Encounters | Awards

Feb 04, 2020
Encounters Jury

In 2020 the new competitive section Encounters will be introduced. Its goal is to support new voices in cinema and to give more room to diverse narrative and documentary forms in the official programme. A three-member jury will choose the winners for Best Film, Best Director and a Special Jury Award. The Encounters programme features 15 films, including 14 world premieres, four debut films and one animated film.

The following were appointed to the Jury:

Shôzô Ichiyama (Japan)

Born in 1963 in the Yamaguchi Prefecture of Japan, Shôzô Ichiyama graduated at Tokyo University in 1987 and worked as the producer for the films Muno no hito (Nowhere Man, 1991) by Naoto Takenaka and Hao nan hao nu (Good Men, Good Women, 1995); Nan guo zai jian, nan guo (Goodbye South, Goodbye, 1996) und Hai shang hua (Flowers of Shanghai, 1998), all by Hou Hsiao-sien. Apart from his work as a producer, Ichiyama founded the Tokyo Filmex film festival in 2000 and has been acting as its director. Since 2013, Ichiyama serves as a visiting professor at Tokyo University of Arts. His latest productions include Ryu san (Mr. Long) by SABU, which ran in the Competition at the Berlinale in 2017 and Jiang hu er nü (Ash is Purest White) by Jia Zhang-ke, which was selected for the competition at Cannes in 2018. His latest film Aru sendo no hanashi (They Say Nothing Stays The Same) by Joe Odagiri was selected for the Venice Days 2019 and The Horse Thieves. Roads of Time by Yerlan Nurmukhambetov and Lisa Takeba was shown as the opening film at Busan in 2019.

Dominga Sotomayor (Chile)

Dominga Sotomayor is a film director, writer and producer born in Santiago de Chile in 1985. Her first feature film De Jueves a Domingo (Thursday Till Sunday, 2012) was developed at the Cannes Cinéfondation Residence. It won the Tiger Award in Rotterdam and has been gaining international recognition ever since. In 2015, she premiered her medium-length film Mar at the Berlinale Forum and also co-produced the collective project Aqui, em Lisboa: Episódios da Vida da Cidade (Here in Lisbon – Episodes of a City). For Tarde para morir joven (Too Late to Die Young, 2018) she became the first woman to receive the Leopard for Best Direction at Locarno. Sotomayor is also one of the founders of the production company CINESTACIóN and the CCC, Centro de Cine y Creación, a new arthouse cinema and centre in Santiago de Chile.

Eva Trobisch (Germany)

Eva Trobisch assisted first in theatre, then in film. Previous to her MA in screenwriting at the London Film School, she studied directing at the NYU Tisch School of the Arts and at the University of Television and Film Munich. With her graduation film Alles ist gut (All Is Well, 2018), she received the Young German Cinema Award as well as the FIPRESCI Prize at the Munich Film Festival in 2018. The film also gained international recognition and took home many awards, including the Woman in Motion Award at the Cannes Film Festival in 2019 and the Best First Feature at the Locarno Film Festival in 2018. Her filmography also includes the short films Wie Du küsst (The Way You Kiss, 2013) and Es ist egal, aber (2018).

Press Office
February 4, 2020