Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Homage

Bis ans Ende der Welt. Director’s Cut

Until the End of the World. Director’s Cut

## ## ##
In 1999, a nuclear satellite gone haywire is threatening the Earth. There’s panic everywhere. Only Claire Tourneur couldn’t care less. She’s fallen hopelessly in love with Sam Farber, a mysterious American, who is trying every trick he knows to shake her. But Claire follows him halfway around the globe. What she doesn’t know is that Sam is also being pursued by the CIA, who are out to get the camera he’s carrying. With it he can take pictures that can be seen by the blind.
Filmed in 1990, the story takes place around the year 2000 and deals with a possible future of images. Wim Wenders incorporated futuristic innovations at the time, like HD images, GPS, Internet search engines, mobile phones and Skype-like communication, and he conceived of a process that would enable humans to send pictures into the cerebral cortex and then to extract them in turn as dream images.
The film was released in 1991 in a heavily edited version that failed to capture the epic proportions of the undertaking. For that reason, Wenders produced his Director’s Cut in 1994. In 2015, a completely restored digital 4K version of the film will be presented for the first time. (Wim Wenders Stiftung. A Foundation)

Germany / France / Australia 1991/1994, 287 min

by

Wim Wenders

with

Solveig Dommartin
William Hurt
Sam Neill
Jeanne Moreau
Max von Sydow
Rüdiger Vogler
Chic Ortega
Eddy Mitchell

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Hommage

Bis ans Ende der Welt. Director’s Cut

Until the End of the World. Director’s Cut

## ## ##
1999 bedroht ein außer Kontrolle geratener nuklearer Satellit die Erde. Überall bricht Chaos aus. Nur Claire Tourneur geht das wenig an. Sie hat sich hoffnungslos in Sam Farber verliebt, einen mysteriösen Amerikaner, der alles versucht, um sie abzuschütteln. Also reist sie ihm um den halben Erdball hinterher. Sie weiß nicht, dass er auch von der CIA verfolgt wird, die hinter der Kamera her sind, die er mit sich führt. Mit dieser kann er Bilder aufzeichnen, die von Blinden gesehen werden können.
1990 gedreht, spielt die Geschichte um das Jahr 2000 und handelt von einer möglichen Zukunft der Bilder. Wim Wenders integrierte damals futuristische Innovationen wie digitale HD-Bilder, Navigation, Internet-Suchmaschinen, Mobiltelefone oder Skype-Kommunikation, und er ersann ein Verfahren, das es ermöglicht, Bilder in die Gehirnrinde zu senden und auch letzten Endes als Traumbilder wieder zu extrahieren.
Der Film kam 1991 in einer stark gekürzten Version heraus, die das epische Ausmaß des Unterfangens nicht wiedergab. 1994 produzierte Wenders deswegen seinen Director’s Cut. 2015 wird erstmals eine in 4K von Grund auf restaurierte digitale Fassung des Filmes gezeigt. (Wim Wenders Stiftung)

Deutschland / Frankreich / Australien 1991/1994, 287 Min

von

Wim Wenders

mit

Solveig Dommartin
William Hurt
Sam Neill
Jeanne Moreau
Max von Sydow
Rüdiger Vogler
Chic Ortega
Eddy Mitchell