Die unsichtbare Dienstleistung; Videoinstallation, 4 Min. 2001 A Country‘s New Dawn; 5 Min. 2004 The Making of a Demonstration; 10 Min. 2006 Traversée de la Mangrove; 38 Min. 2007 Passing the Rainbow; 71 Min. 2008 To Act in History; Videoinstallation, 21 Min. 2011 On the Set of 1978ff; Videoinstallation, 58 Min. 2013 Notes on Pasolini’s Form of a City. Sana’a, Sabaudia, Rome; Videoinstallation, 25 Min. 2014 Başakşehir: An Urban Model; Videoinstallation 2016 Mleeta; Videoinstallation, 12 Min., Forum Expanded 2016 2017 Constructed Futures: Haret Hreik

Produktion

mazefilm
Berlin, Deutschland

www.mazefilm.de/

Akademie der Künste der Welt
Köln, Deutschland

www.academycologne.org/de/

Urban Subjects
Wien, Österreich