Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Tao Se

Colour Blossoms

Carl Ng (Actor)
Harisu (Actress)
Teresa Cheung (Actress)
Yonfan (Director)
Matsuzaka Keiko (Actress)
Fruit Chan (Producer)
Host: Anatol Weber

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

COLOUR BLOSSOMS

As with the two previous films in his “peony pavilion” trilogy, director Yonfan once again found the inspiration for his new film from an opera by the Chinese poet and dramatist Tang Hsien-tsu. Set in Hong Kong in the present, the current film uses the story of a love affair with sado-masochistic and transsexual elements to explore themes of desire, suffering, innocence and seduction.
The film’s main character is a good-looking young estate agent named Meili who one day meets two people that will have a strong influence on her life. One of these people is Madame Umeki, a mysterious upper-class Japanese lady who asks Meili to find a tenant for her luxurious apartment. The other person is a police officer with the number 4708, a sort of dream man in uniform who appears to have sprung from Meili’s innermost desires.
A little later on Meili meets the reticent young Kim, who appears out of nowhere whilst she is showing the apartment to a potential tenant. He starts to film Meili with an old super 8mm camera and, when she asks him what he is doing, his only response is a long and passionate kiss.
Meili can’t help herself – she falls in love with Kim on the spot. Torn between him and her policeman, she is shocked to discover that No. 4708 was once Madame Umeki’s lover, at which point the whole affair starts to become increasingly bizarre…

Hong Kong, China 2004, 106 min

by

Yonfan

with

Matsuzaka Keiko
Harisu
Teresa Cheung
Sho
Carl Ng

World Sales

Far Sun Film Co.Ltd.

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Tao Se

Colour Blossoms

Carl Ng (Schauspieler)
Harisu (Schauspielerin)
Teresa Cheung (Schauspielerin)
Yonfan (Regisseur)
Matsuzaka Keiko (Schauspielerin)
Fruit Chan (Produzent)
Moderation: Anatol Weber

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

COLOUR BLOSSOMS

Wie zu den beiden vorangegangenen Filmen seiner „Peony Pavilion“-Trilogie hat sich Regisseur Yonfan auch zu diesem von einer Oper des chinesischen Dichters und Dramatikers Tang Hsien-tsu inspirieren lassen. Er spielt im Hongkong der Gegenwart und erzählt im Rahmen einer Liebesgeschichte mit sadomasochistischen und transsexuellen Bezügen von Lust und Leid, Unschuld und Verführung.
Im Mittelpunkt steht die junge, gut aussehende Maklerin Meili, die eines Tages zwei folgenschwere Bekanntschaften macht. Da ist zunächst Madame Umeki, eine geheimnisvolle japanische Upper-Class-Lady, die Meili beauftragt, für sie ein luxuriöses Appartement zu vermieten. Außerdem tritt ein Polizist, Dienstnummer 4708, in ihr Leben – eine Art Traummann in Uni-form, der geradewegs ihren geheimsten Sehnsüchten entsprungen zu sein scheint.
Kurz darauf lernt sie den jungen, schweigsamen Kim kennen. Wie aus dem Nichts taucht er auf, als sie einem potenziellen Mieter das Appartement zeigt. Er filmt Meili mit einer alten Super8-Kamera, und als sie ihn deshalb zur Rede stellt, beantwortet er all ihre Fragen mit einem langen, leidenschaftlichen Kuss.
Meili kann sich nicht helfen – auf der Stelle verliebt sie sich in Kim. Hin- und hergerissen zwischen ihm und ihrem Polizisten, ist es für sie ein Schock, als sie erfährt, dass Nr. 4708 einst der Geliebte von Madame Umeki war. Doch ihre Affäre nimmt noch bizarrere Wendungen…

Hongkong, China 2004, 106 Min

von

Yonfan

mit

Matsuzaka Keiko
Harisu
Teresa Cheung
Sho
Carl Ng

Weltvertrieb

Far Sun Film Co.Ltd.