Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


Forum Expanded 2016:
The Magic of the Phantasm

The theme of the 11th Forum Expanded is “Traversing the Phantasm”. In this interview, head of section Stefanie Schulte Strathaus and co-curator Ulrich Ziemons discuss the creative power of working your way through something, narrative terrorists and a cinema experience entirely without images.

ESIOD 2015 by Clemens von Wedemeyer

“Traversing the Phantasm” is the title of the group exhibition and this year’s theme. How did you arrive at the French psychoanalyst Jacques Lacan?

SSS: Following last year’s tenth anniversary, we reflected on Forum Expanded and ascertained that opening up to and taking in something new is a central factor – whether it be fine art in a film festival, meaning not just installations but also new discourses and perspectives, or films from parts of the world which do not correspond to the concept of experimental film as shaped by the West. We want the works to have a lasting effect on us in the institutional framework within which we move. And so we arrived at Lacan and the concept of the phantasm which encompasses both the imaginary and the real. The phantasm is not tangible, you can only work your way through it in order to then end up somewhere else.

With this perspective, we began to look at the submissions and work our way through them. We often proceed in this manner. We find a theme which forms the common thread running through the discussions in our selection process. The works in this year’s programme have found very individual modes of expression, research tools and aesthetic forms with which to work through their individual topics in the Lacanian sense. This is what lies behind the “Traversing the Phantasm” title: the invitation to be open to the particular moment, to immerse yourself in the processes of perception and thought and to allow yourself to be changed, beyond the representation and conformity of what is required of art. I regard this as an act of liberation for the viewer. The filmmakers and artists utilise this in their work.

To what extent does Anton Vidokle’s The Communist Revolution Was Caused By The Sun grapple with phantasms?

UZ: We already screened a film by Anton Vidokle last year. At the moment, he is focusing on Russian cosmism. One of the proponents of this school of thought who is preoccupied with the effect of solar activity on human behaviour is at the centre of his new film. An incredible technical device is shown which functions like a parabolic antenna. It was developed to collect solar radiation and make it utilisable. This is of course also about invisibleness and phantasms. Which forces operate within and influence the cosmos and how do they correlate with wars and famine?

Part of the exhibition "Traversing the Phantasm": Terra Nullius or: How to be a Nationalist by James T. Hong

In geopolitical terms, the phantasm currently experiencing a strong revival is the nation state. Is this visible in the 2016 works?

SSS: Many of the works deal with this very intensively. James T Hong explicitly addresses this subject matter in Terra Nullius or: How to be a Nationalist. It is about the Senkaku Islands in the East China Sea which are claimed by Japan, Taiwan and China. The conflict dates from time immemorial and has in the meantime been reduced to purely nationalistic stances which mean there is no longer any rational reasoning.

In The Illinois Parables, Deborah Stratmann works through the history of this American state and, in eleven parables, singles out moments in its local history which shed light on the phantasms deriving from the idea of a nation state and reveal their absurdity.

UZ: The examinations of ideology and mythology run in various directions. Some works pursue these issues historically. For example, Abu Ammar is Coming, Naeem Mohaiemen’s work about the solidarity uniting freedom fighters in Bangladesh and the PLO. Legend has it that combatants from Bangladesh fought on the PLO’s side in Lebanon. With the aid of a photo, Mohaiemen tries to establish the verisimilitude of this legend.

Bunker Drama by Mike Crane shows the slaving away on one’s own national history. In Lithuania, an actor puts on history shows in a former Soviet bunker. People sent there include unemployed youths, courtesy of EU funding. They go through a simulated Soviet military training to make them fit for the job market – complete with a yelling Red Army general and a strongly biased image of Soviet times.

Egypt has undergone a lot as a nation state in recent years. Is there evidence of the political upheavals in the Egyptian films in the programme?

SSS: Of the four Egyptian films in the programme, three refer explicitly to the history of the country’s film and media. The films have become more experimental and personal and deal rather indirectly with the situation in their country. They are an expression of turning towards individual subjectivity and yet, at the same time, the experiences of recent years shine through because in Egypt the political permeates every aspect of life. The artists want to position themselves and discover different ways of expression, an individual visual language.

In the Future They Ate from the Finest Porcelain by Larissa Sansour and Soren Lind

I will have become

To return to Lacan once again: the futur antérieur appears frequently in the film theory of the 1970s. Is this form of the future perfect tense still useful for describing films today?

SSS: In 2016 we have a lot of science fiction which, in its furthest possible distance from the present, says substantially more about today than about the future. In the Future They Ate from the Finest Porcelain by Larissa Sansour and Soren Lind expands the futur antèriour even further: from the future perspective, a fictitious past is constructed for archaeologists. The actions are directed from tomorrow back into yesterday.

UZ: So the present will have become a different past in the future. The film revolves around a character who calls herself a “narrative terrorist”. She buries porcelain in the hope that it will be found by archaeologists in the future who will then make speculations about our present. And, via these future speculations, she seeks to change the present. The computer animated spaceships stand in landscapes upon which archive photos are also projected. Thus, various layers of time are found in the images as well as in the subject matter.

SSS: Although the spaceships are science fiction, they look utterly old-fashioned. These fantasies have been with us for so long that they prompt nostalgia. That is also a way of working through the phantasms.

The Future of the Archive

In 2016 you have again extensively addressed the archive as a subject matter. What is your understanding of time in relation to archive?

SSS: Our concept of time is precisely expressed in the title “Visionary Archives 2” under which we have brought together the events about archive in the programme. An archive is primarily associated with history and the past, “visionary”, in contrast, focuses on the future. That is our general understanding of archive: the use of archive in practice is always a projection into the past or the future.

In our curating work, we are increasingly encountering projects which deal with alleged or found archives – that is, archives which have never before been declared as such. They allow the visionary and phantasmagorical nature of every archive to be recognised more clearly.

„Reclaiming History, Unveiling Moment“

One example is Nigeria where 300 rolls of film and audio tape had been stored in appalling conditions and have now been rediscovered. During colonial times, the British Film Institute set up a film laboratory and provided cameras to make documentaries. Parts of the resulting material were left in Nigeria by the British, others were created after they departed, because they left the equipment and lab behind. These films are completely unknown and in a condition that is close to disintegration. Which is tragic, because there is hardly any visual material from the country’s history. We are presenting this archive without having the possibility of showing any of it beforehand – it is about the presentation of an absence and about discussing the meaning of this gap in memory during the "Reclaiming History, Unveiling Memory" event.

UZ: And found historical material always has an added value. With "VHS Cyprus: A lost history" we are presenting a VHS archive of films produced on video in Cyprus in the 1980s for the local market. These films were very eagerly received by Cypriots all over the world, primarily because they contained images from home. Their value lay not so much in the stories they told as in the locations where they were filmed which the audience would recognise.

Does the particular materiality of the medium have an influence on the form of memory? For example, in something like Zakerat Abad El Shams (A Stroll Down Sunflower Lane) by Mayye Zayed?

SSS: In this case it is actually about media history, about the camera, the difference between VHS and Super-8 material and the connection to official media history – to television, music. The practices of media use by individuals and the state are being placed in relation to each other.

UZ: The grandfather in this film has an obsession with recording everything. But the filmmaker herself does not have a single picture of her grandfather, because he was always behind the camera. Zakerat Abad El Shams is an attempt to create these memories visually, that is, to construct them before they disappear. Via its techniques, the film refers to a historical moment which occurred before the production of the images.

Now: End of Season by Ayman Nahle

Causes of Flight

One of the films in this year’s programme focuses explicitly on the situation of refugees: Now: End of Season by Ayman Nahle. Is this subject matter also expressed in other works?

SSS: The length of Now: End of Season by Ayman Nahle is measured by an unsuccessful phone conversation which the former Syrian President Hafiz al-Assad wants to have with Ronald Reagan. In the beginning their aids speak to each other. When the US side announces that Reagan will shortly be back from horse-riding and ready to talk, Assad comes on the line. But Reagan fails to arrive and the phone conversation does not take place. During the phone call, images are shown of the refugee situation in Istanbul today, which is above all one of waiting.

Travelling back into history and, for example, analysing the power structures between the capitalist West and the affected region helps to better understand the causes behind the refugees fleeing. We have many very powerful films in the Forum which, fully in keeping with the working through of phantasms, explore this topic in a way that, via the choice of their individual aesthetics, differs from mere representation. In Forum Expanded the topic is less explicitly in evidence although I can see almost no work in this year’s programme that is wholly divorced from it. The refugee movements are a symptom of a highly complex world situation in which we find ourselves, a geopolitical entanglement featuring a great many access points, histories and causes. I would rather locate the Forum Expanded programme here.

Although part of the exhibition: Pssst Leopard 2A7+ by Natascha Sadr Haghighian

What is the most unusual work this year?

SSS: We have a work without images: the installation Pssst Leopard 2A7+. The battle tank is being exported from Germany to Qatar. Natascha Sadr Haghighian has built a life-size demilitarised version which has an area made of Lego. In the middle of this area, with the diameter of the gun, circular headphone jacks have been mounted. There is something different to hear at each listening point – politicians, the news and, above all, sound works created by other artists for the project. When we discussed the work in our curatorial team, no one raised the question of missing images. It was clear to everyone that this is cinema. Pssst Leopard 2A7+ shows very clearly that some things cannot be visualised. And yet it is cinema – cinema inside the mind.

After 2013 you are once again using the silent green venue. What can visitors expect there?

SSS: Since November, the film archive of the Arsenal - Institute for Film and Video Art has been housed in silent green. In the run-up to the festival we compiled a list of analogue films from the archive which bear a relationship to the current productions in the Forum and Forum Expanded. During the Berlinale, these works can be viewed on flatbed editing tables. Here it is once again about showing what relevance an archive bears to the present. On a screen stretched between pillars in the prospective 800 square metre exhibition hall we are screening Xénogénèse by Akihiko Morishita, a work from the 1984 Forum. The artist himself is shown as a young man going round in circles. More and more scratches appear on the projected film and it looks as though Morishita is disappearing behind them. A very magical cinematic experience. But perhaps the magic is also a phantasm.

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


Forum Expanded 2016:
Die Magie des Phantasmas

„Traversing the Phantasm“ lautet das Thema des 11. Forum Expanded. Im Interview sprechen die Leiterin der Sektion Stefanie Schulte Strathaus und Mitkurator Ulrich Ziemons über die kreativen Kräfte des Durcharbeitens, narrative Terroristen und ein Kinoerlebnis ganz ohne Bilder.

ESIOD 2015 von Clemens von Wedemeyer

„Traversing the Phantasm“ lautet der Titel der Gruppenausstellung und das Thema dieses Jahres. Was hat Euch auf den französischen Psychoanalytiker Jacques Lacan gebracht?

SSS: Nach dem zehnjährigen Jubiläum letztes Jahr haben wir über Forum Expanded nachgedacht und festgestellt, dass die Öffnung, das Hineinholen von etwas Neuem ein zentrales Moment ist – sei es die Bildende Kunst in ein Filmfestival, d.h. nicht nur installative Arbeiten sondern auch neue Diskurse und Perspektiven, oder Filme aus Regionen der Welt, die nicht dem westlich geprägten Experimentalfilmverständnis entsprechen. Wir wollen, dass die Arbeiten uns in dem institutionellen Rahmen, in dem wir uns bewegen, nachhaltig verändern. So kamen wir auf Lacan und den Phantasmabegriff, der sowohl das Imaginäre, als auch das Reale umfasst. Das Phantasma ist nicht greifbar, man kann sich nur hindurcharbeiten, um woanders herauszukommen.

Mit diesem Blick haben wir begonnen, die Arbeiten zu sehen, uns durch sie durchzuarbeiten. So verfahren wir häufig. Wir finden ein Thema, das den roten Faden unserer Diskussionen bei der Auswahl bildet. Die Arbeiten im diesjährigen Programm haben sehr individuelle Ausdrucksformen, Recherchetools und ästhetische Formen gefunden, um wiederum ihr jeweiliges Thema im Lacanschen Sinne durchzuarbeiten. Das steckt hinter dem Titel „Traversing the Phantasma“: Die Einladung, sich für den jeweiligen Moment zu öffnen, in Wahrnehmungs- und Denkprozesse einzutauchen und Veränderung zuzulassen, jenseits von Repräsentation und Gleichschaltung der Ansprüche an die Kunst. Das halte ich für einen Akt der Befreiung für den Zuschauer. Die Filmemacher und Künstler nutzen das in ihren Arbeiten.

Inwieweit setzt sich Anton Vidokles The Communist Revolution Was Caused By The Sun mit Phantasmen auseinander?

UZ: Wir haben letztes Jahr schon einen Film von Anton Vidokle gezeigt. Er setzt sich im Moment mit dem russischen Kosmismus auseinander. Ein Vertreter dieser Denkrichtung, der sich mit der Auswirkung von Sonnenaktivitäten auf das Handeln der Menschen beschäftigt, steht im Zentrum seines neuen Films. Es ist ein unglaubliches technisches Gerät zu sehen, das wie eine Parabolantenne wirkt. Es wurde entwickelt, um die Sonnenstrahlung aufzufangen und nutzbar zu machen. Da geht es natürlich auch um Unsichtbarkeiten und Phantasmen. Welche Kräfte wirken und beeinflussen den Kosmos, wie steht das in Korrelation zu Kriegen und Hungersnöten?

In der Ausstellung „Traversing the Phantasm“ zu sehen: Terra Nullius or: How to be a Nationalist von James T. Hong

In geopolitischer Hinsicht ist ein Phantasma, das aktuell eine starke Wiederbelebung erfährt, der Nationalstaat. Spürt man das in den Arbeiten 2016?

SSS: Viele Arbeiten setzen sich sehr intensiv damit auseinander. James T. Hong macht es in Terra Nullius or: How to be a Nationalist explizit zum Thema. Es geht um Senkaku-Inseln im Ostchinesischen Meer, die sowohl von Japan, Taiwan als auch China beansprucht werden. Der Konflikt ist uralt und reduziert sich mittlerweile auf rein nationalstaatliche Attitüden, deshalb gibt es keine sinnvolle Argumentation mehr.

Deborah Stratmann arbeitet sich in The Illinois Parables durch die Historie des US-Bundesstaates und greift in elf Parabeln Momente der lokalen Geschichte heraus, um die nationalstaatlich begründeten Phantasmen zu durchleuchten und ad absurdum zu führen.

UZ: Die Auseinandersetzungen mit Ideologie und Mythologie gehen in die verschiedensten Richtungen. Einige Arbeiten verfolgen den Komplex historisch. Zum Beispiel Abu Ammar is Coming, Naeem Mohaiemens Arbeit über die Solidaritätsbeziehungen zwischen Freiheitskämpfern aus Bangladesch und der PLO. Es gibt die Legende, dass Kämpfer aus Bangladesch im Libanon an der Seite der PLO gekämpft haben. Anhand eines Fotos versucht Mohaiemen den Wahrheitsgehalt dieser Legende zu bestimmen.

Bunker Drama von Mike Crane zeigt das Sich-Abarbeiten an der eigenen nationalen Geschichte. In Litauen führt ein Schauspieler in einem ehemaligen sowjetischen Bunker Geschichtsshows auf. Unter anderem werden dort mit EU-Förderung arbeitslose Jugendliche hingeschickt. Sie durchlaufen ein nachgestelltes sowjetisches Militärtraining, um sie für den Arbeitsmarkt fit zu machen - einen schreienden Rote-Armee-General und ein stark gefärbtes Bild der Sowjetzeit inklusive.

Als Nationalstaat hat Ägypten in den letzten Jahren viel durchgemacht. Findet man Spuren der politischen Umbrüche in den programmierten ägyptischen Filmen?

SSS: Von vier ägyptischen Filmen im Programm beziehen sich drei explizit auf die ägyptische Film- und Mediengeschichte. Sie sind experimenteller und persönlicher geworden, sie beschäftigen sich eher mittelbar mit der Lage in ihrem Land. Sie sind Ausdruck einer Zuwendung zur eigenen Subjektivität. Gleichzeitig scheinen in ihnen durchaus die Erfahrungen der letzten Jahre auf, weil jeder Lebensbereich durchdrungen ist von Politik. Die Künstler wollen sich positionieren und andere Wege, eine eigene visuelle Sprache finden.

In the Future They Ate from the Finest Porcelain von Larissa Sansour und Soren Lind

Ich werde geworden sein

Um noch einmal auf Lacan zurückzukommen: Das Futur Antérieur taucht in der Filmtheorie der 1970er Jahre vermehrt auf. Lassen sich mit dieser Form der in der Zukunft vollendeten Gegenwart auch heute noch Filme beschreiben?

SSS: Wir haben 2016 viel Science-Fiction, die in der maximalen Entfernung von der Gegenwart wesentlich mehr über das Heute als über die Zukunft aussagt. In the Future They Ate from the Finest Porcelain von Larissa Sansour und Soren Lind weitet die Form des Futur Antérieur noch aus, indem aus der Zukunft heraus für Archäologen eine fiktive Geschichte konstruiert wird. Aus dem Morgen wird ins Gestern agiert.

UZ: Damit die Gegenwart in der Zukunft eine andere Vergangenheit geworden sein wird. Im Zentrum des Films steht eine Figur, die sich „narrative Terroristin“ nennt. Sie vergräbt Porzellan in der Hoffnung, dass es in der Zukunft von Archäologen gefunden wird, die dann Mutmaßungen anstellen werden über unsere Gegenwart. Sie versucht über die Spekulationen, die in der Zukunft stattfinden werden, die Gegenwart zu verändern. Die computeranimierten Raumschiffe stehen in Landschaften, in die auch Archivfotos projiziert werden. So finden sich die unterschiedlichsten Zeitebenen, sowohl im Bild als auch in dem, was verhandelt wird.

SSS: Obwohl die Raumschiffe Science-Fiction sind, sehen sie absolut altmodisch aus. Die Fantasien sind schon so lange in uns, dass sie Nostalgie auslösen. Das ist auch eine Form des Durcharbeitens von Phantasmen.

Die Zukunft des Archivs

Auch 2016 thematisiert Ihr ausgiebig das Archiv. Wie ist Euer Zeitverständnis des Archivs?

SSS: Im Titel „Visionary Archives 2“, unter dem die Veranstaltungen zum Archiv im Programm versammelt sind, kommt unser Zeitverständnis exakt zum Ausdruck. Ein Archiv ist zunächst mit Geschichte und Vergangenheit assoziiert, „Visionary“ hingegen ist in die Zukunft gerichtet. Das ist unser generelles Archivverständnis: die Archivpraxis ist immer eine Projektion in die Gegenwart oder die Zukunft.

In unserer kuratorischen Arbeit sind uns immer mehr Projekte begegnet, die sich mit behaupteten oder gefundenen Archiven beschäftigen, also Archiven, die noch nie als solche deklariert wurden. An ihnen lässt sich das visionäre und phantasmatische Wesen jedes Archivs noch besser erkennen.

„Reclaiming History, Unveiling Moment“

Ein Beispiel ist Nigeria, wo 300 Film- und Tonrollen unter sehr schlechten Bedingungen gelagert und jetzt wiederentdeckt wurden. Das British Film Institute hatte zu Kolonialzeiten ein Kopierwerk errichtet und Kameras zur Verfügung gestellt, um Dokumentarfilme zu realisieren. Einen Teil des entstandenen Materials haben die Engländer in Nigeria gelassen, bzw. es ist erst nach ihrem Weggang entstanden, weil sie die Ausrüstung und das Kopierwerk zurückgelassen haben. Diese Filme sind komplett unbekannt und die Kopien in einem Zustand nahe der Auflösung. Das ist tragisch, weil es kaum Bildmaterial aus der Geschichte des Landes gibt. Wir werden dieses Archiv präsentieren, ohne bis dato irgendetwas zeigen zu können – es geht um die Präsentation der Abwesenheit und darum, während der Veranstaltung „Reclaiming History, Unveiling Memory“ zu diskutieren, was diese Lücke in der Erinnerung bedeutet.

UZ: Das gefundene historische Material hat immer auch einen Mehrwert. Mit „VHS Cyprus: A lost history“ stellen wir ein VHS-Archiv aus Filmen vor, die in den 1980er Jahren in Zypern auf Video für den lokalen Markt produziert wurden. Diese Filme wurden von Zyprioten in allen Teilen der Welt seht intensiv rezipiert. Eben weil das verfügbare Bilder aus der Heimat waren. Der Wert lag weniger in den erzählten Geschichten als in den Orten, an denen gedreht wurde und die wiedererkannt wurden.

Nimmt die jeweilige Materialität des Mediums Einfluss auf die Form der Erinnerung? Etwa in Zakerat Abad El Shams (A Stroll Down Sunflower Lane) von Mayye Zayed?

SSS: In diesem Fall geht es tatsächlich um Mediengeschichte, um die Kamera, den Unterschied zwischen VHS- und Super-8-Material und die Verbindung zur offiziellen Mediengeschichte - zum Fernsehen, zur Musik. Die Praktiken des Mediengebrauchs einzelner und durch den Staat werden in ein Verhältnis zueinander gesetzt.

UZ: Die Figur des Großvaters in diesem Film hat die Obsession, alles festzuhalten. Die Filmemacherin selbst besitzt jedoch kein einziges Bild von ihrem Großvater, weil er immer hinter der Kamera stand. Zakerat Abad El Shams ist der Versuch, diese Erinnerung bildlich zu produzieren, d.h. zu konstruieren, ehe sie verschwindet. Mit seinen Techniken verweist der Film auf einen historischen Moment, der vor der Produktion der Bilder liegt.

Now: End of Season von Ayman Nahle

Flucht Ursachen

Einer der Filme im diesjährigen Programm beschäftigt sich explizit mit der Situation von Flüchtlingen: Now: End of Season von Ayman Nahle. Kommt das Thema auch in anderen Arbeiten zum Ausdruck?

SSS: Die Länge von Now: End of Season ist bemessen durch ein erfolgloses Telefonat, dass der frühere syrische Staatspräsident Hafiz al-Assad mit Ronald Reagan führen will. Am Anfang sprechen ihre Mitarbeiter miteinander. Als die US-Seite ankündigt, Reagan wäre gleich von seinem Ausritt zurück und bereit zu sprechen, kommt Assad ans Telefon. Doch Reagan erscheint nicht, das Telefonat kommt nicht zustande. Zu sehen ist während des Telefonats die heutige Flüchtlingssituation in Istanbul, die hauptsächlich aus Warten besteht.

Zurückzugehen in die Geschichte und z.B. Machtverhältnisse zwischen dem kapitalistischen Westen und der Region zu analysieren, hilft, Fluchtursachen besser zu begreifen. Wir haben sehr viele starke Filme im Forum, die sich ganz im Sinne des Durcharbeitens von Phantasmen in der Wahl ihrer jeweiligen ästhetischen Form dem Thema anders widmen als durch Repräsentation. Im Forum Expanded ist das Thema weniger explizit zu finden, allerdings sehe ich fast keine Arbeit im diesjährigen Programm, die davon zu trennen wäre. Die Fluchtbewegungen sind ein Symptom einer sehr komplexen Weltlage, in der wir uns befinden, einer geopolitischen Verstrickung, die sehr viele Zugänge, Geschichten und Ursachen aufweist. Hier würde ich das Programm des Forum Expanded eher ansiedeln.

Ebenfalls in der Ausstellung zu sehen: Pssst Leopard 2A7+ von Natascha Sadr Haghighian

Was ist die ungewöhnlichste Arbeit in diesem Jahr?

SSS: Wir haben eine Arbeit ohne Bilder: die Installation Pssst Leopard 2A7+. Der Kampfpanzer wird von Deutschland nach Katar exportiert. Natascha Sadr Haghighian hat in Echtgröße eine entmilitarisierte Version gebaut, auf der es eine aus Lego gebaute Fläche gibt. In der Mitte der Fläche, im Durchmesser des Geschützes, sind kreisförmig Eingangsbuchsen für Kopfhörer angebracht. An jeder Stelle gibt es etwas anderes zu hören - Politiker, Nachrichtenmedien, und vor allem für das Projekt entstandene Soundarbeiten anderer Künstler. Als wir im Kuratorenteam die Arbeit diskutierten, hat niemand die Frage nach den fehlenden Bildern aufgeworfen. Jedem war klar, dass das Kino ist. Pssst Leopard 2A7+ zeigt sehr deutlich, dass sich manche Dinge nicht visualisieren lassen. Und trotzdem ist es Kino – Kino im Kopf.

Nach 2013 nutzt ihr das silent green erneut. Was erwartet die Besucher?

SSS: Im silent green ist seit November das Filmarchiv des Arsenal - Institut für Film und Videokunst untergebracht. Wir haben im Vorfeld eine Liste mit analogen Filmen aus dem Archiv erstellt, die in Beziehung zu den aktuellen Produktionen im Forum und Forum Expanded stehen. Während der Berlinale können diese Arbeiten an Schneidetischen gesichtet werden. Auch hier geht es darum zu zeigen, welche Relevanz ein Archiv für die Gegenwart besitzt. In der künftigen 800m² großen Ausstellungshalle zeigen wir auf einer zwischen Säulen aufgespannten Leinwand Xénogénèse von Akihiko Morishita, eine Arbeit aus dem Forumsjahr 1984. Der Künstler ist selbst als junger Mann zu sehen, der im Kreis läuft. Immer mehr Laufstreifen kommen ins Bild und es wirkt, als würde Morishita hinter ihnen verschwinden. Ein sehr magisches Kinoerlebnis. Vielleicht ist die Magie aber auch ein Phantasma.