Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Generation 14plus

Weirdos

## ##

‘I am a weirdo.’ · ‘Honey, she is a weirdo, too. We are all weirdos. That’s what makes us beautiful.’

In laconic black-and-white images, Bruce McDonald tells the humorous story of two adolescent runaways, Kit and Alice. On the eve of the 1976 United States Bicentennial, the film accompanies the two hitchhikers on a turbulent journey through the breathtaking landscape of the Canadian east coast, set to a quintessentially 1970s soundtrack. While Kit wants to start a new life in his glamorous but unstable mother's artist commune, Alice makes no bones about her longing for romance. Yet in the glow of the crackling campfire of a beach party, they both reach new insights that put their relationship to the test. Likewise, the day following their joyous reunion sees Kit and his mother facing up to some uncomfortable truths.

by
Bruce McDonald

Canada 2016

English

84 min · Black/White

With

Dylan Authors (Kit)
Julia Sarah Stone (Alice)
Molly Parker (Laura)
Allan Hawco (Dave)

Crew

Director
Bruce McDonald
Screenplay
Daniel MacIvor
Director of Photography
Becky Parsons
Editor
Duff Smith
Music
Asif Illyas
Sound Design
Eric Leclerc
Sound
Andrew Rillie
Production Design
Matt Likely
Costumes
Bethana Briffett
Make-up
Lindsay Thorne
Casting
Gil Anderson
Assistant Director
Keith White
Production Manager
Marc Tetreault
Producers
Marc Almon, Mike MacMillan, Bruce McDonald
Executive Producer
Marc Savoie

Biography

Bruce McDonald

Born in Kingston, Canada in 1959, he is a director known for his irreverent, eclectic style and his love of music and pop culture. His work first appeared at the Berlinale in 1990 with his debut feature film Roadkill. His later films The Love Crimes Of Gillian Guess and The Tracey Fragments both screened in the Panorama section. He currently lives with his wife and their daughter in Toronto, enjoys Italian food and loves the Miles Davis album 'Bitches Brew'.

Filmography (selection)

1989 Roadkill 1991 Highway 61 2004 The Love Crimes of Gillian Guess (Die Liebesverbrechen der Gillian Guess) 2007 The Tracey Fragments 2008 Pontypool 2010 This Movie is Broken 2013 The Husband 2016 Weirdos

Produced by

Holdfast Pictures Inc.
Halifax, Canada

Lithium Studios Productions Inc.
Toronto, Canada

Shadow Shows Inc.
Toronto, Canada

World sales

Double Dutch International
Aurora, Canada
+1 416 9533212

www.doubledutchinternational.com

Berlinale: Programm


Generation 14plus

Weirdos

## ##

„Ich bin ein Weirdo.“ · „Liebling. Sie ist auch ein Weirdo. Wir alle sind Weirdos. Gerade darum sind wir doch so großartig.“

In lakonischen Schwarz-Weiß-Bildern erzählt Bruce McDonald die humorvolle Geschichte der zwei jugendlichen Ausreißer*innen Kit und Alice. Am Vorabend des amerikanischen Bicentennials 1976 begleitet der Film die beiden Anhalter*innen auf einer turbulenten Reise durch die atemberaubende Landschaft der kanadischen Ostküste, getrieben vom Soundtrack dieser Tage. Kit sucht ein neues Leben in der Künstlerkommune seiner mondänen, aber labilen Mutter, Alice macht keinen Hehl aus ihren romantischen Sehnsüchten. Doch im Schein des knisternden Lagerfeuers einer Strandparty finden beide zu Erkenntnissen, die ihre Beziehung auf die Probe stellen. Auch Kit und seine Mutter müssen sich am folgenden Tag, nach großer Wiedersehensfreude, verdrängten Wahrheiten stellen.

von
Bruce McDonald

Kanada 2016

Englisch

84 Min · Schwarz-Weiß

Mit

Dylan Authors (Kit)
Julia Sarah Stone (Alice)
Molly Parker (Laura)
Allan Hawco (Dave)

Stab

Regie
Bruce McDonald
Buch
Daniel MacIvor
Kamera
Becky Parsons
Schnitt
Duff Smith
Musik
Asif Illyas
Sound Design
Eric Leclerc
Ton
Andrew Rillie
Production Design
Matt Likely
Kostüm
Bethana Briffett
Maske
Lindsay Thorne
Casting
Gil Anderson
Regieassistenz
Keith White
Production Manager
Marc Tetreault
Produzenten
Marc Almon, Mike MacMillan, Bruce McDonald
Ausführender Produzent
Marc Savoie

Biografie

Bruce McDonald

Geboren 1959 in Kingston, Kanada. Der Regisseur ist bekannt für seinen respektlosen, eklektischen Stil und seine Liebe zur Musik und Popkultur. Er war bereits 1990 mit seinem Spielfilmdebüt Roadkill auf der Berlinale zu Gast; seine späteren Filme The Love Crimes Of Gillian Guess und The Tracey Fragments waren in der Sektion Panorama zu sehen. Derzeit lebt er mit seiner Frau und ihrer gemeinsamen Tochter in Toronto. Er mag italienisches Essen und liebt das Miles-Davis-Album Album „Bitches Brew“.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1989 Roadkill 1991 Highway 61 2004 The Love Crimes of Gillian Guess (Die Liebesverbrechen der Gillian Guess) 2007 The Tracey Fragments 2008 Pontypool 2010 This Movie is Broken 2013 The Husband 2016 Weirdos

Produktion

Holdfast Pictures Inc.
Halifax, Kanada

Lithium Studios Productions Inc.
Toronto, Kanada

Shadow Shows Inc.
Toronto, Kanada

Weltvertrieb

Double Dutch International
Aurora, Kanada
+1 416 9533212

www.doubledutchinternational.com