Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum

Mujin chitai

No Man's Zone

## ## ##
A man wanders through the 20-kilometre exclusion zone around the stricken nuclear reactors at Fukushima. The cherry trees are in bloom and the natural surroundings make an idyllic impression. Radiation is invisible, yet a gaping emptiness looms where the tsunami engulfed streets and houses. The man is wearing normal clothing, just like the people still toughing it out here, for the time being at least. He occasionally encounters white “ghosts” in protective clothing, performing strange tasks.
As in Tarkovsky’s STALKER, the zone in Fujiwara Toshi’s NO MAN’S ZONE is both a place and a mental state. A gradual disintegration began long before the destruction and devastation, a process defied for the most part by the old people our “Stalker” encounters. A voice accompanies the filmmaker’s wanderings, that of Armenian-Canadian actress Arsinée Khanjian, a voice from a place of exile, unfamiliar and sympathetic.
NO MAN’S ZONE is a complex reflection on the relationship between images and fears, on being addicted to the apocalypse, on the ravaged relationship between man and nature. For the zone to be decontaminated and returned to the people, nature itself will have to undergo an amputation.

Japan / France 2012, 105 min

by

Fujiwara Toshi

World Sales

Doc & Film International

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Mujin chitai

No Man's Zone

## ## ##
Ein Mann wandert durch die 20-Kilometer-Zone um die havarierten Atomreaktoren von Fukushima. Kirschbäume blühen, die Natur zeigt sich idyllisch. Radioaktive Strahlung ist unsichtbar, und wo der Tsunami Häuser und Straßen verschluckt hat, tut sich ein Nichts auf. Der Mann trägt alltägliche Kleidung, ebenso wie die Menschen, die hier noch ausharren, vorläufig. Gelegentlich begegnen ihm weiße „Geister“ in Schutzkleidung, die seltsamen Aufgaben nachgehen.
Wie in Tarkowskijs STALKER, so ist auch in NO MAN’S ZONE von Fujiwara Toshi die Zone nicht nur ein Ort, sondern vor allem ein Geisteszustand. Lange vor der Zerstörung, vor der Verwüstung hat ein Prozess der Auflösung eingesetzt, dem vor allem die alten Menschen trotzen, welchen unser „Stalker“ begegnet. Eine Stimme begleitet den Filmemacher auf seiner Wanderung, sie gehört der armenisch-kanadischen Schauspielerin Arsinée Khanjian. Eine Stimme aus dem Exil, fremd und verständnisvoll.
NO MAN’S ZONE ist eine komplexe Reflexion über das Verhältnis von Bildern und Ängsten, über die Sucht nach dem Untergang, über das verheerte Verhältnis von Mensch und Natur: Um die Zone zu dekontaminieren, sie dem Menschen zurückzugeben, wird man die Natur amputieren müssen.

Japan / Frankreich 2012, 105 Min

von

Fujiwara Toshi

Weltvertrieb

Doc & Film International