Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Homage

The Million Dollar Hotel

## ## ##
The Million Dollar Hotel is a story about friendship and deception, and about the power of unconditional love. A group of freaks and outsiders lives in a run-down hotel in downtown Los Angeles, in a neighbourhood full of drug addicts and homeless people. The story is told through the eyes of a lovesick dreamer, who everyone calls “Tom Tom”. The object of his devotion is Eloise, a fallen angel.
There’s trouble in this madhouse. One of the lodgers, an eccentric junkie named Izzy, has fallen from the roof. Or was he pushed to his death? As it turns out to the surprise of all the other tenants, that Izzy was in fact the son of a multimillionaire media mogul, a certain Detective Skinner enters the picture to investigate his death. Only no one can yet suspect that this extended arm of the law is even crazier than all of the loveable and life-challenged characters in the Million Dollar Hotel combined.
The idea for the film came from Bono, who was also responsible for the soundtrack. MILLION DOLLAR HOTEL was shot in the real-life Rosslyn Million Dollar Hotel and the surrounding streets. The film won the Silver Bear at the Berlinale in 2000. (Wim Wenders Stiftung. A Foundation)

Germany / USA 2000, 122 min

by

Wim Wenders

with

Milla Jovovich
Jeremy Davies
Mel Gibson
Jimmy Smits
Peter Stormare
Amanda Plummer
Gloria Stuart
Bono
Tom Bower
Donal Logue
Bud Cort
Julian Sands
Conrad Roberts
Harris Yulin
Charlayne Woodard
Ellen Cleghorne

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Hommage

The Million Dollar Hotel

## ## ##
The Million Dollar Hotel ist eine Geschichte über Freundschaft und Betrug, und über die Kraft bedingungsloser Liebe. Eine Gruppe von Freaks und Außenseitern lebt in einem heruntergekommenen Hotel in Downtown Los Angeles, in einem Viertel voller Drogenabhängiger und Obdachloser. Die Geschichte wird durch die Augen eines liebeskranken Träumers erzählt, den alle „Tom Tom“ nennen. Seine Angebetete ist Eloise, ein gefallener Engel.
Es gibt Ärger in diesem Tollhaus. Einer der Bewohner, der exzentrische Junkie Izzy, ist vom Dach gefallen. Oder wurde er in seinen Tod gestoßen? Weil sich zur Überraschung aller Bewohner herausstellt, dass Izzy der Sohn eines Multi-Millionärs und Medien-Bosses ist, tritt der Detektiv Skinner auf den Plan, der Izzys Tod aufklären soll. Nur ahnt niemand, dass dieser verlängerte Arm des Gesetzes noch kaputter ist als all die liebenswerten und lebensuntauglichen Gestalten im Million Dollar Hotel.
Die Idee zu dem Film stammte von Bono, der auch für den Soundtrack verantwortlich zeichnete. Gedreht wurde im tatsächlichen Rosslyn Million Dollar Hotel und in den umliegenden Straßen. Der Film gewann einen Silbernen Bären bei der Berlinale 2000. (Wim Wenders Stiftung)

Deutschland / USA 2000, 122 Min

von

Wim Wenders

mit

Milla Jovovich
Jeremy Davies
Mel Gibson
Jimmy Smits
Peter Stormare
Amanda Plummer
Gloria Stuart
Bono
Tom Bower
Donal Logue
Bud Cort
Julian Sands
Conrad Roberts
Harris Yulin
Charlayne Woodard
Ellen Cleghorne