Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


Teddy30

The only official LGBTIQ (in short, queer) film prize at an A-festival in the world celebrated its 30th anniversary in 2016: the Teddy Award. An offshoot of the Panorama, the prize has been awarded since 1987 in the categories Short Film, Documentary and Feature to works relevant to queer culture. Eligible every year are films from all of the Berlinale sections. Meanwhile, the award has achieved international significance. The anniversary programme presented a total of 17 films.

In 1987, before the still unknown directors Gus Van Sant (Best Short Films: Five Ways to Kill Yourself and My New Friend) and Pedro Almodóvar (Best Feature: Law of Desire) could be awarded the first Teddys, a number of filmmakers had already proven the existence of a cinematic culture that went far beyond the heteronormative mainstream. They included female directors, such as Ulrike Ottinger, Greta Schiller or Chantal Akerman, who is now deeply missed; and male directors, such as the Spaniard Agustí Vilaronga, the Israeli Dan Wolman or Lothar Lambert, who has contributed innumerable films to the Berlinale (not to mention the well-known greats of a distinctively gay cinema, such as Rosa von Praunheim, Werner Schroeter, Rainer Werner Fassbinder or Derek Jarman). For 2016 the Teddy put together an anniversary programme of rarely seen works, some of which had been made before the award came into existence, and were also why it was established in the first place.

Teddy - How it all began | A short introduction by Panorama curator Wieland Speck

In this context, the Panorama will be presenting a special screening, the world premiere of the restoration of Anders als die Andern (Different from the Others, Germany 1919). This film by Richard Oswald was the first gay film in cinematic history. Its restoration has been carried out by the Outfest Legacy Project / UCLA Film & Television Archive in Los Angeles and underscores the need to archive films on 35mm, at present the only reliable storage medium.

The films

1 Berlin Harlem – Germany (Federal Republic), 1974
By Lothar Lambert, Wolfram Zobus
Legendary film from super-indy filmmaker Lambert, one time most-featured Berlinale director, about the forms of racism in Berlin’s vibrant lifestyle at the time of the film's making. Brimming with cameos galore: alongside leading actor Conrad Jennings the likes of Ortrud Beginnen, Tally Brown, Ingrid Caven, Peter Chatel, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Günter Kaufmann, Dietmar Kracht, Evelyn Künneke, Lothar Lambert, Y Sa Lo, Bernd Lubowski, Brigitte Mira, Vera Müller can all be seen.

Anders als die Andern (Different from the Others) - Germany, 1919
By Richard Oswald
A significant world premiere: realised by the Outfest UCLA Legacy Project/UCLA Film & Television Archive, the newly-restored version of this cultural document of immeasurable value is screened for the first time – in a 35mm print, still the only reliable archive medium.

Before Stonewall – USA, 1984
By Greta Schiller, Robert Rosenberg
Info-Schau (former title of Panorama) 1985
The legendary film from Greta Schiller reveals a lot which is missing from Roland Emmerich's Stonewall - but nevertheless agrees with him in quite a few details. The world "before Stonewall", the beginning of the post-war gay rights movement: the German portrait of this dark Adenauer era in which homosexuals were transferred directly from concentration camps to West German correctional facilities and have not been rehabilitated is yet to come.
Greta Schiller later gained renown with Paris Was A Woman which she screened together with her partner and screenwriter Andrea Weiß in the 1996 Panorama.

Die Betörung der Blauen Matrosen (The Enchantment of the Blue Sailors) - Germany (Federal Republic), 1975
By Ulrike Ottinger
Ulrike Ottinger won the Special Teddy Award in 2012 for her incomparable lifetime achievement, of which this enchanting queer film is an early example even before her groundbreaking films Madame X and Bildnis einer Trinkerin (Ticket of No Return).

Die Wiese der Sachen (The Meadow of Things) - Germany (Federal Republic), 1974-1987
By Heinz Emigholz
Panorama / Teddy Award winner 1988
At a time when New German Cinema still appeared to be elusive, this artist and architect amongst West German filmmakers inspired with strikingly visual collages, associative streams and intellectual juxtapositions. An important work from an important German filmmaker.

Gendernauts - Eine Reise durch die Geschlechter (Gendernauts - A Journey Through Shifting Identities) - Germany, 1999
By Monika Treut
Panorama / Teddy Award winner 1999
One of the early researchers into the walled-in, gender-dualistic world of female and male, Monika Treut is at once a pioneer and veteran of Queer Cinema - an icon of the emancipation movement. She has screened numerous works in Panorama.

Hedwig and The Angry Inch - USA 2001
By John Cameron Mitchell
Panorama / Teddy Award winner 2001
Hedwig was once called Hansel and lived in East Berlin. After an operation and having crossed the border she now finds herself deserted by love, in pursuit of rock star Tommy, playing small clubs with her band in the US. This musical was produced by Christine Vachon, who is receiving a Special Teddy Award in 2016.

Je, tu, il, elle (I, You, He, She) - France / Belgium, 1974
By Chantal Akerman
In her boundary-breaking feature debut Chantal Akermann herself plays a young woman who seeks to address her experience of isolation through the study of other individuals. In tribute to Chantal Akerman, Panorama is screening two of her films: alongside Je, tu, il, elle, her Panorama film from 1983, Toute une nuit (A Whole Night).

Looking for Langston - United Kingdom, 1989
By Isaac Julien
Panorama / Teddy Award winner 1989
Now a star of the video art world, Isaac Julien has always first and foremost been a poetical activist, aesthete and cultural historian in the service of emancipation. This montage of archive material, dramatised scenes and literary texts creates an image of black gay identity exemplified by the life and work of Langston Hughes during the “Harlem Renaissance” in 1930s and 1940s New York City.

Machboim (Hide and Seek) – Israel, 1979
By Dan Wolman
Info-Schau (former title of Panorama) 1980
Today it is exactly the same as 36 years ago: love between Arabs and Jews is punished, hate and murder are accepted as normality. Dan Wolman casts a brave early look at this never-to-be-accepted situation.

Marble Ass – Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, 1995
By Želimir Žilnik
Panorama / Teddy Award winner 1995
Žilnik counters the homophobia and transphobia of Balkan societies which came to light years after the fall of the Berlin Wall with an early and anarchistic stand in what is still, to this day, one of the most extraordinary films to emerge from the entire region

Nitrate Kisses – USA, 1992
By Barbara Hammer
Forum 1993
A never seen in this way before, sensitively creative conquest of the female sexual realm, radically beyond the prescriptions of mainstream culture. Barbara Hammer has screened many of her works at the Berlinale.

Parting Glances - USA 1986
By Bill Sherwood
One of the first films which realistically, poetically and brutally embraced the then still taboo topic of AIDS. Parting Glances remained Bill Sherwood's only feature-length film – in 1990 he, too, died from the disease which is still wide-spread to this day.

The Watermelon Woman – USA, 1996
By Cheryl Dunye
Panorama / Teddy Award winner 1996
Racist tendencies might appear to have been expunged from emancipation and gender discourse – but this is far from being the case. The racism inherent in mainstream culture is not necessarily recognised as such by alternative thinkers. Dunye takes a stance with a reflection on a representative figure of this complex issue.

Tongues Untied – USA, 1989
By Marlon Riggs
Panorama / Teddy Award winner 1990
An early work of queer black emancipation from the then beacon of hope in the Afro-American gay rights movement – another artist and intellectual who died far too young from AIDS.

Toute une nuit (A Whole Night) - France / Belgium, 1982
By Chantal Akerman
Info-Schau (former title of Panorama) 1983
The director at the forefront of the post-war gender debate was already present in only the third year of the Info-Schau with this film. Virtuoso atmospheres between people and things, between spirit and world and time and space distinguish the work of this passionate artist who took her own life in October 2015. Panorama is screening two films in tribute to Chantal Akerman: alongside Toute une nuit, her debut from 1974, the radical Je, tu, il, elle (I, You, He, She).

Tras el cristal (In a Glass Cage) – Spain, 1987
By Agustí Vilaronga
A scandalous film at the time of making: an old Nazi and his young carer in Spain. A truly dark work about dark subject matters, the concealment and unrepentant nature of the post-fascist Spanish world when it had not yet begun to grapple analytically and politically with those grim times. In 2000 Vilaronga won the Manfred Salzgeber Prize with El Mar.

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


Teddy30

Der weltweit einzige LGBTIQ – kurz: queere - offizielle Filmpreis auf einem A-Festival feierte 2016 30-jähriges Jubiläum: der Teddy Award. Aus dem Panorama hervorgegangen, wird der Preis seit 1987 in den Kategorien Kurz-, Dokumentar- und Spielfilm an queer-relevante Filme aus dem gesamten Berlinale-Programm vergeben und ist sich inzwischen weltweiter Aufmerksamkeit sicher. Das Jubiläumsprogramm zeigte insgesamt 17 Filme.

Bevor 1987 den damals noch unbekannten Regisseuren Gus Van Sant (für die Kurzfilme Five Ways to Kill Yourself und My New Friend) und Pedro Almodóvar (für den Spielfilm Law of Desire) die Teddys überreicht werden konnten, hatten schon längst Filmemacherinnen wie Ulrike Ottinger, Greta Schiller oder die seit Oktober 2015 schmerzlich vermisste Chantal Akerman und Filmemacher wie der Spanier Agustí Vilaronga, der Israeli Dan Wolman oder der auf der Berlinale vielgezeigte Lothar Lambert die Existenz einer Filmkultur bewiesen, die weit über den heteronormativen Mainstream hinausweist (ganz zu schweigen von den bekannten Größen eines dezidiert schwulen Kinos wie Rosa von Praunheim, Werner Schroeter, Rainer Werner Fassbinder oder Derek Jarman). Der Teddy 2016 feierte mit einem Jubiläumsprogramm selten gesehene Werke, die teils vor der Preisgründung entstanden und diesen überhaupt erst notwendig machten.

Teddy - How it all began | Eine kurze Einführung von Panorama-Kurator Wieland Speck

Als Besonderheit zeigt das Panorama in diesem Zusammenhang die Weltpremiere der Erst-Restauration von Anders als die Andern, Deutschland 1919. Der Film von Richard Oswald ist der erste schwule Film der Filmgeschichte. Die Restaurierung wurde vom Outfest Legacy Project / UCLA Film & Television Archive in Los Angeles durchgeführt und markiert die Notwendigkeit der Archivierung auf 35mm, dem bislang einzigen verlässlichen Archivmedium.

Die Filme

1 Berlin Harlem – Deutschland (BRD), 1974
Von Lothar Lambert, Wolfram Zobus'
Legendärer Film des Super-Indies Lambert, dem zeitweise meistgespielten Berlinale-Regisseur, über die Formen des Rassismus im Lebensgefühl Berlins zur Entstehungszeit des Films. Mit Cameos Galore: Neben Hauptdarsteller Conrad Jennings sind zu erleben Ortrud Beginnen, Tally Brown, Ingrid Caven, Peter Chatel, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Günter Kaufmann, Dietmar Kracht, Evelyn Künneke, Lothar Lambert, Y Sa Lo, Bernd Lubowski, Brigitte Mira, Vera Müller uva.

Anders als die Andern (Different from the Others) – Deutschland, 1919
Von Richard Oswald
Eine bedeutungsvolle Weltpremiere: Erstmals wird die vom Outfest UCLA Legacy Project/UCLA Film Television & Archive realisierte, neu restaurierte Fassung dieses kulturellen Dokuments von unschätzbarem Wert vorgeführt – als 35mm-Kopie, dem einzig verlässlichen Archivierungsmedium.

Before Stonewall – USA, 1984
Von Greta Schiller, Robert Rosenberg
Berlinale Info-Schau (später Panorama) 1985
Der legendäre Film von Greta Schiller zeigt viel von dem, was man in Roland Emmerichs Stonewall vermisste - und gibt ihm dennoch in nicht wenigen Details Recht. Die Welt "vor Stonewall", dem Beginn der Nachkriegs-Schwulenbewegung: Das deutsche Portrait dieser finsteren Adenauerzeit, in der Schwule aus den KZs direkt in die bundesrepublikanischen Zuchthäuser wanderten und bis heute nicht rehabilitiert sind, steht noch aus.
Greta Schiller wurde später berühmt mit Paris Was A Woman, den sie zusammen mit ihrer Lebensgefährtin und Autorin Andrea Weiss 1996 im Panorama zeigte.

Die Betörung der Blauen Matrosen – Deutschland (BRD), 1975
Von Ulrike Ottinger
Ulrike Ottinger bekam 2012 den Special Teddy Award für ihr mit nichts zu vergleichendem Lebenswerk, dessen frühes Beispiel dieser berückend queere Film ist, noch vor ihren stilsetzenden Werken Madame X und Bildnis einer Trinkerin.

Die Wiese der Sachen – Deutschland (BRD), 1974-1987
Von Heinz Emigholz
Panorama / Teddy-Gewinner 1988
Als das neue deutsche Kino noch nicht wirklich fassbar erschien, inspirierte der Künstler und Architekt unter den westdeutschen Filmemachern mit bildstarken Collagen, Assoziations-Flüssen und intellektuellen Juxtapositionen. Ein wichtiges Werk eines wichtigen deutschen Filmemachers.

Gendernauts - Eine Reise durch die Geschlechter – Deutschland, 1999
Von Monika Treut
Panorama / Teddy-Gewinner 1999
Eine der frühen Erforscherinnen der geschlechtsdualistisch eingefriedeten Welt von Frau oder Mann ist Monika Treut Pionierin und Veteranin des queeren Kinos zugleich - eine Ikone der Emanzipationsbewegungen. Sie zeigte zahlreiche ihrer Werke im Panorama.

Hedwig and The Angry Inch - USA 2001
Von John Cameron Mitchell
Panorama / Teddy-Gewinner 2001
Hedwig hieß einst Hansel und lebte in Ost-Berlin. Nach Operation und Grenzübertritt von der Liebe verlassen, tingelt sie mit Band durch die USA, dem Rockstar Tommy hinterher. Produziert wurde das Musical von Christine Vachon, Special-Teddy-Preisträgerin 2016.

Je, tu, il, elle (I, You, He, She) – Frankreich / Belgien, 1974
Von Chantal Akerman
In ihrem Grenzen sprengenden Spielfilmdebüt stellt Chantal Akermann selbst eine junge Frau dar, die ihre erlebte Isolation mit dem Studium anderer Individuen zu begegnen sucht. Panorama zeigt im Gedenken an Chantal Akerman zwei ihrer Filme: neben Je, tu, il, elle auch ihren Panorama-Beitrag von 1983, Toute une nuit.

Looking for Langston – Großbritannien, 1989
Von Isaac Julien
Panorama / Teddy-Gewinner 1989
Inzwischen ein Star im Bereich Video Art ist Isaac Julien auch und zuvörderst poetischer Aktivist, Ästhet und Kulturhistoriker im emanzipatorischen Dienst. Aus der Montage von Archivmaterial mit Spielszenen und literarischen Texten entsteht ein Bild schwuler schwarzer Identität, für die Leben und Werk von Langston Hughes zurzeit der „Harlem Renaissance“ im New York der 1930er und 1940er-Jahre exemplarisch steht.

Machboim (Hide and Seek) – Israel, 1979
Von Dan Wolman
Berlinale Info-Schau (später Panorama)1980
Heute wie vor 36 Jahren: Liebe zwischen Arabern und Juden wird bestraft, Hass und Morden wird als Normalität verhandelt. Dan Wolman wirft früh einen mutigen Blick auf diese niemals zu akzeptierende Situation.

Marble Ass – Jugoslawien, 1995
Von Želimir Žilnik
Panorama / Teddy-Gewinner 1995
Der Jahre nach dem Mauerfall offen zutage tretenden Homo- und Transphobie der Balkangesellschaften setzte Zilnik früh ein anarchistisches Zeichen entgegen. Einer der ungewöhnlichsten Filme aus der ganzen Region, bis heute.

Nitrate Kisses – USA, 1992
Von Barbara Hammer
Forum 1993
So noch nie gesehene, sensibel-schöpferische Eroberung des sexuellen Raums für Frauen, radikal jenseits der Vorgaben der Mainstream-Kultur. Barbara Hammer zeigte viele ihrer Werke auf der Berlinale.

Parting Glances - USA 1986
Von Bill Sherwood
Einer der ersten Filme, der sich realistisch, poetisch und schonungslos des damals noch tabuisierten Themas AIDS annahm. Parting Glances blieb der einzige Langfilm von Bill Sherwood – auch er starb 1990 an der bis heute grassierenden Krankheit.

The Watermelon Woman – USA, 1996
Von Cheryl Dunye
Panorama / Teddy-Gewinner 1996
Im Emanzipations- und Genderdiskurs könnten rassistische Anwandlungen aufgelöst scheinen - weit gefehlt. Rassismus als der Mainstreamkultur inhärent wird von alternativen Denkerinnen nicht notwendigerweise als solcher erkannt. Dunye setzt mit der Betrachtung einer repräsentativen Figur dieses Komplexes ein Zeichen.

Tongues Untied – USA, 1989
Von Marlon Riggs
Panorama / Teddy-Gewinner 1990
Ein frühes Werk queerer schwarzer Emanzipation vom damaligen Hoffnungsträger der afroamerikanischen Schwulenbewegung - auch dieser Künstler und Intellektuelle starb viel zu früh an Aids.

Toute une nuit (A Whole Night) – Frankreich / Belgien, 1982
Von Chantal Akerman
Berlinale Info-Schau (später Panorama) 1983
Die Regisseurin der ersten Stunde in der Nachkriegs-Gender-Betrachtung war gleich im dritten Jahr der Info-Schau mit diesem Werk vertreten. Meisterhafte Stimmungen zwischen Mensch und Material, zwischen Geist und Welt und Zeit und Raum zeichnen die Werke dieser leidenschaftlichen Künstlerin aus, die sich im Oktober 2015 das Leben nahm. Panorama zeigt in ihrem Gedenken zwei Filme: neben Toute une nuit auch ihr Debüt von 1974, den radikalen Je, tu, il, elle.

Tras el cristal (In a Glass Cage) – Spanien, 1987
Von Agustí Vilaronga
Ein Skandalfilm zur Entstehungszeit: Ein Altnazi und sein junger Pfleger in Spanien. Ein wahrlich finsteres Werk zu düsteren Themen, der Versteckt- und Verstocktheit der spanischen nachfaschistischen Welt, die noch nicht begonnen hat, sich analytisch und politisch mit ihrer dunklen Zeit auseinanderzusetzen. 2000 gewann Vilaronga mit El Mar den Manfred-Salzgeber-Preis.