Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Forum Expanded

Tashlikh (Cast Off)

## ## ## ## ##

Private belongings are material testimonies of personal histories, which evoke feelings, thoughts, and ideas connected to past experiences. In the context of war and survival, such objects become both comforting and hurtful signifiers of a world that has been lost, or is no longer accessible. In many cases, they are kept and cherished, even achieving a certain degree of sanctity, while also operating as a continuous reminder of the devastating past. Yael Bartana’s video Tashlikh (Cast Off) serves as a platform for both perpetrators and survivors of genocides or ethnic persecutions to confront their personal, material links to the horrors. Inspired by the Jewish custom of ‘Tashlikh,’ in which sins are cast into the depths of the sea, Bartana’s work generates a ritual that consists of the deliberate discarding of objects as a means of psychological liberation.

Yael Bartana

Israel / Netherlands 2017

Without dialogue

12 min · Colour


Yael Bartana
Director of Photography
Mick Van Rossum
Yael Bartana
Sound Design
Daniel Meir
Visual Effects
Eran Feller
Production Design
Hagar Ophir
Assistant Director
Itamar Gov
Production Manager
Eike Wendland
Naama Pyritz, Yael Bartana
Commissioned by
CCA Tel-Aviv, n.b.k.


Yael Bartana

Yael Bartana, born in 1970 in Kfar Yehezkel, Israel, is a visual artist and filmmaker who lives and works between Berlin and Amsterdam. Her films, photography, and sound works explore the imagery of identity and the politics of memory. Central to her works are aspects of society interweaving past and present, reality and fiction, the conceptual and the emotional, as well as the implications of terms such as ‘displacement,’ ‘assimilation,’ or ‘homeland.’ Bartana represented Poland at the 54th Venice Biennale and has had numerous solo exhibitions around the world. She has also participated in leading international exhibitions.

Filmography (video installations)

2000 Profile; 3 min. 2001 Tuning; 2 min. · Trembling Time; 6 min. 2003 Kings of the Hill; 7 min. · When Adar Enters; 7 min. · Ad de’lo Yoda; 3 min. · Freedom Border; 3 min. 2004 Low Relief II; 6 min. · You Could Be Lucky; 7 min. 2005 Odds and Ends; 4 min. · Siren’s Song; 4 min. · Wild Seeds; 7 min. 2006 A Declaration; 7 min. 2007 Summer Camp / Awodah; 12 min. 2008 And Europe Will Be Stunned: Mary Koszmary (Nightmares); 11 min. 2009 And Europe Will Be Stunned: Mur i wieża (Wall and Tower); 15 min. 2010 Enartete Kunst Lebt; 5 min., Forum Expanded 2011 · The Recorder Player from Sheikh Jarrah; 7 min. 2011 And Europe Will Be Stunned: Zamach (Assassination); 35 min. 2013 Inferno; 22 min., Forum Expanded 2014 2014 True Finn; 50 min. · Pardes (Orchard); 71 min. 2017 Tashlikh (Cast Off)

Produced by

Ingenue Productions Ltd
Tel Aviv, Israel
+972 522443078

My-i Productions
Amsterdam, Netherlands
+31 615658922

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Tashlikh (Cast Off)

## ## ## ## ##

Private Gegenstände sind materielle Zeugen persönlicher Geschichten, die Gefühle, Gedanken und Vorstellungen hervorrufen, die mit vergangenen Erlebnissen verbunden sind. Im Zusammenhang mit Krieg und Überleben werden solche Objekte sowohl zu tröstenden als auch schmerzlichen Bedeutungsträgern einer verlorenen oder nicht mehr erreichbaren Welt. Oft werden sie gehegt und gepflegt, ja fast schon glorifiziert, während sie gleichzeitig eine ständige Erinnerung an die katastrophale Vergangenheit sind. Yael Bartanas Arbeit Tashlikh (Cast Off) fungiert sowohl für Täter als auch Überlebende von Genoziden oder ethnischen Verfolgungen als Plattform, um sich ihren persönlichen materiellen Beziehungen zum Grauen zu stellen. Die Arbeit ist inspiriert vom jüdischen Brauch ,Taschlich‘, bei dem Sünden in der Tiefe des Meeres versenkt werden, und erschafft ein Ritual, das ein bewusstes Aussondern von Objekten als Mittel zur seelischen Befreiung darstellt.

von
Yael Bartana

Israel / Niederlande 2017

Ohne Dialog

12 Min · Farbe

Stab

Regie
Yael Bartana
Kamera
Mick Van Rossum
Schnitt
Yael Bartana
Sound Design
Daniel Meir
Visual Effects
Eran Feller
Production Design
Hagar Ophir
Regieassistenz
Itamar Gov
Production Manager
Eike Wendland
Produzentinnen
Naama Pyritz, Yael Bartana
In Auftrag gegeben von
CCA Tel-Aviv, n.b.k.

Biografie

Yael Bartana

Yael Bartana, geboren 1970 in Kfar Yehezkel, Israel, ist Künstlerin und Filmemacherin. Sie lebt und arbeitet zwischen Berlin und Amsterdam. Ihre Arbeiten im Bereich Film, Fotografie und Sound untersuchen die Bildsprache von Identität und die Politik von Erinnerung. Gesellschaftliche Aspekte, die Vergangenheit und Zukunft, Realität und Fiktion, das Konzeptuelle und das Emotionale verweben sowie die Bedeutung von Begriffen wie ,Vertreibung‘, ,Integration‘ oder ,Heimat‘ sind zentral in ihrer Praxis. Bartana repräsentierte Polen auf der 54. Biennale di Venezia und war in zahlreichen Einzelausstellungen weltweit vertreten.

Filmografie (Videoinstallationen)

2000 Profile; 3 Min. 2001 Tuning; 2 Min. · Trembling Time; 6 Min. 2003 Kings of the Hill; 7 Min. · When Adar Enters; 7 Min. · Ad de’lo Yoda; 3 Min. · Freedom Border; 3 Min. 2004 Low Relief II; 6 Min. · You Could Be Lucky; 7 Min. 2005 Odds and Ends; 4 Min. · Siren’s Song; 4 Min. · Wild Seeds; 7 Min. 2006 A Declaration; 7 Min. 2007 Summer Camp / Awodah; 12 Min. 2008 And Europe Will Be Stunned: Mary Koszmary (Nightmares); 11 Min. 2009 And Europe Will Be Stunned: Mur i wieża (Wall and Tower); 15 Min. 2010 Enartete Kunst Lebt; 5 Min., Forum Expanded 2011 · The Recorder Player from Sheikh Jarrah; 7 Min. 2011 And Europe Will Be Stunned: Zamach (Assassination); 35 Min. 2013 Inferno; 22 Min., Forum Expanded 2014 2014 True Finn; 50 Min. · Pardes (Orchard); 71 Min. 2017 Tashlikh (Cast Off)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2017

Produktion

Ingenue Productions Ltd

My-i Productions