Jas sum od Titov Veles

I Am From Titov Veles
Set in contemporary Macedonia, the film tells the story of three sisters. Afrodita, the youngest of the three, has not spoken since their father’s death and their mother’s sudden departure. Sapho, the middle sister, is preparing to make a fresh start in life, and drug-addicted Slavica, the oldest, works in a factory. The film centres on the three sisters’ battle to overcome their lot in life, in a ‘city of lost souls’, scarred by industrialisation and environmental damage. The sisters may wilfully transgress accepted codes and yet, at the same time, they long to live in harmony with such codes. Macedonia has seen a period of major upheaval during the last decade, bringing a swathe of social problems in its wake. This is the environment in which the three sisters are trying to find their niche – a place of their own in a world out of joint. Teona Mitevska: “An article I read in a local newspaper in 2003 inspired me to make this film. Two sisters died after a fire broke out at their home. When they were found, one of the sisters was lying next to the door with her head smashed, and the other one lay beside her, hugging her tightly. After some research I learned that both were addicted to heroin.”
by Teona Strugar Mitevska
with Labina Mitevska, Ana Kostovska, Nikolina Kujaca, Xhevdet Jasari
Macedonia / France / Belgium / Slovenia 2007 102’

World sales

Insomnia World Sales

Additional information

Download additional information