Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Berlinale Shorts

WONDER

## ## ## ##
Comparable to a colour organ, in which visual effects are produced when a musical key is struck, this film is a journey to the world of cells and structures. Music and sound, sequences of colour and movement, tones and rhythmised oscillations: abstract animation.
In order to create the film Wonder, animation artist Mirai Mizue uploaded a one second film, or more specifically, 24 pictures on the Internet every day, on 365 consecutive days. Like a trapeze artist without a safety net, he refrained from using a storyboard and relied solely on his intuition. Along with the orchestral group Pascals, he breathed life into the cells.
The direct liaison between painting and film has been an important testing ground for artists since the early days of film history. The most significant representatives of the particularly strong experimental movement of abstract and absolute film in the twenties and thirties, were Walter Ruttmann, Oskar Fischinger and Hans Richter. This work by Mirai Mizue forges an artistic arc to the present day.

France / Japan 2013, 8 min

by

Mirai Mizue

World Sales

CaRTe bLaNChe

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Shorts

WONDER

## ## ## ##
Vergleichbar einem Farbenklavier, bei dem durch das Niederdrücken der Tasten in Verbindung mit den Klängen optische Effekte erzeugt werden, ist dieser Film eine Reise in die Welt der Zellen und Strukturen. Musik und Klang, Abfolgen von Farben und Bewegungen, von Tönen und rhythmisierten Schwingungen: abstrakte Animation.
Für den Film Wonder hat der Animationskünstler Mirai Mizue an 365 aufeinanderfolgenden Tagen täglich einen Film von einer Sekunde beziehungsweise 24 Bildern Länge im Internet hochgeladen. Gleich einem Trapezkünstler ohne sicherndes Netz zeichnete er kein Storyboard, sondern folgte allein seiner Intuition. Zusammen mit der Orchestergruppe Pascals hauchte er den Zellen Leben ein.
Die direkte Verbindung von Malerei und Film war seit den Anfängen der Filmgeschichte ein wichtiges Versuchsfeld für Künstler. Die bedeutendsten Vertreter der besonders in den Zwanziger- bis Dreißigerjahren starken experimentellen Strömung des abstrakten oder auch absoluten Films waren Walter Ruttmann, Oskar Fischinger und Hans Richter. Mirai Mizue schlägt den Bogen ins Heute.

Frankreich / Japan 2013, 8 Min

von

Mirai Mizue

Weltvertrieb

CaRTe bLaNChe